Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As it should be played, 24 April 2006
By 
D. Dale "Dex" (Newcastle, tyne/wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fire Down Under (Audio CD)
When this album first came out I was a big fan of there's from the first two albums "Rock City" and "Narita" also reviewed on this site............But this something else if your buying or thinking of buying a copy the remastered one has lost some of it's punch but the original still has the heavyness it's was born with I met them on this tour as a support act in the uk and Guy on vocals(rest his sole) this band on this album should have been massive.......this is a work of art loud brash not the typical metal from the usa but something else........from "swords" to "run for your life" to the haunting no lies" wonderful playing and a million miles from the excellent Narita which should have took them to the next leval but like most classic albums along with countless other bands it never happens..........still playing it today and I am in my 40's and it stil gets the heckles up on the back of the neck for the sheer power of it........

A classic undiscovered gem of sorts..........well worth the money and your ears will thank you for getting it.........

Keep it louder then ever...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars there was a riot going on, 11 Jun 2012
By 
Mark Jones (sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Down Under (Audio CD)
All of Riots first three albums are fabulous examples of classic Hard Rock, and in a genre that in the last thirty years has chewed itself up and spat itself out they sound better than ever.
Recording on first album Rock City had started as far back as 76 initially getting an independent release before being picked up by German label Ariola in 78.Their potential was recognised by Capitol who only seemed to sign bands with a commercial selling edge [Beatles, Beach Boys, Klaatu, Steve Miller,April Wine,Sammy Hagar etc]and signed them for second album Narita in 79. I first saw them supporting Sammy Hagar in early 1980 and also at Donnington the same year where Jimmy Conners lookalike Sandy Slavin had replaced Pete Bittelli on drums.For whatever reason they were dropped by Capitol but then picked up by Elektra.
This album arrived in 1981 and is possibly their greatest achievment, there is not one bad moment on this LP, the production is top notch and the band play like their lives depend on it, taking a well trodden genre and making it sound fresh and revitalised. Even original album closer Flashbacks which was essentially a musical sound bite reflecting on their career seemed like a validiction, saying this is Riot its been a hard slog but at last we have arrived, and they should have done, after this album they should have gone from support act to Headliners,but for what ever reason it did not happen.
I was gutted when follow up album Restless Breed came out and lead singer Guy Sparenza was no where to be seen, although not the worlds greatest singer his voice was integrel to the Riot sound and even with a technically better singer in Rhett Forrester it wasn't the same, the production was not as good either.
This Metal Blade edition is the one to get and is faithful to the original vinyl mix. The 1997 High Vaultage version although containing 3 more tracks has been remixed and loses the dynamic of the original.
Over the years i have come to appreciate Restless Breed but for me Fire Down Under is the one.
Riot have continued over the years with guitarist Mark Reale the one constant, but its the first three albums that really stand out and if you have an interest in Hard Rock all three are essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic heavy rock - like it says on the can, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Down Under (Audio CD)
bought the album back in the early 80"s on vinyl,got lazy and ignored vinyl collection when cd"s came out,so decided to purchase"fire down under" to remind me what i was missing.An incredible album that stands the test of time, First track "swords & tequila", a fantastic in your face track a marvellous opener.Standout track to me is "outlaw" powerful guitar work & superb lyrics. "fire down under","altar of the king",songs worth a mention.
Riot were a band similar to Y&T at the same time,but didnt get the recognition they deserved.Anybody who hasnt heard of riot before, purchase this cd & "narita",turn the volume to 10 and you wont be disappointed.Good quality music from the vintage era of heavy rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Metal album......, 26 Sep 2010
By 
dave gregory (Stockton on Tees, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fire Down Under (Audio CD)
'Fire Down Under' is a classic album recorded in the early 80's by a very under-rated New York band, and it should be in any self respecting rocker's music collection. Blistering songs played with boisterous energy that still sound great today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiyarrrhh! Down Under, 10 Nov 2010
By 
Downesyboy (Riyadh, Saudi Arabia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fire Down Under (Audio CD)
Now this takes me back to my youth! Riot were the fastest, heaviest US band of their time, rather like a
slightly more melodic NWOBHM band. They were apparently selling out concerts in the US but getting absolutly no record company interest until some of their tracks were picked up by Neil Kay and his legendary Soundhouse HM Disco.

This incarnation of Riot (with Guy Speranza on out of tunish vocals) recorded three albums, Rock City, Narita and this one, the last and in my opinion, the best. Think of a poppy Saxon or more melodic Tygers of Pan Tang
and you have an idea where they were coming from.

I saw Riot a couple of times, supporting Sammy Hagar and Saxon in the early 80's. and very good they were too. They also managed to play the first ever Monsters of Rock at Castle Donnington. After this album though, they changed vocallists to the more competent but less distinctive Rhett Forrester(?) and things were never the same. it was like when the Tygers replaced Jess Cox with Jon Deverill, a better singer but not as much fun. They tried to crack America but seemingly disappeared - a pity and a waste. Still, this is the best way to remember them by - turn up to ten and rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great service!, 24 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Down Under + 5 (Audio CD)
I've always wanted this gem for my CD collection (yes, I still collect CDs), and Amazon.co.uk is the only place that I could find it. Thank you, and I'll always keep this site in mind when making purchases!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic album, even better than i remembered it to ..., 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Down Under (Audio CD)
fantastic album, even better than i remembered it to be! I have a couple of their earlier albums, and as good as they are, this is the best album they have done. Great sound and Production too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The great who's that, 19 May 2011
By 
mark smallcombe (bristol, avon, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Down Under (Audio CD)
A great band that were over looked? why who knows, so correct the mistake and buy this cracker of a third album from the Americans answer to the NWOBHM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great rock music, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Down Under + 5 (Audio CD)
Another great album from the late 70's by an excellent American band.

Go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fire Down Under
Fire Down Under by Riot (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews