Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How can music this magical be so neglected?, 28 Nov 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live Your Life Be Free (Audio CD)
This incredible Belinda Carlisle album, her fourth solo release, was unjustifiably neglected and quickly forgotten by the public but not by those of us who recognize the incredible music this singer always delivers. A few tracks are somewhat average, but there are some really great songs on here that I enjoy listening to immensely. Belinda has one of the best voices in the industry, one which conveys passion and emotion vividly to this listener. This album features more up-tempo songs than her previous ones, communicating a "be strong and feel good" message to listeners. Despite the conspicuous absence of several slower ballads, love is still the theme of virtually every song Belinda sings.
The title track is a strong, upbeat song in which Belinda encourages a potential flame to think for himself because he will then surely realize that he should be with her and no one else. The style reminds me in a way of "Heaven Is a Place on Earth" and had all the makings of a big hit. "Do You Feel Like I Feel" is another fast-paced song wherein Belinda wonders if her new flame cares for her the way she cares for him. "Half the World" is a really beautiful love song about separated lovers which also speaks to those who are still waiting to find a soul mate. Featuring poignant lyrics such as "every time you leave, a part of me goes, too" and "the train that takes you from me brings somebody home," it is without a doubt one of Belinda's best love songs. Belinda really jams on the Latin-influenced "You're Nothing Without Me," producing an anthem of self-confidence in reaction to a flame threatening to walk away. "Little Black Book" is a fun little song that reminds me of Belinda's earlier solo recordings. "Love Revolution" features Belinda's huskier singing voice and possesses an infectious tempo. As usual, Belinda concludes the album with a truly superb song. "Loneliness Game" is a song for everyone, really, because everyone experiences loneliness, even the people who seem to have the world in the palm of their hands.
There is no bad song on the album, but a few tracks don't particularly stand out like the others. The music itself has a good bit of variety, as Belinda continued to mature and expand her musical repertoire, so the flow between one song and the next is a little choppy at a couple of places. All in all, though, this is yet another wonderful, underappreciated album from this great and talented singer. The music and style may change from one album to the next, but the unique, passionate voice remains vintage Belinda Carlisle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and comprehensive reissue, 5 Sep 2013
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live Your Life, Be Free (Audio CD)
Yet another brilliant reissue from Belinda's back catalogue. For me, Runaway Horses and Heaven On Earth should be bought you buy this album, however that must not detract from the quality of this release and the beautiful tracks on it.
As always, it is filled with gorgeous, huge pop songs and gorgeous ballads, notably: Live Your Life Feel Free / Do You Feel Like I Feel / Half the World / Little Black Book and I Plead Insanity (not a UK single but it should have been!). The rest of the album is just as beautifully produced, with no 'fillers' in my opinion. You're Nothing Without Me / Love Revolution and Loneliness Game being my particular favourites.
As with all her reissues, this is comprehensively filled with great extras; single edits / mixes, 12" mixes, b-sides and all the promo videos on dvd.
A brilliant and worthy reissue for a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Carlisle!, 15 Dec 2002
This review is from: Live Your Life Be Free (Audio CD)
Live Your Life Be Free is one of Belinda's best efforts, as consistently good as Runaway Horses (her best overall album), and the high point before she made the mistake of trying to diversify her sound too much with 'Real'. The first track (made it to 12 in the UK) is a catchy up-tempo number which very much sets the scene for the whole album. Do You Feel Like I Feel and You're Nothing Without Me should be played loud and often! However, she does slow it down at points, most notably with 'Half The World', a beautifully crafted ballad which really manages to convey the passion behind Belinda's voice.
Emotional Highway and I Plead Insanity are 2 slow burners which after 5 listens make you realise that Hey!- they are actually really good songs- indeed, for whatever reason, Emotional Highway was the only non-single she played at a recent concert in Aylesbury. The next 2 tracks, World Of Love and Love Revolution, are a weeny bit too much like fillers, but catchy and energtic nonetheless. The final track of the album (and co-written by Belinda), Loneliness Game, is a sad, but yet again, energetic description of how it's not all a bed of roses when you've got everything-except love!
All In All, one of her finest- it's a shame she tried to split from Shipley and Nowels on her next album, which was surely the cause of her slow decline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Your Life, Be Free (Audio CD)
Edsel records did an absolutely amazing job with these Belinda reissues. Beautiful produced booklet photos and extensive liner notes. The full remastered album, single versions, remixes plus a DVD of all the video's and a taped interview. If they want people to stop downloading illegally this is the way to go, a great product at an affordable price. While Runaway Horses is Belinda's masterpiece "Live Your Life Be Free" isn't far behind, from the anthemic fab title track produced and written by Rick Nowels to the beautiful ballad "Half The World", other great tracks include "I Plead Insanity" and my favorite "Little Black Book" which Belinda co-wrote with Marcella Detroit from Shakespeares Sisters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Carlisle!, 15 Dec 2002
This review is from: Live Your Life Be Free (Audio CD)
Live Your Life Be Free is one of Belinda's best efforts, as consistently good as Runaway Horses (her best overall album), and the high point before she made the mistake of trying to diversify her sound too much with 'Real'. The first track (made it to 12 in the UK) is a catchy up-tempo number which very much sets the scene for the whole album. Do You Feel Like I Feel and You're Nothing Without Me should be played loud and often! However, she does slow it down at points, most notably with 'Half The World', a beautifully crafted ballad which really manages to convey the passion behind Belinda's voice.
Emotional Highway and I Plead Insanity are 2 slow burners which after 5 listens make you realise that Hey!- they are actually really good songs- indeed, for whatever reason, Emotional Highway was the only non-single she played at a recent concert in Aylesbury. The next 2 tracks, World Of Love and Love Revolution, are a weeny bit too much like fillers, but catchy and energtic nonetheless. The final track of the album (and co-written by Belinda), Loneliness Game, is a sad, but yet again, energetic description of how it's not all a bed of roses when you've got everything-except love!
All In All, one of her finest- it's a shame she tried to split from Shipley and Nowels on her next album, which was surely the cause of her slow decline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO great to get this sent to the USA, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Your Life, Be Free (Audio CD)
By this time, record execs had stopped pushing Belinda in the USA so it's great to have these remixes, extra tracks and videos all in one place! A great album that was overlooked here. Fun, emotional, uplifting, and a touch of snark in songs like You're Nothing Without Me and features my favorite ballad of hers Half The World! An album where every song encapsulates a different feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting Listen, 30 Nov 2009
By 
Rosendo (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live Your Life Be Free (Audio CD)
I really love this album "Live your life be free" and the title track says it all, its the first track you listen to and you won't forget it in a hurry, lovely song and the lyrics are simple but great but have great meaning. This album for me anyway is the start of a slight change in her style of music, I think all her nineties stuff is incredible music, the instruments, the backing singers and Belinda's great voice merge beautifully together to make this a great album. There is lively songs and also some slow ones but every one is special, I found this album uplifting and I'm just glad I was able to get it, its every bit as good as "Real" and "A woman & a man". For anyone out there that knows Belinda's music from the eighties when she had big hits, I'd say go out and try her later stuff like this album, these never became big hits for some strange reason (probably the powers that be didn't want her to evolve as an artist) but it would be a shame not to give it a try, its truly great music and she is a really talented lady, I'm glad I discovered her music all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent reissue (2CD+DVD), 9 Oct 2013
By 
downkiddie "downkiddie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live Your Life, Be Free (Audio CD)
This classic album has benefitted greatly from its reissue. Although not as successful as Belinda's earlier albums, it nevertheless provided several hits and iconic tunes.

On listening again, this CD does sound of its time more than Belinda's other albums (with the exception of the very 80s "Belinda from 1986), with a very early 90s sound on many tracks. Although some tracks are noticeably weaker, the big anthemic singles of "Do You Feel Like I Feel" and "Live Your Life Be Free" (the centrepiece of many a Pride event) stand out, as do the fabulously bitchy "You're Nothing Without Me" and the shouldabeen single "I Plead Insanity". A more mellow side shines through in the pretty ballad "Half The World", and the beautifully melancholic, and very Californian sounding "Emotional Highway", still a mainstay of Belinda's live shows.

The bonus tracks bring us single versions, two delightful B sides (which have done the rounds a few times) and some remixes, some unreleased. These are mostly a bit disappointing, particularly the mixes of "Live Your Life Be Free", which in addition to being almost the same as the previously released Club Mix, succeed in making a brilliant song sound rubbish.

The bonus DVD however brings us more delights. The interview is interesting with Belinda herself in fine "whatever" form. The videos for the songs carry the 50s theme on from the album artwork. "Live Your Life Be Free" is a little disappointing for such an iconic song, but "Do You Feel Like I Feel" sees a gigantic Belinda stalking the streets of Los Angeles (with New York background), eye level to skyscraper rooftops, complete with B movie clips. The real masterpiece however is "I Plead Insanity", a darker themed black and white piece, VERY strongly reminiscent of Sophie Muller's iconic videos with Shakespear's Sister. With remixes and video this superb song must have been so close to single release, what a pity it wasn't. The world would be humming this tune.

The whole package is beautifully produced in its hardback case, though the cute little pieces of artwork from the original have not been reused. That said, this is the definitive edition of an iconic album - a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good package, 10 Dec 2014
By 
G. P. Dodds - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Your Life, Be Free (Audio CD)
Not as good as Runaway Horses - which is her best but still a very good album. More of a pop production than her earlier albums. "Half the World" is such a great song and worth buying the CD for this alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Pop, 17 Jan 2006
This review is from: Live Your Life Be Free (Audio CD)
I bought this album on its day of release back in the early nineties and was not disappointed. The album has more of a pop sound than say Heaven on Earth and Runaway Horses which had more of a rock feel. That said the songs and the up-tempo production are truly great. To me Live Your Life Be Free is a fantastic song and certainly not one to be skipped at all. Half the World is one of Belinda's best songs ever.
You will not be disappointed with this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live Your Life Be Free
Live Your Life Be Free by Belinda Carlisle (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews