Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant but not very memorable.
This is a pleasant album from Sarah Brightman, the first of many and ongoing collaborations with German producer Frank Peterson (one of the creators of new age group Enigma). The influences from Peterson's visions of chant, electronic and chill out music are easy to recognise on this album. Indeed, there are not really any chants in the same way Enigma has them, but the...
Published on 27 Aug 2002 by Nicola Jarvis

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slickly produced, but ultimately soulless
A modest collection of songs with a watery theme, but even Sarah's beautiful voice can't save most of these tracks from mundanity. It's certainly pleasant background music, though, and at this price the few outstanding tracks make it good value.
Published on 3 Jan 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant but not very memorable., 27 Aug 2002
By 
Nicola Jarvis (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
This is a pleasant album from Sarah Brightman, the first of many and ongoing collaborations with German producer Frank Peterson (one of the creators of new age group Enigma). The influences from Peterson's visions of chant, electronic and chill out music are easy to recognise on this album. Indeed, there are not really any chants in the same way Enigma has them, but the opening track `Dive' and other conjunctioning songs such as `Cape Horn' and `Siren' are definite indicators with their ocean sounds and whale vocalisations. This album is also a pioneer of a tradition that Brightman still practices today, which is to link all of her material with a common theme. In this case, it is the ocean.

This is still a pop album as opposed to a new-age album though, and the album is filled with pleasant enough sounding mid-tempo ballads with the odd dash of power (though never operatic) that Brightman was and is capable of - `A Salty Dog' is a prime example of this. But none of the songs are particularly memorable. `The Second Element' and `Once In A Lifetime' have some replay value, and may, indeed, be your passage for justification to buy this album but the rest may well pass you by with the exception of a jarring, irritating track that is `Johnny Wanna Live'.

This is by no means a ground breaking album with ground breaking songs, but it's a pleasing listen and would make some great background music whilst you're working or pre-occupied with other things. If you have a great interest in Brightman's music, this is a good source to understand her roots with Peterson who went on and continue to experiment with different sounds. If you want an album of theirs where they had eventually found their footing, try `Eden' or `La Luna'. If you want an album that packs more of a punch but a bit less of the classical influence, `Fly' is your best bet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars float way with sarah on an ocean!, 1 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
think this was sarah first contempary release..i may be wrong!

have looked at the other reviews and it s funny how different people like different things!

for me this is a wonderful atmospheric album..it is produced by the big producers in germany of enigma and sandra(europes madonna..and the voice of enigma)

captain nemo is about talking to a whale...sounds strange...but it is a beautiful song and not to heavy!

the next track second element is fine..as is ship of fools!

on the journey there is some dubious things like cape horn, salty dog, jonny wanna live but.....

the classics blow them out of the water...pun intended!

fail to fall in love with once ina lifetime,when it rains in america and once in a lifetime!

i have all her solo albums and for me this is the best but i like contemporary brightman....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Innovative & passionate take on "Save the Whale" crisis, 1 Dec 1999
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
Once again Ms. Brightman shows us her multi-range voice. This CD shows us the importance we all need to show towards saving the whales. Along with her message she delivers a side not shown so much on her other works. Her crisp clear voice, the incredible range, this in itself is unmatched compared to most singers today. Her voice, her instrument continually amazes me. This group of songs is also relaxing, soothing and calming to listen too. It gives you the sense of the ocean as I think the artist intended to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beneath the ocean, a world shines through., 15 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
Wonderful songs, singing and music. Sarah has made a wonderful album again. Dive is a ocean based album and wonderfully put togather. I love the way Dive and Captain Nemo follow on without a pause! The cover is beautiful and really pulls you over to look at the cd itself. It's well worth the money and lovely to hear ocean based songs. Sarah's voice is perfect and Jonny wanna live really makes me think of black and white people not getting on and it seems to say, what is so wrong with being a different colour. Right on, Sarah! But this CD to make a great change to your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Work - The ultimate enigmatic album, 4 Dec 1999
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
Same producer as Enigma first CD, Frank Peterson. Great music. Awesome voice. If you like Michael Cretu, Sandra, or Enigma, you will treasure the music on this CD. I do! I love every second of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best albums, she dived in knowing what she wanted!, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
I first heard this album on the internet, not knowing what to expect, except that it would be amazing, because you know; It's Sarah "Angel of Music" Brightman!!! What more can you ask for? Well first, this album talks about animal rights from left to right, as well as the ocean life. Very different album from her later work such as "Fly", "Time to Say Goodbye", "Eden", "La Luna", "Harem", "Symphony", "A Winter Symphony", and "Dreamchaser" (All of which I own, including "The Andew Lloyd Webber Collection", and "Classics"). This album is one of her most soothing albums, one you could fall asleep to (Like most of her work). I will say go into it with an open mind if you've never listened to her early work before (Pre "Harem") or if you've just started listening and your first listen was somewhere between "Harem", and "Dreamchaser". Her voice is not drowned out by the sound like her "Dreamchaser" album. In this album, you can truly hear the beauty of her voice. Add this gem to your collection now! Remember, this is before she became an international soprano singer for her smash hit duet with Andrea Bocelli, and a year after her performance at the 1992 Summer Olympics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watery and wonderful!, 6 Jan 2007
By 
Nigel J. Morgan (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
Very few CDs have given me such consistent pleasure over the years as this one - it's like an old friend. It's so wonderfully atmospheric and haunting. Every track has its strengths and can be listened to time and time again. The whole album conjures up intriguing images of water and the sea. I always feel totally immersed in this evocative aural world which Brightman and her producers have created. Magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want to Dive with Sarah every day., 6 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
Great album, great theme and songs. It is the first album with great producer Peterson and i am so lucky that they have been making albums for decades now. Their music is Timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collect your voice & Soul...Then Dive!, 30 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
To trully understand and appreciate this album, one must not only be affected by the immediacy of the music, but the theme explored, obviously the 'ocean'. Sarah Brightman has left me spellbound...Being a dreamer towards the ocean myself, i would say that she has rightfully portrayed the sea's aspects, glories and shadows, all in one breath. This album is amazing, but unfortunately because of this typical theme, which requires soulful understanding, not everyone will be attracted to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album flows very soothing like water from a magic fountain!, 31 Jan 2007
This review is from: Dive (Audio CD)
It's true that some songs stand out like Captain Nemo and Salty dog, etc...but this album was put together so well it flows...One song to the the next seems to have a bridge between them, I don't have to skip any song!
Actually, among Sarah album, this one is harmonizing the best. I go to sleep every night with it, it always work like a charm! Once you put it on, you feel like you are going to a fantasy world or a dream then I fell a sleep before I know it....(ususally after Salty Dog which she did a perfect job with the highest point! ( I am the type who is hard to fall asleep, by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dive
Dive by Sarah Brightman (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews