Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

  • Dive
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 August 2002
This is a pleasant album from Sarah Brightman, the first of many and ongoing collaborations with German producer Frank Peterson (one of the creators of new age group Enigma). The influences from Peterson's visions of chant, electronic and chill out music are easy to recognise on this album. Indeed, there are not really any chants in the same way Enigma has them, but the opening track `Dive' and other conjunctioning songs such as `Cape Horn' and `Siren' are definite indicators with their ocean sounds and whale vocalisations. This album is also a pioneer of a tradition that Brightman still practices today, which is to link all of her material with a common theme. In this case, it is the ocean.

This is still a pop album as opposed to a new-age album though, and the album is filled with pleasant enough sounding mid-tempo ballads with the odd dash of power (though never operatic) that Brightman was and is capable of - `A Salty Dog' is a prime example of this. But none of the songs are particularly memorable. `The Second Element' and `Once In A Lifetime' have some replay value, and may, indeed, be your passage for justification to buy this album but the rest may well pass you by with the exception of a jarring, irritating track that is `Johnny Wanna Live'.

This is by no means a ground breaking album with ground breaking songs, but it's a pleasing listen and would make some great background music whilst you're working or pre-occupied with other things. If you have a great interest in Brightman's music, this is a good source to understand her roots with Peterson who went on and continue to experiment with different sounds. If you want an album of theirs where they had eventually found their footing, try `Eden' or `La Luna'. If you want an album that packs more of a punch but a bit less of the classical influence, `Fly' is your best bet.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 September 2006
think this was sarah first contempary release..i may be wrong!

have looked at the other reviews and it s funny how different people like different things!

for me this is a wonderful atmospheric album..it is produced by the big producers in germany of enigma and sandra(europes madonna..and the voice of enigma)

captain nemo is about talking to a whale...sounds strange...but it is a beautiful song and not to heavy!

the next track second element is fine..as is ship of fools!

on the journey there is some dubious things like cape horn, salty dog, jonny wanna live but.....

the classics blow them out of the water...pun intended!

fail to fall in love with once ina lifetime,when it rains in america and once in a lifetime!

i have all her solo albums and for me this is the best but i like contemporary brightman....
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 1999
Once again Ms. Brightman shows us her multi-range voice. This CD shows us the importance we all need to show towards saving the whales. Along with her message she delivers a side not shown so much on her other works. Her crisp clear voice, the incredible range, this in itself is unmatched compared to most singers today. Her voice, her instrument continually amazes me. This group of songs is also relaxing, soothing and calming to listen too. It gives you the sense of the ocean as I think the artist intended to do.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
I first heard this album on the internet, not knowing what to expect, except that it would be amazing, because you know; It's Sarah "Angel of Music" Brightman!!! What more can you ask for? Well first, this album talks about animal rights from left to right, as well as the ocean life. Very different album from her later work such as "Fly", "Time to Say Goodbye", "Eden", "La Luna", "Harem", "Symphony", "A Winter Symphony", and "Dreamchaser" (All of which I own, including "The Andew Lloyd Webber Collection", and "Classics"). This album is one of her most soothing albums, one you could fall asleep to (Like most of her work). I will say go into it with an open mind if you've never listened to her early work before (Pre "Harem") or if you've just started listening and your first listen was somewhere between "Harem", and "Dreamchaser". Her voice is not drowned out by the sound like her "Dreamchaser" album. In this album, you can truly hear the beauty of her voice. Add this gem to your collection now! Remember, this is before she became an international soprano singer for her smash hit duet with Andrea Bocelli, and a year after her performance at the 1992 Summer Olympics.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2001
Wonderful songs, singing and music. Sarah has made a wonderful album again. Dive is a ocean based album and wonderfully put togather. I love the way Dive and Captain Nemo follow on without a pause! The cover is beautiful and really pulls you over to look at the cd itself. It's well worth the money and lovely to hear ocean based songs. Sarah's voice is perfect and Jonny wanna live really makes me think of black and white people not getting on and it seems to say, what is so wrong with being a different colour. Right on, Sarah! But this CD to make a great change to your collection!
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 1999
Same producer as Enigma first CD, Frank Peterson. Great music. Awesome voice. If you like Michael Cretu, Sandra, or Enigma, you will treasure the music on this CD. I do! I love every second of it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2007
Very few CDs have given me such consistent pleasure over the years as this one - it's like an old friend. It's so wonderfully atmospheric and haunting. Every track has its strengths and can be listened to time and time again. The whole album conjures up intriguing images of water and the sea. I always feel totally immersed in this evocative aural world which Brightman and her producers have created. Magical.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
Great album, great theme and songs. It is the first album with great producer Peterson and i am so lucky that they have been making albums for decades now. Their music is Timeless.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2001
To trully understand and appreciate this album, one must not only be affected by the immediacy of the music, but the theme explored, obviously the 'ocean'. Sarah Brightman has left me spellbound...Being a dreamer towards the ocean myself, i would say that she has rightfully portrayed the sea's aspects, glories and shadows, all in one breath. This album is amazing, but unfortunately because of this typical theme, which requires soulful understanding, not everyone will be attracted to it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2007
It's true that some songs stand out like Captain Nemo and Salty dog, etc...but this album was put together so well it flows...One song to the the next seems to have a bridge between them, I don't have to skip any song!
Actually, among Sarah album, this one is harmonizing the best. I go to sleep every night with it, it always work like a charm! Once you put it on, you feel like you are going to a fantasy world or a dream then I fell a sleep before I know it....(ususally after Salty Dog which she did a perfect job with the highest point! ( I am the type who is hard to fall asleep, by the way.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£3.46

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)