Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of The greatest Albums Ever
I bought this when it originally came out on cassette. It must be one of my most played albums ever. I cant quite see why the comparisons between this and the debut album have to polarise opinion so much. Personally I love the melody and the lyrics on this album whilst the buzz saw guitars are still a prescence if more accessible than on PyscoCandy. And I really did 'live...
Published on 18 Oct 2008 by Pj Beirne

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good songs but dated production hasn't worn well
As a big fan of JAMC from their early singles and first album Psychocandy, I was a bit taken aback by the very different production when this came out but soon won over by the songs. But 20 years later the very 80s production has not worn well at all, and the use of drum programs instead of a live drummer on much of the album was not a good choice. On top of which it's...
Published on 12 Feb 2007 by freewheeling frankie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of The greatest Albums Ever, 18 Oct 2008
By 
Pj Beirne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this when it originally came out on cassette. It must be one of my most played albums ever. I cant quite see why the comparisons between this and the debut album have to polarise opinion so much. Personally I love the melody and the lyrics on this album whilst the buzz saw guitars are still a prescence if more accessible than on PyscoCandy. And I really did 'live my life in black' back then though the album is still contempary and has survived the years well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More "Sunday Morning" than "Sister Ray" - A 5 star review, 20 May 2004
This review is from: Darklands (Audio CD)
Even though anything and everything that the Reid brothers produce will be forever over shadowed by their 1986 debut album "Psycho Candy", I feel that they went one better with the 1987 follow up "Dark Lands".
Even though "Psycho Candy" was a great album, the song writing tended to get lost underneath the impenetratable sheets of feedback that were so central to the album's sound. There are no such problems on "Dark Lands", the dissonant, Sonic Youth-style guitar noise that was so prevelant on "Psycho Candy" is largely absent, allowing the Reid's love of the melodic and gift for melody to shine through. Their debt to the Velvet Underground is not as over bearing as it was on "Psycho Candy", and the Velvet Underground influences on "Dark Lands" hark back to songs like "Sunday Morning" and "There She Goes Again" rather than the primal, proto-punk noise of "White Light/White Heat". On this album, the Reid brothers draw from a wider range of influences and this is immediately apparent from the melodic opening of the lead, title track. The song "Dark Lands" is driven by a melodic bass line and acoustic guitar on the verses before exploding into a melodic, but noisy and distorted, guitar-driven chorus. It reveals a greater understanding of melody than most of "Psycho Candy" did, and the chorus hangs around dead pan delivery of "do, do, do, dooh", similar to Lou Reed's "Walk on the Wild Side".
Far from all sounding the same, as "Psycho Candy" did, "Dark Lands" sounds distinctly different from track to track. "Deep One Perfect Morning" sounds very much like early period Velvet Underground, and "Nine Million Rainy Days" laces a poppy melody with freeze dried, gothic vocals and a dark, brooding backing track. It is this diversity of influences that makes "Dark Lands" more interesting than "Psycho Candy" or any of their other albums for that matter. However, it is still possible to trace this album back to "Psycho Candy", with "Fall" sounding like "Psycho Candy" would have done without all those extra layers of feedback.
Lyrically, most of the songs are about love but not in the traditional sense. It is a kind of love were the people involved know that it will all end in tears and know that they don't deserve one another. A very gothic take on a traditional song writers topic. Like the music, the vocal melodies on this album are not as indebted to the Velvet Underground as they were on "Psycho Candy", with the melody to "Fall" sounding very much like REM during their IRS years. The singles "April Skies" and "Happy When it Rains" are quintessential '80s indie songs, the former a downbeat, world weary pop song that comes across as what Tears For Fears would have sounded like if they had traded in their synthesizers for guitars, and the latter is a catchy upbeat pop song that lies somewhere between the melodic noise of the Pixies and the jangly guitar pop of the Smiths and the Wedding Present.
So there you go. I am someone who is pretty difficult to please and doesn't give out 5 star reviews that often any more. I used to, and so a lot of my older reviews mean little to nothing... but this is no such review. "Dark Lands" is the best record the Jesus & Mary Chain ever released, not as noisy as "Psycho Candy" and not as dance influenced as "Honey's Dead". Buy it if you want to hear a great collection of songs that are interesting but conventional, loud but melodic and clever but simple... you could do a lot worse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Candy darlings, 30 Mar 2005
By 
Kevin Clarke "kevin17566" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Darklands (Audio CD)
Although not as influential, 'Darklands' sounds considerably less dated than its more acclaimed predecessor, 'Psychocandy.' Shorn of their trademark feedback, the melodies are what really shine through on these songs. Sure, the influences are clearly detectable - Beach Boys, Velvet Underground, Stooges - but with just enough of a modern twist to refute the claim of mere imitation.
The first two singles, 'April Skies' and 'Happy When It Rains', are cut from the same cloth - irresistible, chugging rock songs with memorable hooks.
'Deep One Perfect Morning' nods to Johnny Cash, a good 10 years before he became a fashionable name to drop. 'Cherry Came Too' is the best song Brian Wilson never wrote, and 'Fall' will delight anyone who thinks 'I Wanna Be Your Dog' by The Stooges is one of the best rock'n'roll songs ever.
William Reid takes over vocal duties for 3 of the slower songs on the album - the elegant 'Darklands', the epic miserablism of 'Nine Million Rainy Days' and 'On The Wall', to my mind the only duff track on the album.
The album concludes with one of the Reids' warm, acoustic ballads, 'About You.'
I still regularly play this album almost 20 years after it was released. It's an object lesson in how to make a timeless guitar record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect pop for teenage boys & girls, 1 Mar 2013
By 
K. K. Jakubczyk "Sofa King" (Subversive Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Darklands (Audio CD)
This is a great pop record both in terms of its musical and lyrical content. If you are a connoisseur of pop then you must own this fine album.

In my opinion this record is the natural evolution of the sound contained within their debut. Sure the group's 'trademark' feedback has been replaced with a cleaner guitar sound that betrays the brother's love for Americana but the substantive content remains the same - solid song writing, strong melodies and pure pop sensibility. There is a slight shift in subject matter, with the brothers taking a tighter focus upon lost, or misplaced love, and feelings of despair and angst. On the surface rather gloomy subject matter but in reality the staple diet for quality pop songs since the dawn of vinyl.

"April Skies", "Happy when it rains" and "Nine million rainy days" are all perfect break-up pop songs that still hit the right spot (somewhere dead centre of your heart) over twenty years after their original release.

Fortunately, the prospect is not all gloomy. Tracks like "Cherry Came Too" and "About you" point towards potentially happier times ahead for the listener, providing a useful balance to this record that is missing from their earlier (but still excellent) work "Psychocandy".

In a funny sort of way the lyrical qualities of the songs contained within this album are, in my humble opinion, just as good as anything that came out of the Brill Building back in the golden age of pop. There is a genuine sense of empathy and engagement between the band and the listener throughout this record - teenage listeners take note, this record remains relevant to you. Recommended for nostalgic curmudgeons and heartbroken teens alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what you think, 15 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Darklands (Audio CD)
This album is really, really good! This is not like any of the other Jesus and Mary Chain albums (I also bought Automatic and Barbed Wire Kisses). It is much more mainstream as a whole, and will appeal to a much wider audience. I find the other albums a little too "dark" for my everyday taste, and usually listen to them when I'm feeling pretty sombre. Darklands is different. It's an everyday, pump me up type of album. I absolutely love "April Skies" and "About You". They're different in that "About You" is slow and sentimental while "April Skies" picks up the beat a bit. "Happy When it Rains" and "Fall" are more like their other albums, a little darker with loud background "noise", but they're enjoyable. Overall, a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A chilled out cd, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darklands (Audio CD)
As I said in my review of "Automatic" I came to JMC via The Raveonettes and "21 Singles" and off that cd my favourite tracks were to be found on "Darklands" and "Automatic". I had no hesitation in giving "Automatic" 5 stars. So why 4 stars here. This is a wonderfully melodic cd with a big sound and some great crashing cords fronted by some excellent vocals. At the same time it seems to have distilled influences from Bowie, Lou Read, The Rolling Stones very remotely in track 5, The Beach Boys and dare I say it Simple Minds. And for those reasons I dont think this is sufficiently unique to make it a real stand out 5 star classic. But having said that it is still well worth the purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best Rock'n'Roll albums of all time, 19 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Darklands (Audio CD)
Genius. From the opening riff to 'Darklands' to the perfect-pop of 'April Skies' through to the beauty of 'About You' this album is undeniably a masterpiece. You MUST own this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Top 5 British albums of all time, 20 Sep 2003
This review is from: Darklands (Audio CD)
Captures everything the Mary Chain were all about...from sublime West Coast pop to Doug Yale era Velvets...absolutely superb...never has a Scottish band produced such a quality album.
About You must be the coolest acoustic song ever recorded.
If they never produce another piece of work the Reids' place is assured in the annals of British Music & this is their finest work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deep one perfect album!, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darklands (Audio CD)
Not as edgy or groundbreaking as the seminal 'Psycho Candy' but an impressive side-step into a mellower but equally compelling sound. Influence of VU abounds and there are some of the most uplifting songs the J&MC ever committed to record. Impossible not to smile dancing along to April Skies and Nine Million Rainy Days is awesome. They had a really sexy sound going on at this point but there's an ethereal beauty to it as well. Damn - maybe I prefer it to 'Psycho Candy'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely classic, 9 Aug 2013
This review is from: Darklands (Audio CD)
If The Jesus & Mary Chain had for some reason sat on Darklands for 26 years and only released it now, it would STILL be judged an instant classic. Superb songwriting, great musicianship (I assume they were responding to suggestions that the walls of feedback and noise on their debut were just to disguise their lack of musical ability... this album proves that to be wrong) and spot on production, it still sounds perfectly fresh today. Happy When It Rains is one of the greatest pop songs of all time, and despite the many followers and imitators the band have since had, would probably have more chance of being a chart topping single in 2013 than it did in 1987.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Darklands
Darklands by Jesus & Mary Chain (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews