Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£47.95+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2002
I remember this coming out about 4 years ago and buying it on a whim, and being completely bowled over buy it, not to mention smug about what a good buy it was. The title sums the album up very well - many songs do sound 'like the weather'. Strange. Many great tracks on here, but the soulful 'feeling', blistering fuzz-funk of 'Blue Grace', the sparse and icey sounding 'knew', and the northern soul stomper 'Won't you be my baby?' are the real standouts. Like many of the greats, this album has a wide range of influences, that comes from a life spent inside headphones, and manages to incorporate many genres (as is the fashion these days), yet has a sound all of its own. I remember someone saying that this is the album Tricky should have made between Maxinquaye and PMT, and I can't think of a better way to recommend it. Brilliant.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2006
I first saw Leila on a short Channel 4 documentary the year Like Weather came out. Fortunately I recorded the doco and still have it. The former keyboard player for Bjork (at arguably Bjork's peak), she is super cool and the tunes they played on the doco were simply brilliant. I later bought the album and was not disappointed.

Leila Arab is a genius, or at least close. The tunes on this album range from the funky to the serene. Space, love, Underwaters & Melodicore are timeless classics, which I'm sure will still sound modern in twenty years time. The tunes featuring Luca are funky yet oddly understated. You feel like they could belt out more, but that would make them more commercial. Commercial is what I get the feeling Leila aches to avoid. Unjustly she did avoid fame with this album, which frankly is a travesty. My feeling is that in time, she'll do a Nick Drake and get discovered by a far off generation from her contemporarys'. Hopefully she'll be around to get the plaudits and the cash that will come her way when this happens.
22 comments2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2003
I first saw Leila on a short Channel 4 documentary the year Like Weather came out. Fortunately I recorded the doco and still have it. The former keyboard player for Bjork (at arguably Bjork's peak), she is super cool and the tunes they played on the doco were simply brilliant. I later bought the album and was not disappointed.
Leila Arab is a genius, or at least close. The tunes on this album range from the funky to the serene. Space, love, Underwaters & Melodicore are timeless classics, which I'm sure will still sound modern in twenty years time. The tunes featuring Luca are funky yet oddly understated. You feel like they could belt out more, but that would make them more commercial. Commercial is what I get the feeling Leila aches to avoid. Unjustly she did avoid fame with this album, which frankly is a travesty. My feeling is that in time, she'll do a Nick Drake and get discovered by a far off generation from her contemporarys'. Hopefully she'll be around to get the plaudits and the cash that will come her way when this happens.
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
fantastic album by Leila who played keyboards on Bjork's early albums, this is a very good cd & hard to find - 10/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
This IS Leila's first album. Excellent
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2000
Leila, was playing keyboards with Björk, and it is not the only thing she has in common with the fabulous Islandic singer. The music on Like Weather have got something strange, something unreal. Leila doesn't sing, it is other people like her friend Luka or her sister (who was the first singer of Archive), but her music is over the voices, each sound is a orgasm. This record is a revolution because of the production very original. Leila use effects like nobody did it before, and take a big pleasure to destroy the sounds ,that when you listen the record, the first thing that come at your mind is : "is my cd player broke?". No it's just the sound of future.
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2005
beautiful music. very atmospheric and moody in parts. very dark sometimes, but always beautiful and with a groovey undertone of trip-hop and hints of soul... great, interesting and captivating mixture of sounds and lyrics, just as you'd expect from someone who works with bjork. give it a try with a glass of red wine and a minxy friend. enjoy, M
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
Nice
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£19.95
£21.26

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.