Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars manics take a reflective view on life
(I bought this album a long time ago, when it first came out with the limited edition embossed CD case -woohoo!)
Please ignore the overly negative 1 star reviews here, they are not in my opinion very balanced.
Okay, the manics started off as a brilliant young band, with the usual youthful nihilistic vision and associated political agenda. (Yes I thought...
Published on 1 Mar. 2005 by ravbains73

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My truth is that I really didn't enjoy this. Sorry.
I bought this on cassette when it first came out and just haven't bothered to get it on CD, let alone download anything off the album.

I remember buying it one day on my lunch break from work and managing to listen to it in half an hour with disappointment pulling a knot in my stomach. I couldn't believe it, which sounds ridiculous but Ive been a Manics fan for...
Published 18 months ago by B. Browning


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars manics take a reflective view on life, 1 Mar. 2005
(I bought this album a long time ago, when it first came out with the limited edition embossed CD case -woohoo!)
Please ignore the overly negative 1 star reviews here, they are not in my opinion very balanced.
Okay, the manics started off as a brilliant young band, with the usual youthful nihilistic vision and associated political agenda. (Yes I thought Generation Terrorists was great, and still do!).
But this album sees the manics getting, alas older. The lyrics here are more reflective and there is a loss of innocence vibe pervasive in tracks like the Everlasting.
For me this is a pretty well balanced album, with a nice variety of tracks and tempo. From memory this album was recorded in the South of France, and there is a very french feel on some of the instrumentation on tracks like Born a Girl. For me very pleasing has a whole.
So please ignore the negative reviews here, all bands inevitably grow up, cannot remain young punks forever!! The important thing is that in maturing as people they continue to make great innovative music, rather than reverting to compromised dad-rock (like U2 for example!!!). This is definitely an innovative album both lyrically and musically.
So please just give it a fair audience and make up your own mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Was Their Truth, 5 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
Very much the black sheep of the Manic's family back catalogue, 'TIMT' has been rubbished by critics as a lazy stab at U2/R.E.M's respective crowns and vilified by fans who were still pining for The Holy Bible II. 'This Is My Truth..' therefore has received a lot of bad press for all the wrong reasons and whilst it is one of the weaker studio compositions, like all the Manic's albums, there are rays of light.
The album begins with the slow and smooth 'Everlasting', a sad lament to lost youth and a good live 'recovery' track having been up to your neck in elbows. 'Tolerate' will forever be misunderstood as an anti-war song; (Nicky is actually commenting on the bravery of the voluntary soldiers who went over there), and 'Stole The Sun' is pure Nirvana. A quiet, quiet, loud structure that has graced countless football highlights.
From here on, is the tale behind 'TIMT's faults. 'Ready For Drowning' lilts gently about welsh villages being flooded and would be far more enjoyable were it not for the fact that you are about to have this formula for the rest of the album. This is fine if you enjoy it, but for people who are excited by the sporadic schitzophrenia of the opening few tracks you are going to be disappointed. The songs stories continue to flow; 'My Little Empire' speaks about Nicky's self imposed bubble in a way 'Mr Carbohydrate' manages more bubbly, 'Born A Girl' 'skirts' around a man with a woman's mind (guess who) and 'Black Dog' talks about depression taking inspiration from a Churchillian metaphor. But whatever the meaningful lyrics, they are eventually lost in the dour dirge that overcomes the tracks, particularly between 'I'm Not Working' and 'Nobody Loved You'. You'd be hard pushed to hum any of the melodies absent-mindedly in a lift. 'SYMM' has so much musical potential, but lyrically delivers a patronising slap in the face. And that is all that will be said about that.
'TIMT' is not an especially bad album, but it is certainly the one you might listen to the least. If you have the patience to listen to the last half, there are a few hidden gems and Nicky Wire's importance as a songwriter cannot be underestimated. For those of you who need a bit of swagger and depth musically, you are best going for 'Know Your Enemy' instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still a great album by the Manics though not their best, 8 Jun. 2014
This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours is the fifth studio album by the Manic Street Preachers and their first and only No. 1 album. After achieving critical and commercial success with Everything Must Go despite the absence of missing member Richey Edwards, the Welsh trio returned two years later with this album which saw them go further into their new Britpop sound. This album remains divisive amongst fans of the band; some love it whilst some hate it for its mainstream sound compared to their earlier work. I personally really like it though its not without its faults. The Manics are a band that have always liked to experiment with each album and this is no different. This Is My Truth's sound is more mellow and slow than their prior albums though there's also a few heavier tracks like 'You Stole the Sun From My Heart' and 'Nobody Loved You' thrown in for good measure. The popular singles from this album were my first exposure to the band as I'm sure for many people. There's the No.1 single 'If You Tolerate This Your Children Will Be Next', a ballad about the leftist perspective on the Spanish Civil War. Although not on par with something like 'Motorcycle Emptiness' or 'La Tristesse Durera', it's still a great song with James Dean Bradfield providing some phenomenal vocals and guitar work. Nicky Wire, in his first time as solo lyricist, also equips himself well despite some lyrics being a bit too sappy like in opening song and second single 'The Everlasting'. Richey Edwards was always the most unrelenting songwriter though Nicky's lyrics on this album do have some dark qualities to the like in 'My Little Empire' and 'I'm Not Working' which are the most haunting songs on the album. His songwriting is also compellingly mournful on 'Born a Girl' which is brought to life through James' tortured vocals and haunting guitar playing. The only really bad song on the album is 'SYMM' which I think should've been left out with 'Nobody Loved You' closing the album off instead. Overall, this album has its fans and haters. Me personally, I'm a little in the former though it's not as impressive as their first four albums which are all classics. This still has a chunk of brilliant tracks that are worth your time if you're a Manics fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MY truth about this album, 4 Aug. 2011
By 
theone&only (Nottingham, Notts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Wow! I have never seen such split opinions about an album - everything from 1 to 5 stars here! And I noticed something else - every other reviewer is extremely passionate about their opinion on this, the Manics 5th record. Surely that must mean they are doing something right??

This is definately NOT a commercial album. Yes its big budget, grand-scope, kaleidoscopic pop music but its not pop like all the other Britpop out there thats for sure! Who else can write a song as great as 'I'm Not Working' that is a stripped down, sitar led ballad?! The songwriting skills on show here are absolutely staggeringly brilliant.
James Dean Bradfield and Dave Eringa (Producer) have set their minds on making a masterpiece which is no mean feat considering what was riding on this album reputation wise for the Manics. Tracks like 'Nobody Loved You','Ready For Drowning' and the singles 'You Stole The Sun From My Heart', 'Tsunami', 'If You Tolerate This....' and 'The Everlasting' make up the bulk of a very fine album. Guitars swoop and swish rather than crash like on 'Everything Must Go' and there is all manner of instrumentation. Whether its futuristic guitar tones on the gorgeous aforementioned '...Tolerate....' or the brooding cellos that back up 'My Little Empire's mood of despair and resignation. The other interesting point about the feel of this album is that all these songs are slow ballads but not one of them will wrench on your heart-strings and be the soundtrack to splitting up with your other half! These songs will make you feel though. Never before on an album has loneliness, self-pity and despair sounded so glorious and life affirming!
I think thats the reason why some people don't 'get' this album - its not a pretty listen and causes some conflict, not least on moments like 'You're Tender And You're Tired's whistling solo which would have other wise been a good song, or 'Be Natural's blend of rock rhythms and er.....pan pipes! So for me in places this album is not always comfortable, I guess if you're going for broke on an album you aren't going to hit the mark EVERY time. Still, the Manics have made a genius album, the reason I gave it 4 stars is because of the mix of downbeat, depressing moments far outstrips the great, glorious ones. A few more of those to brighten up proceedings would have made this album perfect. They proved they could do uplifting pop on 'EMG' but here the shadow of Richey looms a little larger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album!, 13 Oct. 2011
I think that the reason for the love it/hate reviews that this album has generated is that many Manic fans would like this album to be devoid of any poppy sounds. As a teenager from the 1970s my first love is classic rock and I normally hate anything that sounds like pop rock. But I have to give credit where credit is due: the Manics, Muse, and U2 are all incredibly talented bands (although U2 play far too many sissy songs). Even though this album is not as dark and aggressive as some Manic fans (including myself) would like it to be it is still a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class of 1998, 16 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
Contrary to popular opinion, the Manics' most successful album is also one of their finest and a very worthy addition to their canon. It saw the band building on Everything Must Go with a more diverse selection of songs incorporating string sections, piano, organ, cello and sitar, among various other instruments. Overfamiliarity may now burden singles such as 'If you Tolerate This Your Children Will Be Next' and 'You Stole the Sun from my Heart', but there are many more gems to unearth such as 'My Little Empire', which is as dark and disturbing as anything on The Holy Bible in terms of lyrical content, albeit in a palatable form. 'Black Dog on my Shoulder' and 'Ready for Drowning' are two stunningly observed compositions whose lyrics take on dual meanings, soundtracked by some of the most accomplished music the band produced. After this musical pinnacle, it is understandable that the band went in the opposite direction for 2001's raw follow up Know Your Enemy.
Despite its reputation as being too radio-friendly for its own good, this is an album layered with thoughtful introspection and a depressive, morbid air. A theme that cuts through the album is 'the void', a phrase that Nicky Wire uses on a number of songs, and the three remaining Manics filled the void left by missing member Richey Edwards with their most dignified and mature work, which in turn remained as passionate as anything that went before it.
Too often remembered as a time of bloated arena/stadium shows and multiple Brit awards, this album is the cause not the effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best and most diverse indie albums for ages, 22 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
'This is my truth tell me yours'has to be up there with the best indie minidiscs released in the last five years. The range of styles and moods throughout the album is impressive from the calm, sombre style of 'Black Dog'to the more lively 'Everlasting'. This album has more good tracks on than the last and is more sentimental. This great album should be on any indie fans shelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Beautiful Moments, 4 July 2007
This review is from: This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours (Audio CD)
This album, along with 1996's 'Everything Must Go' brought the Manic Street Preachers firmly into the public consciousness, bringing them chart and commerical success, whilst alienating the Manics die-hard early-era fans in the process.

The reason for this is simple: the first three songs on the album are some of the most listener-friendly moments in the Manics incredibly colourful career.

This is not necessarily a bad thing - 'The Everlasting' is an undoubtedly beautiful and poignant slice of reminiscence, albeit far more glossy and highly produced than most of what the Manics have ever done, and a million miles away from anything on 'The Holy Bible'. Likewise, 'If You Tolerate This...' is glossy, complex and technically more advanced than the Manics roots, except that getting a song about the Spanish Civil War to number one in the charts is not only an act of great subversion, but completely in the spirit of punk, spitting in the face of conventionality. Polished it may be, but it is also undeniably thoughtful and intelligent. For this, the Manics should be applauded, regardless of the fact the many of their new 'lad' fans probably don't have the slightest clue what it all means. 'You Stole The Sun From My Heart' is also one of the Manics most recognisable songs, infuriatingly catchy and radio-friendly, but filled with enough gusto to still be worthwhile. The only problem that I can see with any of this is the polished sheen that adorns these songs, and either that is the sound that the Manics were aiming for, or the sound engineers working on this album were at odds with what the Manics always represented.

'Ready For Drowning' though is as beautiful a song as the Manics have ever created, featuring gorgeous church organs and severely vulnerable lyrics, a true fan anthem. The response it always gets at concerts is rapturous and frequently emotional.

'Tsunami', another single from the album is also another one of the Manics more highly produced singles, attracting the kind of fans who turned up to gigs in checked shirts, bottle of beer in hand, so that they could abuse the more dedicated and open-minded of the Manics fanbase and shout abuse at the men who wore eyeliner. I have always thought that the problem with the Manics reaching a wider audience was that they attracted a new and laddish element to their fanbase, in many senses kicking their more authentic fans where it hurts as a result.

Despite that, more beautiful moments ensue on this album, in the shape of classic Manics melancholia, such as the moody 'My Little Empire' and 'I'm Not Working', which sounds oddly distant and detached. There is virtually no trace of the engaging, wonderfully articulated anger which was the Manics guiding light circa 1994.

'You're Tender And You're Tired' is yet another fraught-with-emotion, polished set-piece of a more grown-up angst, but one can't help but think that 'grown-up' doesn't fit well with the Manics. The 'growing old disgracefully' mood of 'Know Your Enemy' and 'Send Away The Tigers' are far more fun and genuine.

'Born A Girl', however, has to rank as one of the most beautifully, poignantly honest lyrics that Nicky Wire has ever written, a stunning and sweet lament over the femininity which has been central to the Manics repertoire since their inception, a femininity which at one point in the Manics career, looked all but lost. This song is vital in understanding Nicky Wire as a person, and the Manics as a band.

'Be Natural', sadly, is as far from vital as I could imagine, and reeks of being pure filler, featuring one of the most middle-of-the-road sounds that the Manics have ever created. The guitars, vocal and lyrics are so yawnsome that I nearly always skip this song when I'm listening to this album. 'Black Dog On My Shoulder' isn't much better, either, containing some truly dull lyrics from a man who is capable of genius. The music is also annoyingly pleasant and mainstream-friendly, and when dealing with the Manics, 'pleasant' is not a word which most of the fans I've ever met would want to associate with them. Aggressive, yes. Brutal, yes. Pleasant? No thanks!

Thankfully, things take a turn for the better on 'Nobody Loved You', one of the many songs which is allegedly about missing Manics lyricist Richey Edwards, featuring beautifully powerful guitar riffs and tragic lyrics which resonate sadness. This kind of emotion is the Manics at their melancholic best, and where they're most at home.

'SYMM' is the epic final track which had to be given a different song title for legal reasons. Inspired by an episode of Jimmy McGovern's 'Cracker', it speculates on the Hillsborough disaster and contains the characteristically risque lyric "South Yorkshire Mass Murderer, how do you sleep at night?" Also featuring a fantastic guitar riff, and a moody, sombre feel to it, it is a satisfying end to a generally great album.

Indeed, this album has many high points, and if only certain filler had been dropped and relegated to B-sides, it would have been an altogether excellent addition to the Manics back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manic heaven, 22 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I lost this cd when I had my car stolen and missed it, especially when i heard the songs from the album aired on the radio........welcome back! Lovin it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Underrated!, 18 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
OK, most people think that this is one of the Manic Street Preachers worst offerings, that it was a sign that the band had grown older, more tedious and passive. The new raison d'etre was to pick up as many Brit awards as possible and go along nicely nicely. Many saw "This Is MY Truth.." as proof of "selling out" on the band's principles and the fanatical Manics fans.
So in theory I shouldn't like this
But for some reason the album grew on me and wouldn't let go...
The first five tracks are most excellent, unfortunately the album falls away somewhat after this. However, "Nobody Loved You" is quite frankly amazing, "Black Dog..." is good. Okay, I can see at least four tracks which definitely let the album down, though they keep the melancholia alive. I think the plus points definitely outweigh the minus ones
I would give it five stars, though it dropped one because "Be Natural" is utterly annoying and there must have been wax in the boyos ears to let that one escape the musical dustbin.
Listening to the Holy Bible, you can hear how the songs fit together to create a work. This doesn't happen with "This Is My Truth" unless you skip tracks. You shouldn't have to do this with a good band! But - the high points alone justify buying this album.
Everyone raves about "Everything Must Go", but I prefer this album! (Know Your Enemy? Oh pleeeeeeze...) If you appreciate your sadness like a fine wine, i recommend its purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours
This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours by Manic Street Preachers (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews