Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less is more
How can the best music from one of the best bands of all time not make a fantastic Greatest Hits album? If you tamper with the music, that's how.
I listened to this and somehow didn't feel right. The CD gathered dust for more than a year, and when I "rediscovered" it, didn't feel like playing it. "Made in Japan" however...
The simple fact is that Deep Purple's...
Published on 4 Jun 2004 by Aj Viljoen

versus
81 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So frustrating
This album contains some of the best classic rock songs ever by one of the best bands ever. However, if you have a look at the track listings you'll notice it consists of single edits and remixes. I have absolutely no idea why they would include versions that have been cut down for radio play instead of the full versions. It may have been to save space for more tracks but...
Published on 24 Jun 2003 by Mr. J. Oxley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So frustrating, 24 Jun 2003
By 
Mr. J. Oxley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep Purple 30: Very Best of (Audio CD)
This album contains some of the best classic rock songs ever by one of the best bands ever. However, if you have a look at the track listings you'll notice it consists of single edits and remixes. I have absolutely no idea why they would include versions that have been cut down for radio play instead of the full versions. It may have been to save space for more tracks but I'd much rather have the full version of "Child In Time" than the filler that appears at the end of the album. It's so frustrating to hear the beginning of a classic Blackmore guitar solo and then listen as it fades out before it's even got going. The album sounds like a sample CD. Don't get me wrong, there are still some great tracks here but you should buy a different complilation or an original album like "Machinehead" or "In Rock" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less is more, 4 Jun 2004
By 
Aj Viljoen (Kuwait) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Deep Purple 30: Very Best of (Audio CD)
How can the best music from one of the best bands of all time not make a fantastic Greatest Hits album? If you tamper with the music, that's how.
I listened to this and somehow didn't feel right. The CD gathered dust for more than a year, and when I "rediscovered" it, didn't feel like playing it. "Made in Japan" however...
The simple fact is that Deep Purple's music should be listened to the way it was intended to. I still maintain that their live albums are their best albums. Check out the excellent digitally remastered "Made in Japan" CD, or check out the DVD section. This one is best avoided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's this?, 11 Feb 2005
By 
This review is from: Deep Purple 30: Very Best of (Audio CD)
Actually ,this is not such a bad compilation.Quite a good cross section of Purple's body of work.The only downside is that I recently heard Speed King ( off 'In Rock' )so I bought this cd thinking it was the original version but somehow some bright spark had the idea of planting a demo type format on here.What a swizz.Also the track 'Child in Time'(which I always thought went on a bit anyway)is faded just as Blackmore is about to rip into his solo.This track may have been stretched out before but this is sacriledge.The solo being the best bit and all.Mind bogglin'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars please don't bother, 22 Feb 2009
By 
Easty (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deep Purple 30: Very Best of (Audio CD)
I agree with some of the reviews. Please, do yourself a favour, avoid this. The best tracks 'fit' on here only because they are re-mixes or have been curtailed. There are plenty of brilliant Purple CD's on Amazon - just don't get this. Very dissapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Less than the sum of it's parts . . ., 9 Sep 2003
By 
David Cranson (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep Purple 30: Very Best of (Audio CD)
Oh dear . . . what idiot tho't this was a good idea. I mean, I'm all for a good and up to date retospective of Purple's career, but why include so much that is remixed, and edited?
This is a hatchet job on at least two levels, and deserves to be avoided at all possible costs.
More of a Light Pink . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Purple 30: Very Best of (Audio CD)
If you like Deep Purple, probably best to buy a different collection. Has the expected great songs, but edited. Especially Child In Time - sudden fade out just as that galloping solo comes in. Also a suspicion that Smoke On The Water is faded in right at the opening chord. Mmmm... One for the car boot after I buy a better DP collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gutted by fade out, 23 Mar 2011
This review is from: Deep Purple 30: Very Best of (Audio CD)
I have to agree with the previous reviewer, I too was going to treat myself to 'In Rock' but thought "what they heck, this has all the best bits plus a wealth of other great tracks". How wrong was I? I went straight to Child in Time, cranked up the volume and just as the hairs on the back of my neck were starting to stand up, it fades out! Had the Amazon track listing said 'Edit', I wouldn't have bought this CD and I'd now be enjoying 'In Rock', listening to Child in Time in full and screaming away just like Ian Gillan (but out of tune!!!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars short in time, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Purple 30: Very Best of (Audio CD)
grate band and history, like all the tracks on this album track 4 cut short which is disappointing on a best of album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is rubbish, 19 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Purple 30: Very Best of (Audio CD)
There are some great tracks on here but the idiot who did the edit slashes some of the tracks, and what they did to Child in Time is bordering on blasphemy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
By 
C. Barker "reflux" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Purple 30: Very Best of (Audio CD)
Good quality CD, my nephew likes it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep Purple 30: Very Best of
Deep Purple 30: Very Best of by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews