Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great value twofer
This twofer contains Millie's two best albums. Unusually for a female R&B act at the time, her albums made more impact than her singles did. Both these albums went gold in the US, but she failed to crossover fully to the pop charts, or pick up many international sales.

Here, she established her formula of music and comedy. 'The Rap' is just talking, not what...
Published on 4 Aug 2006 by David R. Bishop

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice
Great album. Highly commened for purchase by all. Love music , love this album. Great sounds from some great artists
Published 7 months ago by paul nadin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great value twofer, 4 Aug 2006
By 
David R. Bishop "Bishbaby" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caught Up/Still Caught Up (Audio CD)
This twofer contains Millie's two best albums. Unusually for a female R&B act at the time, her albums made more impact than her singles did. Both these albums went gold in the US, but she failed to crossover fully to the pop charts, or pick up many international sales.

Here, she established her formula of music and comedy. 'The Rap' is just talking, not what the youngsters might expect these days.

The music is stunningly good. During a time when the world was going disco crazy (nothing wrong with that), out came 'Caught Up', an album of real soul music, with real musicians from Muscle Shoals Alabama, which is just accross the border from Memphis. It's kinda funky in a deliberately slow way, which was a trademark of soul music from the Memphis area. Millie's voice is a hoarse gritty contralto, similar in some ways to Gladys Knight. Wheras Gladys went more for pop and middle of the road (nothing wrong with that either), Millie stayed ethnic and raunchy, which probably accounts for her lack of crossover success!

She was never afraid to cover other peoples material, and always put her own stamp on the songs she covered. Here she covers Luther Ingrams 'If Loving You Is Wrong',(later a hit for Rod Stewart) Bobby Goldsboro's 'Summer The First Time Ever' (yes! that one), Dobie Gray's 'Loving Arms' and Bobby Womack's "I'm Thru Tryin' To Proove My Love To You".

Others have explained the love triangle concept, so I wont go into that too much. She told it like it was, when describing the relationship, but avoids the out and out vulgarity of her later work. So this set you would probably let your children listen to. There is nothing more offensive than the "funky drawers" that you don't have to wash when you are the other woman.

The sleeve notes are full and very informative. This set is great value for Millie Jackson's two best albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring descovery of a masterpiece, 1 Sep 2006
By 
M. R. Evans (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caught Up/Still Caught Up (Audio CD)
As a soul fan and a particular fan of Gladys Knight i found myself spellbound by a track that just happened to be playing on the Jonothan Ross show on the radio unfortunatley as i was in work at the time i didnt catch the artist or title. Later that weekend my girlfriend told me about a track she heard on the same show that blew her away so much she entered the artists name into her phone so she would not forget it. Needless to say it was the same track by Millie Jackson, we then bought this album straight away from amazon and i have to say it feels like an act of fate. i have never heard such a powerful, incredible album in my life. Musically it is entrancing with its earthy soul/funk groove and outstanding arrangments and Millies voice enchants you in a way you will never have been moved before. To use a cleche it makes the hairs on your arms and neck stand on end every track is a truly moving experience and considering it is originally from 1974 makes it light years ahead of itself. If you only buy one album this year make it this and you will be extremley happy, it has been a defining moment in music for me and i hope to discover more of Ms jackson from here on in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The love triangle from all sides, 5 May 2006
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caught Up/Still Caught Up (Audio CD)
Millie Jackson had been close to stardom with songs like "Hurts So Good" and "My Man....". "Caught Up" elevated her to the very top, with its unique approach - on the vinyl edition each side was from the different perspectives of the women involved, which was also the case with the follow up.

The stand out track on "Caught.." was and remains "If Lovin' You.." with its evocative rap break, although IMO the stronger side was side 2 which closed with an incendiary version of Bobby Goldsboro's "Summer (the first time)".

"Still Caught Up" may even be the stronger album overall, and it certainly progresses the story very effectively. Tthe link between the first 2 tracks will always bring a shiver to my spine as Millie says "well I'll be damned".

As an example of beginnings of the Deep Soul movement (albeit on the more commercial end) these 2 albums are an essential purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Musical Massage, 27 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Caught Up/Still Caught Up (Audio CD)
This album is an amazing piece of soul artwork. Millie Jackson's vocals and the orchestral arrangements are a delight to the ears. Muscle Shoals have a lot to answer for when it comes to sending R&B music lovers into rapture. Just consider another outstanding genius (Bobby Womack) and his association with Muscle Shoals. I was truley blessed in being able to witness this album in its original era as a teenager. Almost every track on this album is sensual, deep and meaningful. When I play this album in my own privacy it is like recieving a musical massage. Musicians and vocalist who bring us such pleasures such as this album deserve great rewards. True R&B lovers please buy this album, you will guard it with your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars powerhouse soul, 9 Sep 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caught Up/Still Caught Up (Audio CD)
It's my first encounter of the powerhouse soul of ms Jackson, and it couldn't be better. "The godmother of rap" could just as well be called "the godmother of vulgo queens", although her emotional spectrum is far wider and deeper than todays vulgos. Listening to the seamless line of tracks on this album is an emotional rollercoaster like no one. She sings like a goddess, moving effortlessly from intimate tenderness to scorching wrath and tearful regrets. But what really surprised me on this album was that the arrangements are so good. They have a wide orchestral feel, and follows perfectly the emotional tone of Millies vocals. Having experienced this great artist, I can't help wondering what has happened with the soul singers of today, great pretenders as they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it get it you will love it too, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caught Up/Still Caught Up (Audio CD)
Love it great getting in touch with Millie Jackson's music again - cannot stop playing CD
Highly recommended will entrance you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caught Up/Still Caught Up (Audio CD)
I remember hearing this when I was a little girl being played by my older sister. I know now why it was on for hours at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still excellent, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caught Up/Still Caught Up (Audio CD)
My previous CD versions got damaged so bought this to replace them. I really like that both albums are now on one CD - worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caught Up/Still Caught Up (Audio CD)
Great album. Highly commened for purchase by all. Love music , love this album. Great sounds from some great artists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Millie Jackson CD, 3 May 2011
This review is from: Caught Up/Still Caught Up (Audio CD)
Ordered and received around 3-4 days later using freepost. Item came in usual Amazon well padded envelope and was in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caught Up/Still Caught Up
Caught Up/Still Caught Up by Millie Jackson (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews