Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly superb.
I don't understand why no-one else had hardly reviewed the absolutely brilliant album, quite possibly one of the best presents ive ever had. The 1st 5 tracks put nearly all other songs in the world to shame. They are powerful, fast, energetic, rock heavy and true gems. Deadringer is the most well known track on the album, but it's not the best, that honour goes...
Published on 23 Jan 2006 by Mr. P. P. Eaton

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not his best work
This was the second album to be released by Meat Loaf, and although all of his work is above average this has to be one of the poorer instalments from him. If your a fan then it is a must have. But if your just a casual listener or your looking to by one of his albums for the first time then I would recommend Bat Out Of Hell, Bat Out Of Hell 2, or The Very Best Of Meat...
Published on 13 Oct 2001 by mitch82


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly superb., 23 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. P. P. Eaton "Philster" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Audio CD)
I don't understand why no-one else had hardly reviewed the absolutely brilliant album, quite possibly one of the best presents ive ever had. The 1st 5 tracks put nearly all other songs in the world to shame. They are powerful, fast, energetic, rock heavy and true gems. Deadringer is the most well known track on the album, but it's not the best, that honour goes to track 1 in my opinion, 'Peel Out'. The guitars sound superb, the drums sounds ace, and Meatloaf even though he sounds like he has a blocked nose, it's the perfect voice. Excluding track 6 which is the prelude to 'Deadringer for love', track 8 is the weakest on the CD. 'Everything is permitted' isn't bad, it just doesn't stand up there in rock quality with the other songs.
All in all, if someone says to you they love Meatloaf and you say 'Do you have the Deadringer album?', and then they say 'No, never heard of it' or 'No, its crap' give them a good slap and say its from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theatre, pure and simple., 23 Feb 2001
By 
J. Clarke (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Audio CD)
By 1981, Meat Loaf was in trouble. His voice was shot from endless touring, a cocaine snowstorm has become a blizzard that sapped everything around it, and, to cap it all, Jim Steinman had decided to record his new compositions alone. These songs can duly be found on Steinman's 'Bad for Good' opus, which bizarrely sounds more like an odds-and-ends collection than anything on 'Dead Ringer', essentially a grab-bag of Steinman material. Some of it was old ('More Than You Deserve'), and some of it was weak ('Everything is Permitted'), but it is closer in tone and mood to the mythical 'Bat Out Of Hell' than Steinman's own album, released at roughly the same time. Massively underrated, it harbours the show-stopping tearjerker 'Read 'Em and Weep' and, of course, the title track, a memorable sparring match with Cher. The Loaf's voice is admittedly weak and possesses an unusually thin nasal quality(probably to do with the aforementioned 'Snow'), and yet the sheer testosterone rush of, say, 'I'll Kill You If You Don't Come Back' is infused with the unique magic frequently invoked by Steinman's Gotterdammerung approach to rock opera.
I recommend this album unreservedly. Truly, they don't make 'em like this anymore. Admittedly, it stands out like a sore thumb in the midst of our miserablist, navel-gazing times, but it dosen't suffer by comparison. Like the other Steinman/Meat Loaf albums of the period, it remains a window on to a vanished, more innocent world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not his best work, 13 Oct 2001
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Audio CD)
This was the second album to be released by Meat Loaf, and although all of his work is above average this has to be one of the poorer instalments from him. If your a fan then it is a must have. But if your just a casual listener or your looking to by one of his albums for the first time then I would recommend Bat Out Of Hell, Bat Out Of Hell 2, or The Very Best Of Meat Loaf rather than this album. The album does contain some nice tracks, with Dead Ringer (the title track) being the most famous and Read 'em and Weep being another gem. However the songs on this album do not gel together well to form a good album as a whole, with good flow. It feels more like a bunch of tracks that have been thrown together. This is not a CD to listen to right the way through from the first to the last song, it is more suited to picking out the tracks you want to listen to and then just listening to those specific tracks. The songs are well written and well performed but I feel that some tracks just aren't suited to being on the same album as each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the second-best rock album ever, 30 Mar 2001
By 
Ruben Fønsbo "rubenfonsbo" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Audio CD)
Meat Loaf & Jim Steinman in perfect harmony in an energetic, fast-paced and exceptionally well written and well performed album. Dead Ringer is probably only ever surpassed by Bat out of Hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Bat out of Hell, 3 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. Jonathan Clark (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Audio CD)
I LOVE the first album but this is even better. More Rock and Roll than Opera and the playing is still top notch.
Get this album for "Nocturnal Pleasure" - a short poem and the perfect introduction to the title song........ and who else remembers Barry Manilow covering "Everything is Permitted" ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy follow-up?, 7 Nov 2006
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Audio CD)
Intended as a worthy follow-up to Bat Out Of Hell, this album eventually appeared in 1981 and was Meat's second album. In the interim between Bat Out Of Hell and Deadringer, Meat had suffered much following the success of his debut. All songs are penned by the legendary Jim Steinman (who at the time was working on his own album 'Bad For Good'; Meat walked away from 'Bad For Good' but has subsequently recorded nearly all of the tracks on it) and would not be until 1993 until we another Meat Loaf album would be written entirely by Steinman. Todd Rundgren was no longer responsible for the production of the album. However, there are some classic tracks. The album rocks in with 'Peel Out' followed by a Meat classic 'I'm Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us' which appears to be a kind invitation by Meat to his best friend to show his woman a good time on his behalf. The song winds up to a crescendo before Meat winds it down and then back up again. It's great stuff. Meat slows the pace a little on 'More Than You Deserve' when his 'good woman' appears to be putting it around a bit with more than one lover at a time. The next two tracks are wonderful:'I'll Kill You If You Don't Come Back' is not one of his most widely-known known but, for me, one of his best. Again, he winds it up before you feel and share with him his anger and hurt with the effective sound of breaking glass (a bottle?) followed by a slow, emotional section before he winds the tempo back up again. 'Read 'Em And Weep' is more well - known and is more of a ballad, but is full of emotion. 'Nocturnal Pleasure' is a monologue and appears to be an attempt to emulate the dialogue at the start of 'You Took The Words---' before the well-known and sucessful title track. 'Everything Is Permitted' works well as a closer.
A worthy follow-up? Yes, just about. Not as good, but enjoyable, nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Theatre, Rock Opera, Meat Loaf's most underated album, 17 Feb 2005
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Audio CD)
Dead Ringer meat's second album, written by Jim Steinman but Steinman wasn't at meat side when this was recorded.
This album is very emotional if you know Meat's and Jim history as the sing More Than You Deserve is on this album. This song was the first ever song Meat Sang with Jim.
The album opener Peel Out is guitar driven rock at it's best, one of my personal favourites and which meat would sing this song live today.
I'm gonna love her for both of us, brilliant song, brilliant lyrics, brilliant ending and it was a single, another song meat still should sing.
I Kill You If You Don't Come Back, a medium pace song and then half way song it becomes a ballard about love and breakdown of relationships, brilliant lyrics.
Deadringer for Love the famous duet with Cher, great follow up to Paradise from Bat out of hell.
This album is one of meat loafs best, if this album was played more today by Meat this could of out-rated bat 1 easily, the songs are so much emotional and have a story to tell.
Jim Steinman makes a mark by doing a 30 second voice song before Dead Ringer.
The album finishes with a very slow ballard Everything Is Permitted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST MEATLOAF ALBUM, 5 Mar 2014
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Audio CD)
FORGET BAT OUT OF HELL - THIS IS A SUPERIOR ALBUM COMPARED TO BAT OUT OF HELL . THE SECOND MEAT / STEINMAN COLLABORATION.
THE SONGS ARE GREAT ESPECIALLY TRACKS LIKE " MORE THAN YOU DESERVE " " I'LL KILL YOU IF YOU DON'T COME BACK " " MEATLOAF & CHER ' DEADRINGER FOR LOVE "
THIS IS MY FAVORITE MEATLOAF ALBUM .

TOTALY BRILLIANT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meatloaf - Dead ringer, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Audio CD)
Good album, one of his best after Bat out of hell. I would defo say its one to own.
10 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Knight "Jan" (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Audio CD)
A great CD and at a very resonable price. I have already had my monies worth out of it already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Ringer
Dead Ringer by Meat Loaf (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews