Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars8
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2000
This, many people will say, is the album that spawned a thousand so-called "emo" bands. The influence of this album is undeniable, but the music itself (now a few years on) is still as powerful and emotional as the day I bought it. Guitars follow the tried and trusted quiet/loud dynamic - but there's far more going on here. Time signatures shift, overpinned by intricate basslines - Jeremy's voice is sometimes fragile and soothing, sometimes deranged, always fantastic. The playing on this album is nothing short of inspiring. Lyrically it's in my top 10 as well. This album also has some of the very best artwork I've seen... you really should buy the 12" as well so you can have the artwork bigger. :)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2000
The album starts of with the amazing seven , to tell you the truth it goes on without a bad song. My personal Favourite is called Grendel. Jeremy Engiks voice sounds so tortured which blends in perfectly with the music, it starts off with slow Guitar work with the drums keeping a continuous rhythm but towards the middle the song breaks out of it's shell with the Guitar and drums working over time, Jeremy Engiks voice screams down the micro phone making my spine tingle.All I have to say is Jeremy Engik, Nate Mendel , William Goldsmith and Dan Hoerner,WELL DONE!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2006
The debut album from American rock band Sunny Day Real Estate. It's dark, brooding and angry. It is also the music that inspired current-day bands such as Jimmy Eat World and Finch. Enigk's vocals are instantly recognisable, and match the music perfectly.

Apparently this is Emo music, if it is then it's the best kind of Emo music because it's nothing like the music people call Emo today. They may be Emo but they're also pretty progressive. Songs like Seven and Song About An Angel and Grendel gradually build up from quiet, hoarse musings to roaring, aggressive riffs and strained angry screams. Don't expect to get it first time round, but persevere and you'll see how special this band actually were. They sound wonderful, and this is one of the most important albums in history. Probably.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2002
"Diary" by Sunny Day Real Estate is just one of those albums that come along and change your whole way of listening to music. Seattle's original emotional-hardcore band turn out the best album of the genre. Each musician plays an equally important part in making the album what it is, William Goldsmith's drumming is mindblowing, Nate Mendel's complex bass guitar patterns are amazing, Dan Hoerner's and Jeremy Enigk guitar work leaves nothing desired, and Jeremy's vocals and poetically abstract, but fully emotionally felt lyrics leave you exasperated and going straight to play the whole album again. From the opener "Seven" to the closer "Sometimes", the album does not falter, it is simply a perfect document, or "Diary" of this band at their creative peak. A MUST BUY if there ever was one...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2001
This is the one people, every single song is incredible (just like the rest of their stuff) and every aspect of it is inspiring. Check it out and see what Dave Grohl wishes he could be as William Goldsmith plays some of the best rock drums you will hear over the ultimate in musical accompaniment. BUY IT.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2004
i cant think of a better word to describe this album other than perfect. The vocals just get better and better as the album progresses. My favourite being 'Sometimes' and 'Shadows'. I think as most people seem to think, this is the first album that could be classed as emotional hardcore in this day and age.
i simply love this album, it hasnt left my stereo since i got it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2004
sunny day real estate are another of the bands along with dashboard coffesional or mineral that are labelled a music that wimpy emo kids listen too.Though sdre started a music genre that would go on to produce some of the best bands ever. As the band who started 'emo'(emotional)music they have acheived doing this well. With powerful and meaningful lyrics rather like poetry and gret melodies sdre have to be one of the best emo bands out there. Though sadly splitting up and then coming back to form one more album sdre will allways be one of the bands never forgotten. For fans of mineral,recover,texas is the reason and the juliana theory
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
top
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£22.00
£29.54

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)