Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly different album from the dynamic duo.
Just looking at the album cover you know you're in for something a little bit different from Karen and Richard. Passage is a surprising departure from the usual Carpenters sound and has a creative spark/energy which was sorely lacking in their preceeding album, A Kind of Hush.

An eclectic mix of jazz (B'wanna She No Home), reggae (the either love it or loathe...
Published on 21 Sep 2002 by Graeme Edwards

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a messy album
This could have been a much better album if it was thought through better, and better choices were made. Why on earth the lovely ballad 'You're the one' was left off is beyond me. Also if all the traditional Carpenters style songs were put on one side of the then LP and then newer stuff put together on the other then maybe it would have flowed better. The album opens with...
Published 17 months ago by dutch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly different album from the dynamic duo., 21 Sep 2002
This review is from: PASSAGE (Audio CD)
Just looking at the album cover you know you're in for something a little bit different from Karen and Richard. Passage is a surprising departure from the usual Carpenters sound and has a creative spark/energy which was sorely lacking in their preceeding album, A Kind of Hush.

An eclectic mix of jazz (B'wanna She No Home), reggae (the either love it or loathe it Man Smart Woman Smarter), country (Sweet Sweet Smile), ballads (I Just Fall In Love Again and Two Sides), "rock opera" (Don't Cry For Me Argentina) and classic pop (All You Get From Love Is A Love Song), Passage demonstrates the sheer musical versatilty of the Carpenters.
Throw in the astounding Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft and you have a refreshingly different addition to your Carpenter's album collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing musical pot-pourri from Karen and Richard, 3 Jun 2013
This review is from: PASSAGE (Audio CD)
A real oddity this one - the closest thing the Carpenters have done to a concept album, the concept being the wholesome duo showing off their eclectic musical tastes and probably scaring a few fans in the process. The album is notable for two tracks - Don't Cry For Me Argentina and Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft. The former is an astonishing version of the signature tune from Evita - forget Julie Covington and Madonna, Karen Carpenter absolutely nails this piece, helped along by a lush arrangement of the uncredited Los Angeles Philharmonic. Calling Occupants is the charmingly dippy Klaatu pop sci-fi cover that had fans writing in to ask when World Contact Day was being held. (Trivia buffs note, it was in 1953 - E.T. and his friends evidently had bigger fish to fry.) Elsewhere we get tracks covering Latin jazz, country and calypso, as well as a few ballads (this is a Carpenters album after all). Overall this is something of a love-it-or-hate-it affair, but for me it gives a tantalising glimpse of the Carpenters' musical versatility, sadly never to be repeated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A unique blend of traditional Carpenters and new material, 15 Oct 2000
By 
T. Haskell "Karate Novice" (Olney, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PASSAGE (Audio CD)
Passage is probably the last of the Carpenters' non-compilation releases and features a blend of traditional Carpenters melodies, interpretations of other artists work ("Don't Cry For Me Argentina" hauntingly sung by Karen) and the stunning "Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft" - the internationally accepted anthem for World Contact Day.
I first heard this album on vinyl and have been looking for it on CD for many years - if you're a Carpenters fan, then this one is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carpenters Passage, 27 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Passage (MP3 Download)
I'm buying these Carpenters albums again, as I have the audio tapes, and want to have digital versions, but this album, was cheaper to download, so did that and burned a CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's a messy album, 18 May 2013
This review is from: PASSAGE (Audio CD)
This could have been a much better album if it was thought through better, and better choices were made. Why on earth the lovely ballad 'You're the one' was left off is beyond me. Also if all the traditional Carpenters style songs were put on one side of the then LP and then newer stuff put together on the other then maybe it would have flowed better. The album opens with a song that they really shouldn't have touched, 'B'wanna she no home', it's really not that interesting!

'All you get from a love song' is a great arrangement by Richard, and when compared to the dreadful version I have by it's composer, Steve Eaton, I have more respect for the Carpenters version, although it really wasn't a single release for the UK market. 'I just fall in love again' would have been a better choice of single, but it does sound like Karen is not really putting her all into the song. Just listen to Anne Murray's far superior version.

What on earth they were thinking when recording the cod-opera intro to 'Don't cry for me Argentina' is beyond me. The actual song is well sung by Karen, but again the wrong choice of material for the Carpenters. From here we get 2 great songs, and maybe a taster of what they might have been recording if their career went further on into the 1980's.'Sweet, sweet smile' is brilliant and 'Two sides' is lovely. Oh well, that was short lived.............

'Man smart, woman smarter'............what were they thinking! And even though 'Calling Occupants' was a hit in the UK, it's not really a Carpenters song, and their arrangement is identical to the Klaatu original. Just to put Richard right here as well, which he should have known better as he was a Klaatu and Sci-fi fan, there was a world contact day, it was the 15th March 1953, and the lyrics of the song are based on the message sent, hence 'the recognised anthem of world contact day' part.

It's really an album of 'hits' and miss's'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Asuperb mixture a very underated album, 12 Aug 2011
By 
M. A. J. Forsyth-grant "stourmids" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PASSAGE (Audio CD)
Passge by carpenters is one of my all time favourite albums by carpenters.It is just so diverse in its tracks such as b,wana she no home very jazzy and seductive of course karens superb voice shines whatever she sings.My favourite has to be two sides just a gorgeous tune with a gorgeous voice such as karen carpenters to sing it.Overall a very diverse album which i think couldve sent carpenters into a different musical direction sadly it was a short one.Just a great album fantastic production and music manship i will always love this album from two very clever singer songwriters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PASSAGE (Audio CD)
IT WAS DELIVERED IN GOOD TIME AND WAS NICE TO HEAR THE CARPENTERS AGAIN MANY THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PASSAGE (Audio CD)
Nice one ta
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PASSAGE
PASSAGE by Carpenters (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews