Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you may like more than you think
satyricons third album proper is now 11 years old and its influence is again unquestioned,while the leader of symphonic black metal would always be emperor,satyricon brought a fierce and melodic take on the genre that made them recognisable as well to be truthful and nemesis divina is a 42 minute treat of medieval black metal with beauty thrown in,less folky than before...
Published on 3 Jan 2007 by sean paul mccann

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A few things you should know about 'Nemesis Divina'
Not as great as 'The Shadowthrone', 'Nemesis Divina' still contains some outstanding pieces, notably 'Immortality Passion' ("where the howling winds rage, and the mountains are majestic, I can breathe...but where there is human flesh, I feel strangled..."), and 'Mother North'. While the latter was made into a cheesy video clip, the song itself is a masterpiece of...
Published on 9 Dec 2009


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you may like more than you think, 3 Jan 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nemesis Divina (Audio CD)
satyricons third album proper is now 11 years old and its influence is again unquestioned,while the leader of symphonic black metal would always be emperor,satyricon brought a fierce and melodic take on the genre that made them recognisable as well to be truthful and nemesis divina is a 42 minute treat of medieval black metal with beauty thrown in,less folky than before this album deserves all the plaudits for containing one of the greatest black metal songs ever in mother north,a truly chilling,haunting,melodic and startling 5 mins of music if ever i have heard.

The title track is also a real belting tune and with one of the greatest drummers in frost as the backbone its no wonder than satyricons are highly regarded as they are,worth checking out on many levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is armageddon!!!!!!, 3 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Nemesis Divina (Audio CD)
Yes it is, just as satyr screams it from the opener 'dawn of a new age' you know you are in for a new kind of musical experience. A truly outstanding album that is very atmospheric but very brutal and fast. I dare anyone to listen to 'mother north' or 'immortality passion' and tell me they aren't good songs, even if you don't like black metal. Buy it now or forever regret it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A few things you should know about 'Nemesis Divina', 9 Dec 2009
This review is from: Nemesis Divina (Audio CD)
Not as great as 'The Shadowthrone', 'Nemesis Divina' still contains some outstanding pieces, notably 'Immortality Passion' ("where the howling winds rage, and the mountains are majestic, I can breathe...but where there is human flesh, I feel strangled..."), and 'Mother North'. While the latter was made into a cheesy video clip, the song itself is a masterpiece of ecological militance. Much more effective than the Midnight Oil song which it quotes ('Beds are Burning'), it contains a promise of revenge: "Phantom North, I'll be there when you hunt them down..." That should make the defilers of the earth quake in their boots...but sadly most of them will never hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BATTLE METAL CLASSIC!, 22 Jun 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemesis Divina (Audio CD)
Great 1996 album, with a real medieval feel! Absoluteley, totally heavy with a real focus on battles and the Apocalypse.
Production is strong and it's a full on assault of riffs & drums that batter into submission. Satyr's vocals are brutal, and yet always easy to understand. The album has some of THE best use of keyboards within Black Metal, on classics such as Mother North. And there's plenty of clear, audible bass guitar as well, to back up the insaneley heavy guitar work.
Great drums, fast & heavy, sometimes really tribal from the legend that is Frost.
I defy anyone to put forward a heavier track than Forhekset!
There's lyrics written in both English & the band's native Norwegian. Always dark, violent & up for a fight!
There's also lots of great 'battle/army' style sound fx on such tracks as
The Dawn Of A New Age & Transcendental Requiem Of Slaves. The latter is an instrumental, that sounds ancient & evil.
This is more 'old world' in feel than Now Diabolical, but it's an ESSENTIAL for Black Metal fans.
Very much a Lord Of The Rings/Pathfinder/13th Warrior vibe, and not as satanic as some BM is, more of a pagan/Norse theme. Fans of Immortal or Viking Era Bathory will really like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Metal Hell, 16 April 2003
This review is from: Nemesis Divina (Audio CD)
This is by far my favourite album of all time. It combines harsh black metal elements along with melodic and medieval splender. Frost's drumming is spectacular and Satyr's vast musical talent and spot on vocals make this one of the all time classics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime!, 26 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Nemesis Divina (Audio CD)
This is my favourite Satyricon album. The tunes and vocals are brutal, but very complex and melodic at the same time. This album is worth buying for "Mother North" alone - a masterpiece which conveys the powerful image of vikings sailing forth. A clasic of black metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satyricon Divina, 22 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Nemesis Divina (Audio CD)
Ok, so I admit it, there is no comparing this to its predecessor, one of the greatest Black Metal masterpieces ever, The Shadowthrone, however, this is still a terrific album with a very "norwegian" sound. It actually sounds a bit like a Norwegian version of Cradle of Filth, only far better composed. but of course, it's Satyricon! They haven't lost the touch. They still know how to do it. Hell, this IS true norwegian black metal! Add this to your Black Metal wish list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nemesis Divina, 4 Nov 2006
By 
J. Morley ":Will:" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nemesis Divina (Audio CD)
Upon purchasing this album i had only heard the Satyricon album (Now, Diabolical) so i was sceptical as to what to expect given that it is one of their earlier albums and black metal production values can be less than brilliant. Well i am pleased to say that it would seem satyricon do not seem to have been bothered as to what is expected by them in the black metal community. The album is full of rich layers of guitar, fantastic vocals and completely amazing lyrics. Not to mention the outstanding drumming of Frost who i personally believe is the best drummer in black metal. All in all, the band combine use of strong black metal ethics with crisp production values and amazing string arrangements to create one of the most captivating albums i have heard in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nemesis Divina
Nemesis Divina by Satyricon (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews