Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Then, Great Now----But bruised in transit
This is my favorite Carpenters CD. It's impeccable in every way. I especially love the "Top-40 Radio approach" to the oldies but goodies. It's an absolute thrill to hear the one and only Karen croon "Our Day Will Come" and the other great blasts from the past. And, as always, Richard and Karen leave no detail out, first-class all the way. The guy who does the DJ voice is...
Published on 10 Dec 2009 by John P. Pripusich

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lovely songs, wrong chronology
Great, great songs, but for some reason, songs chronology has been mixed up, so the "story" in the songs has gone lost. Epic blunder!!

After having recorded the album to harddrive, I have arranged the songs in the original order again, and now the songs "make sense" again.

5 stars for music, 3 for arrangement blunder..
Published on 24 Dec 2012 by C. Larsen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Then, Great Now----But bruised in transit, 10 Dec 2009
By 
John P. Pripusich "Jack P." (Glen Ellyn, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now & Then (Audio CD)
This is my favorite Carpenters CD. It's impeccable in every way. I especially love the "Top-40 Radio approach" to the oldies but goodies. It's an absolute thrill to hear the one and only Karen croon "Our Day Will Come" and the other great blasts from the past. And, as always, Richard and Karen leave no detail out, first-class all the way. The guy who does the DJ voice is really funny and authentic, too. I had the LP way in the 70's, and the CD lives up to the very high standard that the original album set. It is clear, bright, and brilliant.
While I rate this absolute top shelf CD 5 stars... I can only give two stars for the shipping and handling. I ordered two copies (so I could give one as a gift)...Both copies..NO SHRINKWRAP! Does that mean USED??? The two "jewel cases" were badly scratched in transit (or BEFORE???)...Such that I a) Don't want to present as a gift a CD that looks like it might be used b) Certainly don't want to give a scratched-up product of ANY KIND as a gift. So, jot me down as THRILLED with the incredible recording quality and Carpenters' talent......and LET DOWN by way sub-par handling of this valuable gem! It was like getting a Rolex wrapped in last nights newspaper! (Is it standard procedure for CD's sold in the UK to have NO SHRINKWRAP? If so, WHY? I applaud conservation, etc...but let's not overdo it!)And if it IS USED...Let's say so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Rudolph - you are right !!!, 23 Nov 2006
By 
S. C. Trump "stevect" (Upminster, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now & Then (Audio CD)
This album is in my view the best original album the Carpenters ever recorded (i.e. not a compilation). Every track is a winner. Here's the rundown...

Sing - Joe Raposos uplifing singalong complete with childrens choir never fails to lift the spirits. Those Carpenters mushy harmonies are right to the fore here too.

This Masquerade - Another classic song written by Leon Russell. Karens vocal reaches right into the words which were very effectively used in the Karen Carpenter story film to overlay her brief marriage.

Heather - Think of the tune ' Sleepy Shores' and this Johnny Pearson instrumental is in the same vein. Lush orchestral passages build the music to a moving crescendo. A wonderful middle track to what was side one of the original lp.

Jambalaya - A country and western flavored 'yee-hah' type song is in complete contrast to other songs on this album but is all the better for it.

I can't make music - For me the most underrated Carpenters track ever recorded. It doesn't appear on any compilations and I have never heard it on the radio. Karens vocals are superb and soar in the final chorus. A hidden gem.

Yesterday once more - Soundtrack of a lifetime; Richard Carpenter & John Bettis' only original track on the album needs no eulogies here. An absolute classic.

Mdeley - We then had most of side two of the album taken up with a sequence of cover versions of big hits from 1963. Guitarist Tony Peluso provides the DJ interludes to each track and also the 'Guess the golden oldie' mystery quiz. An unfortunate chap called Mark Rudolph gets to take part and unfortunately guesses the mystery voice incorrectly as the Four Seasons. At this response, Tony the DJ proclaims "Mark Rudolph, you are WRONG !!!". The cover songs include golden goodies such as 'Fun fun fun', 'One fine day', 'Our day will come', 'Johnny Angel' and best of all Karens moving rendition of the Skeeter Davis track 'The end of the World'. The final notes of 'Our day will come' disappear down a murky tunnel and fading back in is a slowed down version of 'Yesterday once more' with the line 'When I was young I'd listen to the radio' repeated several times before itself fading to nothing.

Quite simply a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite Carpenters albums, 18 May 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Now & Then (Audio CD)
As originally released on vinyl, side two (presumably the Then side) began with Yesterday once more, a huge international hit that also served as a mood-setting song for the next track, which was an eight-song medley of sixties classics. That side closed with a brief reprise of Yesterday once more. Side 1 of the original vinyl album (presumably the Now side) was more conventional, as it featured the classic songs Jambalaya, Sing and This masquerade, together with the less famous but also excellent Heather and I can't make music.

Jambalaya is a cover of the oft-recorded Hank Williams country classic. Jo Stafford had a huge American pop hit with it not long after Hank's original was a huge country hit. The song was also an American pop hit for John Fogerty (from his album of country songs, Blue ridge rangers). That version was only about a year old when this album was released, so the Carpenters didn't release Jambalaya as a single in America, but they did in Britain where it became a big hit, just missing the top ten.

Although I started by describing the second half of the album first, the CD version starts, as you'd expect, with the original side one, with side two following. The impact of the title is lessened on CD, as there are no longer two sides, but the quality is still all there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Their Commercial Peak, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now & Then (Audio CD)
Very much an album of 2 sides. Side one is a standard 5 track layout with the Sing & Jambalaya singles, beautiful readings of Leon Russell's This Masquerade and Randy (Uptown Uptempo Woman) Edelman's I Can't Make Music. There's also Heather, a beautiful instrumental from Richard (oh that he would have produced more such instrumentals - there would have been room on many a later Carpenters album for them as from here on studio albums from the duo often ran to only a paltry 8 to 10 tracks).
Side two of the original album runs as a medley through Yesterday Once More into a selection of covers of their teenage jukebox favourites. In this day and age, one imagines a couple of these being extracted from the medley and reworked as stand alone singles. I certainly would have loved more than 100 seconds of their version of the Chiffons' One Fine Day.
Some wonderful moments on this album. They sustained this standard as far as their next album Horizon before the quality started to falter. So sit back and enjoy Karen's unsurpassed voice and Richard's superb arrangements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lovely songs, wrong chronology, 24 Dec 2012
By 
C. Larsen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now & Then (Audio CD)
Great, great songs, but for some reason, songs chronology has been mixed up, so the "story" in the songs has gone lost. Epic blunder!!

After having recorded the album to harddrive, I have arranged the songs in the original order again, and now the songs "make sense" again.

5 stars for music, 3 for arrangement blunder..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all-time favourite albums, 22 Jun 2003
This review is from: Now & Then (Audio CD)
Now and Then is a fantastic album. It shows off the talents of The Carpenters superbly. There are so many great songs on the album, and the musical arrangements are so tasteful. The suite of pieces originally put together for the second side of a gramophone record, beginning and ending with Yesterday Once More, includes some of the best interpretations of those old songs from the 60s you are ever likely to hear, and the recording quality is a lot better than on the original versions.
My favourite song is This Masquerade, which sounds great whether it is performed by the writer Leon Russell, or in a great guitar version by George Benson. But The Carpenters version features Karen's unique voice and a terrific ensemble of musicians in one of the best musical arrangements I have heard.
I also love Heather: the Johnny Pearson instrumental. [Pearson also wrote the memorable theme to All Creatures Great And Small, the TV version of James Herriot's books.]
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blast From The Past..., 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now & Then (Audio CD)
The Carpenters' retro take on a groovy DJ's play-list is hilarious. Still, it sent me googling for lyrics of half-a-dozen classics.

I was astonished to learn that the eponymous 'Dead Man's Curve' in the song was a real location in LA that claimed many lives due to its contrary camber etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 22 Mar 2006
This review is from: Now & Then (Audio CD)
This album is one of the best albums of all time. YESTERDAY ONCE MORE (along with ONLY YESTERDAY) has got to be the finest pop song ever written. The Carpenters' recording of THIS MASQUERADE has got to be the definitive version. This is just a must own album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok! Not what I remember!, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now & Then (Audio CD)
Some of The Carpenters best known and most popular tracks with a segued radio show completing the CD, but it's very short in terms of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Fun, Fun, 25 May 2014
By 
Mr. Peter Steward "petersteward" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now & Then (Audio CD)
There is a wonderfully fun quality to Now and Then. I have always been a succour for 1960s/70s American radio. It was so fresh and so inventive and here Richard Carpenter's ability as an arranger finds new ground. The medley takes us back to American carefree teenage years and gives an unbelievably fresh take to a special and very typical genre. Add to this fine songs like "Sing", "Yesterday Once More" and another wonderful Leon Russell song in This Masquerade and you have another top top Carpenters album and possibly the final one to fit into the laid back fun and lush pop style before ill health and problems began to erupt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now & Then
Now & Then by Carpenters (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews