Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Manfred Mann but not as you know it!
Had this album on vinyl which I loved to listen to but my sister took it back!!When I saw it on cd I was well happy and had to buy it. It is a mixture of tracks like 'Blinded by the Light' which most people know and are a little upbeat.Also 'Questions' which is lovely to listen to and lose yourself in the lyrics.So pleased I have my own copy now.
Published on 1 Aug 2009 by google

versus
0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well produced cheesiness, not stood the test of time
Okay - so that's a good version of Bruce's Blinded by The Light. Also, this is a band with a good history with an appreciation of Dylan and they have had some excellent tracks. Unfortunately for me, thinking this is one of the albums i should have bought at the time, it turns out Blinded is the only good track on the album. The dolphins track is pleasant but oh so cringy...
Published on 23 July 2012 by johnny outlook


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Manfred Mann but not as you know it!, 1 Aug 2009
By 
google (Durham.England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had this album on vinyl which I loved to listen to but my sister took it back!!When I saw it on cd I was well happy and had to buy it. It is a mixture of tracks like 'Blinded by the Light' which most people know and are a little upbeat.Also 'Questions' which is lovely to listen to and lose yourself in the lyrics.So pleased I have my own copy now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Manfred Mann 's Earth Band reach perfection, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roaring Silence (Audio CD)
Simply the best production on Manfred Mann's Earth Band. Simply magic from the first note to the last. Highly recommended not only to people who appreciate Manfred Mann but also to progressive rock and jazz rock fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roaring Silence (Audio CD)
One of this band's best. Production is particularly good and the songs are of the finest. A great slice of the era's finest music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of its time!, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roaring Silence (Audio CD)
A fantastic album in the progressive rock genre that was way ahead of its time - good recording quality and great production values
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of their best, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roaring Silence (Audio CD)
this still sounds fab after its first release, its not just about blinded by the light all of the other tracks are 1st. class
the remastered edition is well worth a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roaring Silence (Audio CD)
What can you say! Excellent stuff! Had this on audio tape previously and am really happ to have it now on a more "sturdy" medium. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars singing the dolphin through keeps on growing on you, 20 Oct 2009
By 
Deven Gadula (san francisco, ca, united states) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Roaring Silence (Audio CD)
Manfred Mann, born and raised in South Africa and relocated to London at the age of 21, was almost like a driver of an international band bus on the road to various musical destinations for over 20 years. The bus was filled with different crew members at certain stages and with charismatic fronts-men. The keyboard playing driver was extremely skilled in spotting and attracting such talent allowing all band incarnations to stay in a spotlight of their name recognition.

After the very successful pop hit making career of the 1960s and a very brief jazz rock oriented MM Chapter 3 stage, Manfred Mann changed name to Manfred Mann's Earth Band in 1971 and released six albums prior to the introduction of The Roaring Silence in 1976. The sound of Manfred Mann's Earth Band from its 1971 beginnings embraced the rapidly developing new style of progressive rock. Manfred Mann was actually the very first musician in England to have used the mellotron on record back in March of 1967 to generate the sounds of flute, trombone and strings. Moody Blues' Days Of Future Past album from September of 1967 is usually credited with that honor, because they had used it on LP album and MM on a single.

Manfred Mann's creativity was centered as much on song writing as on re-writing. Many of best songs by Manfred Mann's Earth Band were picked by Manfred from already released albums by various musicians. About half of all MMEB came from other people's repertoire. Manfred Mann was famous for doing best Bob Dylan covers and he also covered songs by Bruce Springsteen and vice versa, with a lot of mutual respect between these artists. Some of the most amazing songs of the group were written by different musicians of rather unknown names of Mike Heron, Alan Mark, Sue Vickers, Harriet Schock, Billy Falcon or Denny Newman. Actually this album The Roaring Silence is possibly the one with the most songs written by MMEB and only two songs written by others. The following it in 1978 Watch album had five songs written by others and only two by MMEB. Finding other people's often under or undiscovered jewels and transforming them to greatness usually benefits everyone, but mostly us the listeners. Led Zeppelin picked up a song by an American band Spirit and transformed it into Stairway to Heaven you might have heard about. I can bet there are hundreds of amazing songs out there, created for all but appreciated by only a very few. Manfred Mann's creativity centered on the mastery of melodic instrumental section interplay he was structuring in songs. Layered vocal and instrumental harmonies, guitar and keyboard section overlays, and crossfades of instruments fading in and out at often quite novel adjusted volume within songs, was a unique signature of the Manfred Mann's Earth Band sound.

The Roaring Silence was the first MMEB album to feature the New Zealand raised amazing vocalist Chris Thompson, as well as lead guitarist Dave Flett coming from Scotland. It was one of their most successful (in England and America) albums, due to the popularity of Blinded By The Light, a cover of Bruce Springsteen's song. However, my favorite songs of this album are Singing The Dolphin Through, Questions and Road to Babylon. I tend to like songs easy to skip over at first and the reason for it is that such songs usually need more breaking through to get to their essence which is often more complex than songs you like right away. The problem with instant hits is that they often lose their shine with twenty listens or so, unlike those other songs, which keep on growing on you with time while you start hearing different layers you did not even know existed there before. Very often the later parts of such songs contain more magic than their beginnings. I guess in MMEB case even Blinded By The Light needed a little bit of breaking through, because of its untypical structure.

If you are not familiar with the music of MMEB (which seems to have been most consistently popular in Germany, Scandinavia, and other Continental European countries) I don' think it really matters which one of their 1973-1983 albums you get. Most likely there will be songs on them you will like and others you will not. Watch out, if you give them time the order may change before you know it. There is quite some magic in some of their music...so, please give it a chance. Manfred Mann's Earth Band's music is beautiful and my favorite songs of theirs are: Singing The Dolphin Through, Drowning On Dry Land, Questions, Waiting For The Rain, Circles, For You, Visionary Mountains, California, You Are - I Am, Africa Suite, Adolescent Dream, Earth Hymn, Hollywood Town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Those '70s Synth Sounds Make Me Smile, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roaring Silence (Audio CD)
Another 'I remember when' review, but revisiting this album 38 years since first hearing it, I still have nothing but praise for it. From the opening 7-minute full version of Springsteen's Blinded By The Light until the closing Questions, are 7 tracks of the highest quality prog-infested MMEB. The compositions, shared by several band members, are generally thoughtful with a subtle attack free from pomp and bluster. Perhaps the wildest moment is Barbara Thompson's sax solo on Singing The Dolphin Through, a slow beautiful Mike Heron song that slips by serenely.
Like all the musicians' playing, Chris Thompson's singing is perfectly understated throughout, strong but without any theatrics or hysteria. On the instrumental Waiter, There's A Yawn In My Ear, the musicians cut loose (on the vinyl, this closed side one with style and gusto. There are no weak moments on this album which should be a fixture in every prog afficiando's collection. You should not need too many listens to love this masterpiece. This cd re-issue includes the bonus tracks of Spirits In The Night and the single edit of Blinded By The Light.
Oh, and those '70s synthesizer sounds make me smile with every listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... The Light" and "Singing The Dolphin Through" are my favourite tracks on, 22 Oct 2014
By 
Big John "BBJ" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Blinded By The Light" and "Singing The Dolphin Through" are my favourite tracks on here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great classical rock album., 19 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Roaring Silence (Audio CD)
There is opinion ,that Mick Rogers departure from band made harmfull effect .My opinion is "No,No,No...". The music on this CD is soft.There is more piano and less electric guitars(but still great guitar playing),great vocal harmonies like in Starbird(track number 6). final track "Questions" made out of this world. such great musical harmony too hard to imagine. If you like classical rock buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Roaring Silence
The Roaring Silence by Manfred Mann's Earth Band (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews