Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars30
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2014
Don't get me wrong, this is/was a great album, but. . . . .
The remastering is abysmal. There's very little bass, the sound staging is worse and the cymbals and sibilants nearly take your head off! Maybe OK on in-car hi-fi and MP3 players but not on anything that passes for a decent hi-fi
I have this on vinyl, and the sound is VASTLY superior, and I have other sting CDs (not remastered) of the same era that sound great.
If you like this album, try and get the non remastered version or the vinyl, or wait for the HD download, because the person responsible for remastering this should be taken out and have molten lead poured in their ears.
UPDATE
I just received an original un-digitally re-buggered-up version of this album, and the difference is staggering. The bass is there, the HF is actually listenable, and more even handed, voices are easier to follow, sound-staging better defined and three dimensional.
So I've now changed my mind about the person responsible for the remastered version - as well as his/her ears being filled molten lead, so should every other available orifice!
This is a truly appalling remaster, and should come with a health warning!
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2006
Okay, the Police were massive but to produce this gem which appeared to owe so little to his past and packaged in such an original sound is real genius... brilliant and timeless popular music
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2009
Stings first solo album is, in my opinion, something of an overlooked gem. Its rarely mentioned in the various top album countdowns you see on a regular basis but it contains some of his best songs such as 'Russians', 'If you Love Somebody Set Them Free', and the fantastic 'Moon Over Bourbon Street'. Some of the less well known songs on the album are also well worth a listen such as 'We Work The Black Seam' and 'Fortress Around Your Heart'. All in all a consistently good album throughout and well worth a listen.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In his 2003 autobiography, 'Broken Music', Sting wrote, "That the band [The Police] would break up at the pinnacle of its career when our position seemed virtually unassailable, surprised everyone but me. I saw my own future very clearly outside of the band, because I wanted more freedom. ... I wanted to make music that wasn't tied to the limitations of a three-piece band, where I didn't have to compromise my own standards as a songwriter." 'The Dream of the Blue Turtles' was Sting's first attempt at achieving solo recognition in this way.

Sting's first album is an eclectic bag of decent songs with one outstanding gem. Intelligent lyrics rub shoulders with seasoned musicianship. He has an eye for pale landscapes - both internal and external - and historical atmosphere. Indeed, this album can be viewed in itself as a historic document of the 1980s with songs about the Russian threat, the coal strike, and child soldiers. It is, in my opinion, a cold album, a night album, full of shadows, but nevertheless burning intensely inside.

Four songs do not deliver on expectations - "Love is the Seventh Wave" is in calypso style, but Sting's voice is too deadpan; "Shadows in the Rain" is a bog-standard rocker; "Consider Me Gone" has a jazz-blues feel ('to look for heaven is to live here in hell'); and the album's title track is a short instrumental jazzy jam session of no relevance.

But there are five songs worthy of high praise - "If You Love Somebody Set them Free", the pop-rock hit; "Russians", a cold-war commentary to the beat of goose-stepping soldiers and sustained throughout by the sound of a ticking clock (bomb?), each verse interspersed with an ironic Prokofiev theme; "Children's Crusade" laments the loss of young lives, 'virgins with rifles'; "We Work the Black Seam" has a prescient pre-climate warming message; and "Moon Over Bourbon Street", an atmospheric eighteenth-century feel with excellent alto(?) sax playing by Branford Marsalis.

But the gem in the series is, for me, the final song, "Fortress around Your Heart". Astounding lyrics ('let me set the battlements on fire') sung with commitment sends shivers down my spine. It's a shame that it ends on a simple fade-out.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
After the fall out and no more Police records forth right, unless I got a record of my own in hand-chuffs. What where the three of the Police members gonna do next, one form new bands or go the solo route. Well the solo step is probably easier for a singer than for a guitarist and less so for a drummer. Lucky then Gordon Sumner had the chords, vocal chords to push and pull himself anyway he wanted.

Three quarters of this album is all buzz and no fuzz as Sting belts out song after song with great lyrical content post Stings previous band albums. Here as a solo artist you can go back to time and again, picking up on his Jazz influenced history, punk heavy bass lines, mixed in with the rocker and the balladeers first piece of craftsmanship on vinyl or newbie CD. So for a first album Sting hits many a right note, riff, or over all tune, a must for any music fan, never mind the many genres of music.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2001
The dream of the blue turtles is Sting's debut first album, and what a debut!
Littered with catchy but intelligent pop songs, this album is a prime example of how it should be done. Sting's expertise as a musician is evident in contructing fun songs, even if none of them sound too technically difficult.
For intelligent songwriting, check this out: Russians is a song about the cold war, the concept taken from a book he had read. Children's crusade is about a childrens march across Europe that was supposed to have happened in the 1600's I believe. We work the black seam is possibly about Sting's heritage as the son of a working class family, although he was the son of a milkman and not a coal miner. Moon over Bourbon street is about vampires, taken from when he read interview with a vampire by Anne Rice.
Behind the words lies Stings unique voice. Able to reach high notes like few can, Sting is an exceptional vocal talent. Perhaps not put to best use on this album, still you really can't imagine anyone else singing these songs as fittingly.
You'll be missing out if you don't buy this album. But what do I know, I'm just another music fan...
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2008
There are two songwriters on this album - the Sting who writes clunking all-too-obvious political songs - the awful "Russians" (lazy unpoetic rhymes like Precedent / President, and Ideology / Biology...! The good bit - the tune - is taken from a classical composer) and "We Work the Black Seam"; and then the Sting who creates wonderful songs as "Fortress Around Your Heart" and "Moon Over Bourbon Street" (with its tune borrowed from the old jazz standard "Autumn Leaves"). The musicianship is excellent - Marsalis and Co cannot put a foot wrong and produce music you will never hear in the charts. A good start then, and Sting would go on to better things with Nothing Like the Sun and The Soul Cages - a rare English talent indeed. Just drop the sixth form politics please...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
I received this edition of Sting's first solo effort and am very pleased with the improved quality of the sound. I've always loved this album and I'm enjoying it immensely. Thanks once again to Amazon.uk for the speedy delivery of my order. Looking forward to ordering Sting's forthcoming CD in September.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
It's a good record and was a real sophisticated record when it came out - Janice Long was in raptures about it. The stand-out track for me was Fortress Around Your Heart, pumping brass sections and a smooth chorus; rousing without being at all ceremonial. Really good record
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
Sting's first solo album following the break up of the Police and in my view still his finest solo work. No weak fillers here but beautifully crafted songs that draw on his childhood memories( We work the black seam) and experiences of life. A superb album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)