Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The breakthrough album
With the title track, a Bacharach-David song first recorded by Dionne Warwick but hitherto not released as a single, and another classic (We've only just begun, which evolved from a TV jingle), the Carpenters established themselves in the pop charts around the world.

The album contains several other fine songs including Crescent moon, Mr Guder, Maybe it's you...
Published on 13 May 2009 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but disappointed
I have this on vinyl but wanted it on cd. I knew it wouldn't sound the same but was surprised by how different it sounded. For me the vinyl is far better.
Published 4 months ago by lindy lou


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The breakthrough album, 13 May 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Close To You (Audio CD)
With the title track, a Bacharach-David song first recorded by Dionne Warwick but hitherto not released as a single, and another classic (We've only just begun, which evolved from a TV jingle), the Carpenters established themselves in the pop charts around the world.

The album contains several other fine songs including Crescent moon, Mr Guder, Maybe it's you and Another song. A cover of Help! (Beatles) was originally considered for single release, but having already released another Beatles song (Ticket to ride) as a single from their debut album, the decision was probably wise. Three other excellent covers are Reason to believe (Tim Hardin), I'll never fall in love again (a Bacharach-David song that provided Bobbie Gentry with a British number one hit) and Baby it's you (one of the less famous songs from the Bacharach-David catalog).

Following the modest start to their career provided by their debut album (Offering, also known as Ticket to ride), this follow-up hit the big time. It's not difficult to understand why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to listen to, for lovers af all kinds of music., 5 April 2012
By 
Stephen Reid "Stephen" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Close To You (Audio CD)
I bought this album while at University and people gave me some odd looks - not really what they expected from a lover of Deep Purple, Led Zep and ELP! But it is, by any judgement, a superb piece of work. At that time there was little to match the technical sophistication of the production, with the multi-tracked voices on "We've Only Just Begun" and "(They long to be) Close to You". The closest analogy at the time was probably the Beatles' 'Because' from Abbey Road.

Karen Carpenter's wonderfully smooth and distinctive voice is one of the greatest losses that the popular music industry has ever suffered. Nowhere is it better presented than on this record.

The two huge hits referred to above probably need no introduction. But there are other memorable tracks. 'Reason To Believe' is beautifully sung. 'Crescent Noon' is soulful and quite beautiful and 'Mr Guder' is a gem.

This was the breakthrough record for the Carpenters and deservedly so. It combined some unique arrangements with a never-again voice. A joy to listen to, for lovers af all kinds of music. Five stars and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SURPRISING - NOT A BLAND ALBUM AT ALL!, 4 Jan 2012
By 
A. J. Dobb "DJ TONY" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Close To You (Audio CD)
I bought this cos it was cheap and was almost dreading listening to it, expecting every track to be easy listening 'smaltz' similar to the title track, but I was surprised to hear rock and jazz elements, Queen-like layered harmonies, fabulous production qualities, beautiful vocal performances from both Karen and Richard, some sublime drumming from Karen and a GREAT cover of "Help" with a wonderful organ solo at the end. "Mr. Guder" is an unusual track, with Karen's drumming in fine form and a GREAT piece where there are some superb multi-layered harmonies. But what is the last track, "Another song" all about????????? Weird and certainly different, with jazz and rock tempos. This is NOT the straighforward bland easy listening experience I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cloe to You, 18 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. S. Brock "MadeInEngland" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Close To You (Audio CD)
A great Carpenters album, albeit a rather sad cover - they look more like a couple than Brother & Sister

The tracks on this album are obviously what made The Carpenters as famous as they are today - a great CD to have in your collection.

As this is the second Carpenters Album (after Offerings/Ticket To Ride), it highlights The Carpenters, Karen & Richard at their very best.

Look out for the slightly less known tracks Crsecent Moon and I Kept On Loving You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, 8 Mar 2006
This review is from: Close To You (Audio CD)
For all the people in the beginning that said that the Carpenters were no good, this album said a huge "WE ARE BRILLIANT MUSICIANS" with lights around it. From start to finish, no tracks are repetitive, headache-inducing or elevator background music. The Carpenters were (and still are) the best in easy listening/AOR. This album is usually listed in books of "must own albums" and is for countless good reasons. This album is everything that most popular music lacks nowadays. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Superb, 20 May 2004
By 
Mr MG Breese (Dolgellau United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Close To You (Audio CD)
I Have to admit I'm Reviewing this from the Vinyl Version Of This album Its Still superp. We've only Just Begun what a blindindingly great start to this tranquil journey honestly this is A truly great album Shame about Mr Guder thought. But if you don't buy you'll maybe not hear the stupendous Maybe Its You, I have Owned this album since The Mid Seventies I still Play it. Also this album is one that Does'nt Duplicate tracks from the other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Real McCoy, 25 May 2014
By 
Mr. Peter Steward "petersteward" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Close To You (Audio CD)
If Ticket to Ride was an embryo Carpenters album, this was the real McCoy thanks to a series of exceptional songs that saw Carpenter and Bettis mingling with great songwriters such as Roger Nichols and Paul Williams "We've Only Just Begun" Tim Hardin "Reason to Believe" Lennon and McCartney revisited "Help" Bacharach and David (They Long to Be) Close to You and so it goes on.

This is almost a one group greatest hits of the era. The fact the album kicks off with one of the duo's most endearing and romantic songs sets a standard that is maintained pretty much throughout the entire record. This was the album that truly defined the Carpenters style and set them up as one of the greatest acts of their era and one that has stood the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but disappointed, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Close To You (Audio CD)
I have this on vinyl but wanted it on cd. I knew it wouldn't sound the same but was surprised by how different it sounded. For me the vinyl is far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a little disappointing, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Close To You (Audio CD)
I'm always a little nervous of buying remastered album issues when they are as reasonably priced as this... Is it me, or are the vocals on this CD a little bit overwhelmed in places by the backing vocals & instrumentation - which is awesome as ever - like in tracks 1,and 6 where Karen's gorgeous vocal line is in places swamped when the backing comes crashing in. That's not how I remember it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carpenters, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Close To You (Audio CD)
I chose this rating because my dad thoroughly enjoys listening to it and takes it everywhere with him. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Close To You
Close To You by Carpenters (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews