Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harmony at it's BEST!
There is no sound like that of a chorus of South African voices in perfect harmony. Harmonising goes back years in South African culture and nobody does it better. (If you like such music, take a look at the 1995 Rugby World Cup "Anthems" CD. The competition was held in South Africa, so Ladysmith are featured quite a bit.) On this CD, they join up with some great...
Published on 14 Nov 1999 by Jennifer Myers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars How could they do that?
I have quite a good collection of music that ranges right across the spectrum of genres. Punk, heavy metal, rock, reggae, jazz, jazz fusion, classical etc etc but I don't have much "World" music. Recently I decided to rectify that and given it's an area of music that I know little about I decided it was ok to buy some compilation best of type albums - something I rarely...
Published 9 months ago by J. Gooch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harmony at it's BEST!, 14 Nov 1999
This review is from: The Star and Wiseman: The Best of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
There is no sound like that of a chorus of South African voices in perfect harmony. Harmonising goes back years in South African culture and nobody does it better. (If you like such music, take a look at the 1995 Rugby World Cup "Anthems" CD. The competition was held in South Africa, so Ladysmith are featured quite a bit.) On this CD, they join up with some great artists (Dolly Parton, Paul Simon, China Black and PJ Powers) to provide brilliant renditions of some classics we all know - like "Swing Low Sweet Chariot" and "Diamonds on the Soles of her Shoes." Overall, a great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing and exotic, 5 Oct 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Star and Wiseman: The Best of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful album that has some fabulous songs on, especially the different versions of popular songs we know and love, such as "Swing low". It's great for those long drives too as it takes the boredom away! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It depends on your choice of music., 1 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Star and Wiseman: The Best of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
I enjoy Ladysmith Black Mambazo very much I don't understand their language but I enjoy the beat, the energy and the general sound and the skill that their songs are put together. I saw them live at the Bridgewater Hall Manchester a few year ago and they were fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drift away, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Star and Wiseman: The Best of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
Enjoyed the version of Paul Simons -Diamonds on the soles of her shoes- immensely. Then drifted away in the deep Zulu voices and memories of Kwa-Zulu Natal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ladysmith, 23 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Star and Wiseman: The Best of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
I have never been to Africa but this CD and its music helps me to fire my imagination of red soil roads and wide open expanses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Star and Wiseman: The Best of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
Good selection for fans of this music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Did I like it, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Star and Wiseman: The Best of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
Yes I did ,it gives you a good glimpse of Africa,adding to my collection ,I now have 6cds of this brilliant group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxation, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Star and Wiseman: The Best of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
Love this CD. Wonderful for an evening chilling out on your own with candles on & a glass of wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars How could they do that?, 9 Oct 2013
By 
J. Gooch "d6 music" (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Star and Wiseman: The Best of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
I have quite a good collection of music that ranges right across the spectrum of genres. Punk, heavy metal, rock, reggae, jazz, jazz fusion, classical etc etc but I don't have much "World" music. Recently I decided to rectify that and given it's an area of music that I know little about I decided it was ok to buy some compilation best of type albums - something I rarely do in my more natural genres as if I end up liking something I'll inevitably buy more by the same artist if not their entire catalogue and therefore the compilation becomes a waste of money. Anyways I thought that an unknown area could be a safe exception. Wrong. This otherwise superb selection of LBMs work is spoilt by some poor choices of tracks. I love the proper South African stuff and the two tracks from Simon's Graceland but why did LBM ever record Swing Low, Knockin' on Heavens Door and Chain Gang. I am not saying the musicianship or vocals are poor but these tracks just don't fit on this otherwise excellent introduction to their music. I am putting these blips down to some stupid record company executive and not LBM themselves. Hence a 5 star album demoted to 3 stars. Shouldn't have bought a compilation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Something different., 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Star and Wiseman: The Best of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
This is a step away from my usual country and western listening but the harmonizing and quality of the voices can easily relate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Star and Wiseman: The Best of Ladysmith Black Mambazo
The Star and Wiseman: The Best of Ladysmith Black Mambazo by Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews