Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best to date
This has got to be Bon Jovi's best album ever!!!!
Cross raods is my fav but if I had to pick original studio album then it would have to be THESE DAYS.
This album is not what you expect it to be when you think of Bon Jovi. Most people think of Livin on a prayer or it's my life so when they put this album on they are in complete shock.
This album wasn't what...
Published on 18 Mar 2005 by M. C. Batson

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best
'These Days'is a good album but not as good as Lost Highway or Crush in my opinion. No songs really stood out although I liked 'This ain't a love song'. However the album does make a change from Bon Jovi's more commonly known music such as Livin on a Prayer so it is worth a listen. It may be one of those albums that grows on you as I have only listened to it a few times...
Published on 27 Nov 2008 by Elizabeth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best to date, 18 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: These Days (Audio CD)
This has got to be Bon Jovi's best album ever!!!!
Cross raods is my fav but if I had to pick original studio album then it would have to be THESE DAYS.
This album is not what you expect it to be when you think of Bon Jovi. Most people think of Livin on a prayer or it's my life so when they put this album on they are in complete shock.
This album wasn't what I expected at all. I really didn't know what to expect when I saw "Hey God" and " These Days" on their "live from London" DVD. All I knew was they were great songs, fantastic in fact, and nothing like I had heard from Bon Jovi.
Whether you love or hate Bon Jovi I think that you will truly love this album and listen to it time and time again. Here Bon Jovi offers you an album that is nothing like they had realeased before or had realeased since.
This is more than worth buying and adding to your record collection, trust me you will like it.
BRILIIENT""""!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good ? No. Excellent? Good God YES!!, 12 May 2002
This review is from: These Days (Audio CD)
This album is simply a masterpiece. One of those albums that continually delights, even nearly seven years on. I bought this album on the day it came out and always return to it, it's everything a great record should be.
The production on These Days is superb, down to Jon and Richie with Peter Collins (who should also be thanked for Always), creating a feeling of warmth and familiarity as some of the bands greatest songs ooze out of the speakers and impress themselves on your memory.
The rockier tracks have greater edge than before, such as the opener "Hey God" in which Jon questions life in the nineties and Richie's guitar howls in pain as he strangles its neck, or the surging "Something For The Pain" that follows and became a classic Bon Jovi track.And then there's the swinging, balls-out tune "Damned" which features the Astbury Dukes' horn section joining in the fun.
Of course there's the ballads, it wouldn't be a Bon Jovi album otherwise, but here there are ballads which have rarely been so heartfelt and true, the ache in Jon's voice on the hit "This Aint A Love Song" and "Lie To Me" is about as emotional as he's ever sung. Not to mention the atmosphere created on "It's Hard Letting You Go" (originally written as a thank - you to the producers of Moonlight and Valentino) created by Jon on keyboards and featuring only Jon and Richie.
Later Bon Jovi albums have featured story songs of epic proportions (Keep The Faith's superb "Dry County")and These Days is no exception,with the brilliant title track bringing to mind Springsteen, as does the majority of the album, while the bluesey, jam-like "Bleeding In My Arms" is a stroke of genius.
The variety and quality of this album stand testament to the bands versatility and excellence. This is more than a mere album, its more than a Bon Jovi album, its a work of art that will stand the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bon Jovi rules, these days and the next!!!, 14 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: These Days (Audio CD)
I started listening to music through Bon Jovi, back in 1986, with "slippery when wet", then I became a major fan with the excellent "new jersey". I bought "These days" two months ago and I have to say that it is the best Bon Jovi album, along with "new jersey". It shows Bon Jovi at their best, with great songs such as "my guitar lies bleeding"-an epic, with Jon showing he's one of the best hard rock singers nowadays, and Richie demostrating what he has learned by going solo.
The album is unstoppable, goes from heavier stuff, like "hey god" to ballads like in "lie to me" or "it's hard letting you go" and plus, probably one of the best bon jovi songs ever "hearts breaking even". The lyrics are the best ever. This is not just an album, it's a document.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These days, 17 Oct 2006
By 
C. OMAHONY - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: These Days (Audio CD)
As others have mentioned, it takes a few listens to get used to this album. The first few tracks are excellent, and you know you're on to something special when you hear 'something for the pain.' Honestly, this song needs to be listened to LOUD, ya know? it's just one of those tracks, kinda like 'livin on a prayer.' Other favourites of mine are 'these days' and 'damned'. The whole album is great though, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars these days are forever, 20 Sep 2006
By 
M. England "Mengland" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: These Days (Audio CD)
This album, imo opinion is bon jov's best. Dont listen to Kerrang! who say its the one to skip, they obviously have never listened to it. You want rock, soul, incredibly well written lyrics, great vocals, and guitar... go for this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious but great, 18 Nov 2002
By 
Helen Yates "ecco1983" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: These Days (Audio CD)
You look at Bon Jovi's albums Bon Jovi and 7800 Fahrenheit and they seem to go on with the theme of love. You look at Keep the Faith and Slippery and its party on time. New Jersey is like a darker version of Slippery.
These days is definetly the most serious and heavy album theyve done (not including Bounce because thats heavy as well). All the songs (like typical Bon Jovi) are serious and have a true message to life. Hey God, If that whats it takes, All I wnat is Everything are the true songs of this albums.
It's also the bands first album since Bon Jovi replaced Alec John Such with Hugh McDonald.
Of course where is Bon Jovi without the power ballads? I wouldnt say that theyre powerful but the ballads are beautiful and loving- more tissues needed.
A great album overall!!!
Helen
xxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bon Jovi - These Days, 11 Aug 2002
This review is from: These Days (Audio CD)
Quite possibly one of the best albums written. It is well worth getting, even non jovi fans will like it. It has something for everyone, from hard rock tracks right through to more melodic songs for easy listening. There are songs to sing along to aswell as ones to have a good cry to. It's a well written heart felt album, totally awesome. I'd advise anyone to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars just isn't enough., 29 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: These Days (Audio CD)
This album amazed me, to be honest I didn't think Bon Jovi were capable of anything this beautiful, I'm not sure I thought anyone was! This album is sad but not depressing, and very emotional. It contains great music with some great lyrics which equals (yeah you guessed it) great songs. With the brilliant "My guitar lies Bleeding in my arms" and the superb "Something to believe in", not forgetting the almighty title song "These Days" you just can't lose. Every song is a winner.
Buy it.
You'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - one of the best, 19 Feb 2001
This review is from: These Days (Audio CD)
This album of Bon Jovi's doesn't seem to be as hyped up as the others - but hell, it really should be. It was the fourth album I bought of theirs and I'd have to say, it is easily my favourite. Some of their best work is on here and it seems that the theme is heavily tilted towards love, be they in the form of hard rocking songs or the softer ones like Diamond Ring.
My favourites would have to be Bitter Wine, These Days (fantastic) and My Guitar Lies Bleeding in my Arms. This last song has a great eerie sound towards the end as Jon belts out thsoe words, which always causes goosebumps.
I agree with previous comments that it's just one of those albums you put in your CD player and never seem to take out. You can listen to it over and over again and it never gets boring. It is most definately worth investing in, be you a fan who hasn't yet bought it or a newcomer who wants to hear some of the best of this brilliant rock band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 25 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: These Days (Audio CD)
FANTASTIC I recieved this as a birthday present some three years ago and I have never once put it in my CD rack it has constantly been out on top of my hifi. From the ballards to the more rocky songs it has everything. If you are not too sure about Bon Jovi, this is a must if you love this you will love albums such as Crossroads and New Jersey. From songs such as Something to believe in, to Hey god it is shear briliance. By far Bon Jovi best album, its their only album you are able to put on week after week without getting bored. Nice one Jon!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadaceeac)

This product

These Days
These Days by Bon Jovi (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews