Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Carpenters greatest!
The ultimate greatest hits album, well almost because it never carried any 'hits', 'Gold' or 'ultimate collection' title as Richard hated the concept. And this album wasn't really a compilation album as most of the tracks were reworked or re-recorded back in 1973. Yes Richard was even doing it back then! Not having got the album yet, well the remastered CD version that...
Published 3 months ago by dutch

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars carpenters singles 1969
i love the carpenters but brought this product for the sleeve cover as i thought it was a great piture, received it in a plain sleeve could have brought it cheaper in my local store was offered a refund but hardly worth the trouble, so instead will not buy c ds again talk with my wallett
Published 23 months ago by holliday


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Carpenters greatest!, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Singles 1969 - 1973 (Audio CD)
The ultimate greatest hits album, well almost because it never carried any 'hits', 'Gold' or 'ultimate collection' title as Richard hated the concept. And this album wasn't really a compilation album as most of the tracks were reworked or re-recorded back in 1973. Yes Richard was even doing it back then! Not having got the album yet, well the remastered CD version that is, I cannot tell you whether it's the original album remastered or another compilation where later versions are used, I hope it's the former.

This album never left my turntable from 1974 onwards and I wore out several copies over the years. It was one of the biggest selling albums of the 1970's and is still the Carpenters biggest album, unlike ABBA, the Carpenters 'Gold' album has not surpassed it in sales. Starting with a lovely intro of 'Close to you' it leads into the Carpenters signature song 'We've only just begun' and is followed by their new version of 'Top of the world' which was released as a single just prior to the album. The new version of 'Ticket to Ride' is just perfect. Then follows 3 songs that seam to have been linked together for always: 'Superstar', 'Rainy days and Mondays' & 'Goodbye to love'.

'Yesterday once more' gets a reworking and sounds even better than the single version. 'It's going to take some time' although a lovely recording really shouldn't be here as it wasn't single material, but the Carpenters were so huge in the early 70's in America they took the song to No.12, but it did miss the UK top 50. 'Sing' was a huge hit in America & Japan but again just failed to chart in the UK. 'Hurting each other' is probably one of the greatest recordings the Carpenters ever made, it's pure magic, another 'Gold' single in America, another flop in the UK!. 'For all we know' co-written by Bread members Griffin & Royer is another piece of simple magic by the Carpenters but it's a pity that Bread didn't record they song as well. If you've heard the demo by James Griffin you'll know why. And the album winds up where it started with the Carpenters first hit 'Close to you'. It's a great album from start to finish and considering how huge it was in the UK it's a pity you can only get it on import in this country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXQUISITE SONGCRAFT, 8 Aug 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Singles 1969 - 1973 (Audio CD)
The Carpenters made classy pop music and ruled the charts throughout much of the seventies. This excellent collection contains their hit singles from the late 60s to the mid 70s and every one's a winner. All the songs are melodic, with lovely piano lines and Karen's understated singing. My favourites include the cheerful Top Of The World, the sad Superstar (the lament of a groupie which raised a few eyebrows back then), the gorgeous Rainy Days and Mondays and of course the much covered classics For All We Know and Close To You. This is real elegant melodic pop music for romantics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waited years for this, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles 1969 - 1973 (Audio CD)
This wasn't released in Australia due to a Greatest Hits package being released by A&M to cash in on the Oz tour in the 70s. In contrast to that, this CD has reworked songs with a new album intro. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its got all your favourites!!!, 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: Singles 1969 - 1973 (Audio CD)
a great easy listening c/d. no-one has a voice like Karen carpenter and no-one will. sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles 1969 - 1973 (Audio CD)
Very pleased with purchase. In excellent condition. Would buy from seller again. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles 1969 - 1973 (Audio CD)
Well received present for my dad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb tracks., 2 Oct 2011
By 
dont mess "acuvicticus" (BURTON ON TRENT, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles 1969 - 1973 (Audio CD)
Like all who have roamed this planet for half a century or more, this CD has to be a must. Except of course if you cant stand them - difficult to imagine such people exists, but folks are so diverse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars carpenters singles 1969, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles 1969 - 1973 (Audio CD)
i love the carpenters but brought this product for the sleeve cover as i thought it was a great piture, received it in a plain sleeve could have brought it cheaper in my local store was offered a refund but hardly worth the trouble, so instead will not buy c ds again talk with my wallett
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singles 1969 - 1973
Singles 1969 - 1973 by Carpenters (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews