Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debbie's non blonde solo album
When this project saw the light, Deborah Harry had 5 sublime Blondie albums on her name. Nile Rodgers & Bernard Edwards (Chic) took the responsibility for the Kookoo production.
I have to admit I had to get used this Debbie sound when Kookoo was first released in 1981. But the album is getting better every year that goes by! Now in 2002 it has grown to a masterpiece...
Published on 21 Sep 2002 by arrene

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a little odd
this is a record done when the artiste was quite simply elsewhere.She had huge problems in her personal life and it showed.Debbie Harry later produced some truly exceptional music-just not this time
Published 12 months ago by thomas lester


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debbie's non blonde solo album, 21 Sep 2002
This review is from: KooKoo (Audio CD)
When this project saw the light, Deborah Harry had 5 sublime Blondie albums on her name. Nile Rodgers & Bernard Edwards (Chic) took the responsibility for the Kookoo production.
I have to admit I had to get used this Debbie sound when Kookoo was first released in 1981. But the album is getting better every year that goes by! Now in 2002 it has grown to a masterpiece! The urban funky The jam was moving, the ballad like Chrome, the danceable Oasis and Surrender the regea'sh Inner City Spillover, Military Rap and Under Arrest are the absolute killers of the album.
Debbie Harry was her time far ahead by this album! Kookoo stands for urban funk and definately NOT sounding dated like many time members like Up Side Down (Diana Ross) or Sister Sledge to name a few. It's so different! You can't compare it with Blondie neither with other Chic productions like David Bowie's Let's dance (released a year later)
This album is a must for every Blondie fan but it's so different than Blondie. It's a must for people who want something different! For instance: URBAN FUNKROCK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars before its time, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. C. E. T. Sturdy "Darthtidgit" (United kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KooKoo (MP3 Download)
KooKoo was one of the albums produced by the incredible duo of Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards, awesome baselines and funky riffs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a little odd, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Koo Koo (Audio CD)
this is a record done when the artiste was quite simply elsewhere.She had huge problems in her personal life and it showed.Debbie Harry later produced some truly exceptional music-just not this time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Koo Koo (Audio CD)
Ordered for a friend and he was delighted with it. I had heard him say he had been looking for it and thought it was the perfect gift which it turned out to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album ruined by my pc scratching it, 15 July 2013
By 
M. A. Newton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Koo Koo (Audio CD)
Used to have this album on cassette. Decided to order it and eagerly waited for it to arrive. On arrival I inserted into my PC to rip a WAV file to play in Windows Media Player. I then heard a horrible grinding noise and the CD refused to eject. Eventually got it out to find a perfect circle scratched around the playing surface. This has completely ruined the CD. I have no choice but to order it again.On a positive note Amazons auto rip facility means I can at least listen to the MP3 version until it arrives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A truly terrible miss-step, 29 May 2010
By 
B. S. Marlay (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: KooKoo (Audio CD)
`Koo Koo' is a truly weird first solo album for someone that fronted what was, at the time, one of the biggest bands in the world. With its heavy emphasis on rap, one can only assume Deborah Harry and everyone else involved had gotten carried away by Blondie's success with `Rapture'. But, unfortunately nothing on this album comes even remotely close to the finesse of that song.

Presumably Harry was trying to release something that did not sound like Blondie, which she definitely managed. Instead of working with Blondie's rock producer, Mike Chapman (Suzi Quatro, The Knack, The Sweet, Pat Benatar), she worked with dance producers Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards (Chic, Sister Sledge, The Jacksons, Diana Ross). The result is that `Koo Koo' sports a thin sound, contains slight, lack-lustre songs and, worst of all, fails to capitalize on Harry's awesome vocal abilities, leaving her enigmatic style sounding silly alongside all the popping basses and excessive rapping.

With the exception of the moody and atmospheric `Now I Know You Know', and to a much lesser extent, the single `Backfired', most of the songs are flat out terrible. It is interesting to note that both of these tracks were written by Rodgers and Edwards. Harry and long-term partner, Chris Stein, had a hand in writing most of the other songs. In fact, were it produced by Chapman, the song `Under Arrest' would have sounded very much like a great Blondie song. Unfortunately, without him, it and everything else just sounds daft and under-realized. The best thing about it is the incredible cover art by H.R.Giger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

KooKoo
KooKoo by Debbie Harry (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews