Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars T-Rex
T-Rex. Fronted by Bolan who seemed to be the antithesis of true rock, the group carved out a niche which none could top. Over a driving beat Bolan's voice floats out - never to be mistaken for anybody else's - which led to chart topping singles one after another. T-Rex still sound ahead of their time and would be a fine antidote to the dross we have to listen to these...
Published on 23 Dec. 2010 by J. R. Fowler

versus
83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, BUT NOT A SATISFYING BOLAN COMPILATION
This is one of the best selling Bolan compilations around, and it's easy to understand why: the packaging is attractive, it's pricey and it includes many of Bolan's best known songs.
However, even if this album includes great T-Rex tracks, my opinion is that it is not the ideal T-Rex compilation, as it only includes tracks recorded between 1972 and 1977. This...
Published on 25 July 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, BUT NOT A SATISFYING BOLAN COMPILATION, 25 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of T-Rex Volume 1 (Audio CD)
This is one of the best selling Bolan compilations around, and it's easy to understand why: the packaging is attractive, it's pricey and it includes many of Bolan's best known songs.
However, even if this album includes great T-Rex tracks, my opinion is that it is not the ideal T-Rex compilation, as it only includes tracks recorded between 1972 and 1977. This means that there is no Hot Love, no Get It On, no Jeepster, no Ride A White Swan. Obviously, there is not a single track from Bolan's best original album "Electric Warrior" as it was recorded in 1971.
Note also that the 1973 hit "The Groover" has cheekily been saved for the Vol. 2 that is the companion set to this album. (That album, by the way, is not a "Best of".compilation at all!)
In case you want to buy a T-Rex compilation, this is an OK alternative if you're short of money. My advice is that you get "The Essential Collection" (Polygram) instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating, 9 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The Best of T-Rex Volume 1 (Audio CD)
It might at first seem churlish to criticise The Best of T. Rex Volume 1 given that it begins with 5 thrilling Top 5 UK singles: 'Telegram Sam'; 'Metal Guru'; 'Children Of The Revolution'; 'Solid Gold Easy Action', and '20th Century Boy'. But this digitally remastered, budget-priced 20 song tribute to these hit-making, mascara-wearing, 20th century glam rockers- led by the born pop star Marc Bolan - doesn't really work. It isn't - as you would perhaps expect from its utilitarian title and bracing start - a straightforward run-through their greatest hits. It is - as its credits helpfully make slightly clearer - a broadly chronological compilation bringing together singles, associated B-sides and album-only tracks. As well as being somewhat misleadingly-titled this hotchpotch is also hamstrung by the fact that it isn't career-spanning: it only includes tracks recorded between 1972 and 1977. That means it doesn't feature their four scintillating Top 10 hit singles of the early-1970s: 'Hot Love'; 'Get It On'; 'Jeepster', and 'Ride A White Swan'. And it also means there is also no sign of 'Debora' or 'She Was Born To Be My Unicorn' - the best songs from their markedly less commercially successful pre-glam 1960s existence as the folk-y Tyrannosaurus Rex. Those errors of omission are compounded by the decision to include a trio of weak mid-70s flops - 'London Boys`, 'Laser Love', 'Celebrate Summer' - towards the back half of this deeply uneven collection.

The companion set from the usually solid, if unspectacular Music Club imprint - The Best Of T. Rex Volume 2 - isn't much better. But then nearly all of the very many T Rex compilations available have their downsides. However, 2002's The Essential Collection: 25th Anniversary Edition does provide a more consistently engaging listen that better shows off this sometimes erratic group than this frustrating CD does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars T-Rex, 23 Dec. 2010
By 
J. R. Fowler (Greater London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of T-Rex Volume 1 (Audio CD)
T-Rex. Fronted by Bolan who seemed to be the antithesis of true rock, the group carved out a niche which none could top. Over a driving beat Bolan's voice floats out - never to be mistaken for anybody else's - which led to chart topping singles one after another. T-Rex still sound ahead of their time and would be a fine antidote to the dross we have to listen to these days, if they were still extant. I have played this repeatedly since snatching it from the Amazon packaging, and I have a different favourite song each time. Listening to this CD is not hard work, and neither is it lift music. It's laid back yet strangely persistent and will worm its way into your head. A terrific buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get it on, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
bart4books "db" (bristol, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of T-Rex Volume 1 (Audio CD)
Marc Bolan was a prolific and consistently good songwriter and had an immediately recognisable inimitable style. This CD is packed with great tracks but I recommend you get Get it On:The Collection as well to get the complete picture and more to the point Get it On, Ride a White Swan and Jeepster. No collection should be called Best Of without these tracks. Unfortunately you do not appear to be able to get any CD with it all on and this gets 4 stars because of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of T-Rex Volume 1 (Audio CD)
the music is from my era and have always been a fan of marc bolanwould recommend to anyone of my age group,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blast from the past, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of T-Rex Volume 1 (Audio CD)
bought as a xmas gift, lovely blast from the past for all over 50's go back to your teenage years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure weither I like this., 21 Feb. 2013
By 
John Morris "Moggies3" (Scarborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of T-Rex Volume 1 (Audio CD)
I thought my music collection was missing T.REX but now I purchased this I realise why I hadn't any originals. I think their popularity was more about fashion than music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars T-REX VOLUME I, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of T-Rex Volume 1 (Audio CD)
I was rather disappointed with this cd as I was expecting to hear more of his hits. This will not however deter me from purchasing other T-REX cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born to boogie, 5 Jun. 2008
By 
Rachel Bridgeman (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of T-Rex Volume 1 (Audio CD)
I bought this for my daughter-ahemm-on her 11th birthday because of the 'Billy Elliot' effect.
She hummed 'We love to boogie' so much we boughtn this hoping she would play it out but we found ourselves quietly-cough-singing along and knowing more of the words than we expected or were prepared to previously admit we knew.
A good basic compialtion to have in your collection if you like the Seventies-Life on Mars went some way to getting my husband and I to forgive the terrible wrongs the era did us and the selection is better than you'd think.
Really it needs to be spread over the two albums as there are more hits than you think along with songs you don't know and enough variety that might make you buy some of T-rex's other albums.
All in all a good buy, now we just have to stop her humming 'Agadoo' without buying it and track down the person responsible for playing it to her and punish them harshly..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars marc., 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of T-Rex Volume 1 (Audio CD)
cd arrived ahead of time,well packaged and a welcome trip down memory lane when i played it.a must for all you t rex fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of T-Rex Volume 1
The Best of T-Rex Volume 1 by Marc Bolan & T Rex (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews