Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing - believe every word of all this praise, 19 Jan 2004
By 
J. Terry (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Global Underground 9: Sasha In San Francisco (Audio CD)
As if the hyperbole of the other esteemed reviewers wasn't enough to convince you to buy this album, let me humbly add that I own no other piece of music of any genre that is as intense, musical, long-lasting and utterly riveting to listen to than this.

I have been listening to these 2 CDs off and on for about two years now and I still find new 'moments' of pure musical bliss each time.

I simply lack the facility to describe the power of the start of the Tilt track 'I Dream' at the culmination of CD 2.

Listen to it in the car, in a club, with headphones, in your living room all alone with a beer - it doesn't matter, just listen to this as much as you possibly can before you die!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorb and be absorbed, 12 July 2000
By A Customer
Here is a phenomenon that must be owned. Sasha's art is, with care, to evoke in the listener a deep, rich, cerebral sense of peace and pleasure. It is far-reaching. I've not known it elsewhere. It will hold the soul of an entire group or, for an individual armed with headphones, become an almost spiritual, certainly personal experience. It is not a set, it is an ethos.
Throughout each CD, Sasha's mixing is to perfection. Genius presents itself not only in the choice of tracks but in their flow, each piece a natural successor and precursor, carrying the mood or furthering the journey. Sasha mixes almost in the background, fixing your focus firmly on the music. Like a good storyteller, who does not pause to trumpet his storytelling ability...
Only afterwards do you realise just how well it all works. In particular, the mixing on CD1 from "Bulgarian" onwards is really outstanding. CD1 eases you into a frame of mind which CD2 then expands radically without asking whether you can take it. Musically it's all great, with "Platform", "Bulgarian", "I'm Free", and "Hale Bopp" serving as personal highlights, and Dave Kane's "Clarkness" being one of the best ever. My only disappointment is that Sasha decided to fade out during the incredible build of Tilt's whopping "I Dream". Then again, perhaps that's the point...
Please do not mistake this all for an overreaction: it is an understatement. "San Francisco" is a strange creation, and words will never capture it; only by experiencing is it fully understood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a thundering epic !, 2 May 2003
Quite the most wonderful expanse of music, hearing it, you can just drift away and imagine its 3am in a crowded club , bouncing to this most hypnotic of beats, eyes closed , people have entered their own worlds , but are fused as one, like the engine of a giant machine, Sasha provides the petrol!. This is dark twisted music, for people who like good music ..... more .... much more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Governor, 6 Jan 2000
This review is from: Global Underground 9: Sasha In San Francisco (Audio CD)
Sasha continues to push the boundaries of dance music to new heights. This blinding collection is yet another example of his sheer passion for his work. He's come a long way since the crazy nights at Shelley's and now bestrides the dance and remixing world like a colossus. He is the governor - it's as simple as that.
As with all his latest stuff, it takes a bit of listening too. It's not the instant, cop-out collections that Ministry of Sound keep knocking out, more an accurate reflection of a top dj's skill. (all credit to the GU boys for persevering along this line.)
The album is a storming collection of deep trance, that twists and turns along a deep, dark, progressive journey. CD1 is awesome, CD2 beggars belief, and one can only imagine the mayhem inside San Francisco's Spundae club during Sasha's twin spin of Breeder's 'The Chain' and 'Twilo Thunder' towards the end of CD2.
GU09 is up there with Sasha's GU13 Ibiza. If you were fortunate enough to have been present at Cream's 7th birthday last November, you'll know what I'm banging on about. If you don't already own GU09 and GU13, I suggest you rectify the situation immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unquestionable a late 90s classic, 21 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Global Underground 9: Sasha In San Francisco (Audio CD)
There is a lot of music to listen to out there, but its what you do with it that matters, the mood it sends you into is crucial to me. Sasha knows where he is taking you, and what is important scenery all along the way. Don't miss this trascendental journey put together by the man they hail as God, because if you're going to sample whats been out there in clubland the end of a momentous decade, then this album captures the mood nicely, and darkly. Very grand, very smooth, a little bit dirty, very moving, good stuff God!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sasha is GOD, 30 Aug 2000
This review is from: Global Underground 9: Sasha In San Francisco (Audio CD)
I am listening to CD2 as I write this review and let me tell you I am in heaven in right now and Sasha is god. Sasha's stuff is simply amazing. He builds a sonic path for you that is just brilliant in its creation and existence. If you like Sasha's incredible style and his very emotionally binding sets, then go ahead and buy this CD. Imagine the atmosphere inside Spundae when Sasha was playin live.....this CD accurately depicts Sasha's effort to push trance music & culture into American soil. Simple great, simply amazing, simply Sasha. Now I am gonna enjoy the rest of this CD......BUy it and join me in heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Dj Mix Album Ever - My Desert Island Disc!, 13 May 2009
Ive been listening to this CD for what seems like forever, though its probably 8/9 years.

Every time i listen to it, it gets better.

Every time I listen to it, i hear things ive never heard before.

Everytime I listen to it, it surprises me.

Ive always told people if i could have only one album, this would be it.

William Orbits remix of Morgan Kings - I'm Free, is quite simply the best dance track ever produced.

If you dont own it, buy it, and you'll wonder how you lived without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 18 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Global Underground 9: Sasha In San Francisco (Audio CD)
Just fantastic, the finest piece of music I own. Disk one is possibly a little dissappointing although Travel - Bulgarian stands out superbly. Disk two is what it's all about. Track two opens with the single line - 'be aware of every sound'. What a joke, you couldn't possibly take it all in. Every time I hear this album I find something new. This disk builds slowly but surely. Some dance tracks have a build and break, this album is one continuous build until Breeder, Jark Prongo and DJ Tomcraft finally get your rocks off!
I sometimes play this disk and dance like a loon. Other times I can put it on, crawl into bed and sleep like a baby, dreaming happy dreams.
If you don't own it, you're wrong, simple as that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SASHA Follower. Matt Hall., 2 April 2000
By 
jozia@lineone.net (Huddersfield, W.Yorks) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Global Underground 9: Sasha In San Francisco (Audio CD)
To sum up this CD is easy. It's quite simply the best mix CD in any format of dance ever recorded. Sasha is God and that's all you need to know! Dark, dirty and constantly building without and cheesey breakdowns, this mix basically kicks like a mule on steroids! Buy it without hesitation, and gain some taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wooooo, 10 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Global Underground 9: Sasha In San Francisco (Audio CD)
Whos Sasha? the bloke in the record shop said (not realising the stupidity of the comment)
For all those who love the way sahsa works, the way after you've listened to his sets you just sit back and say "woooo" and wheres my record box, this is the CD for you - I've heard better sets by Sasha but not many.
GU again hits the mega highs with this albulm. Long may the series continue.
For all those who love trance filled rooms, buy it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Global Underground 9: Sasha In San Francisco
Global Underground 9: Sasha In San Francisco by Global Underground (Series) (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews