Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much needed round up of nearly everything they released., 15 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Whered You Learn to Kiss (Audio CD)
One of the UK's most underrated bands, this long overdue relese Takes in everything from 1988's "Emma's House" ep to 1991's "For Keeps" Album; just about everything they released on the Sarah label, bar 10 or so tracks. An eclectic mix of styles, from the acoustic loveliness of "Willow" to the New Order-styled "Missing the Moon", ensures that most indie fans will find something here to cherish. My own personal faves are "White", with what sounds like a thousand guitar overdubs, and "So Said Kay", a hopelessly romantic paen to love from which the compilation takes it's title. All wrapped up in a lavish mini-album-type sleeve with a useful potted history of the band to boot, the release of this means that we can now give that worn out vinyl a well deserved rest. Simply beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indie of the best kind, 1 Jun 2011
This review is from: Whered You Learn to Kiss (Audio CD)
Whether its called Dream Pop,Twee or Quiet Pop it all adds up to what real Indie is about
Annemari Davis would probably be thrown off the X Factor today but then Simon whatever his surname is-prefers ugly middle age Scots women whose only experience was singing at the Church Social.
Its the real sound of the 90s and while some of the singles charted in Indie the pop charts was an unknown region simply because the Field Mice were never plugged on the mainstream.
When you hear music like this you wonder what was so special about all these corporate acts like the Pretenders or the Thompson Twins.
However the Field Mice kept at it forming the Northern Picture Library and signing to Vinyl Japan (en English label despite the name suggesting otherwise) and over the years various ex members continued to issue records up to 1999
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ....excellent tracks from the TBS's earlier incarnation..., 16 Jan 2002
By 
Paul Blaney "blazctid" (Herts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whered You Learn to Kiss (Audio CD)
..."Where d'you learn to kiss that way" gives you ~36 excellent tracks from the TBS's earlier incarnation, the excellent Field Mice. Basically, this is the Field Mices' back catalogue (bar 9 tracks) from Sarah records. To buy the individual releases (if you could find them all) would cost a great deal of money.... Save yourself some money and buy this compilation. If you are reading this, you are already curious. Don't hold back and trust me, the songs contained therein are of wonderous beauty.
Having been an ardent follower of the Field Mice when they were around, I'm lucky to have 8 of the 9 tracks not contained on this CD ("world to me" being the one missing). Some of these 8 deserve to be on the compilation, a couple don't, but which tracks would you replace, as each CD is crammed to capacity.
BUY, BUY, BUY.
Treat yourself.
Paul B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply great!, 1 Feb 2001
By 
This review is from: Whered You Learn to Kiss (Audio CD)
I don't know why, but this collection gives me the chills. It is simply superb! It's just one of those albums that is great and you don't have to wonder why...it simply is... Makes me happy and even dance! Buy buy buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you need someone to hold you, 6 Oct 2003
By 
Rob Burns (Datchet, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whered You Learn to Kiss (Audio CD)
Okay, I confess I haven't heard all of the tracks on this album so possibly I have no right to review it. However, I can honestly say that Let's Kiss and Make Up and If you Need Someone are pure indie classics, up there with the best of The Smiths or the Sundays.
So if you're a jaded romantic (in love with a world that could have been/ will never be ) buy this Fied Mice album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection of songs by an unknown band, 29 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Whered You Learn to Kiss (Audio CD)
A great box set of songs, though I must admit that I do not know much about this group. The style sould seem to vary from a mix of almost Belle and Sebastian type songs, quite quiet and melodic, to ones using New Order style drum machines nad synths. Sounds like a strange combination admittedly, but it works well and the end result is some of the nicest music I have heard in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Pop Pleasure., 3 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Whered You Learn to Kiss (Audio CD)
This is one of the best value CDs I've ever come across. I bought it on a whim attracted by the compactly packaged two disc set and although on first listen the songs seemed a little too twee, I soon discovered that this is their charm.
Like Morrissey before him Bob Wratten, the Field Mice's songwriter isnt afraid to go against the current trends and open up his heart. It's a gamble, but one which pays off. This is pure dreamy pop music of the best kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't go thinking I never did love you, 18 Sep 2003
This review is from: Whered You Learn to Kiss (Audio CD)
Pleasent, gentle and very often uninspiring compositions make up this collection. So why the five stars? It could be for "And before the first kiss" which is heartbreakingly sad and it would be had the Field Mice not topped it with "Willow" - which is one of the most touching laments you will ever hear. Believe me, it is one of those tracks worth buying a whole album for and will reasonate with so many people.
"I told you things that turned out to be untrue. When I said them I meant them..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whered You Learn to Kiss
Whered You Learn to Kiss by Field Mice (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews