Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars73
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2000
I bought this album on the strength of one song (You Do Something To Me). Had I realised how amazing this album is, my justification of buying it would have been more substantial. If you're thinking about buying it, don't think at all. Just buy it knowing that you'll be missing out on a compilation album of one of the best songwriters of the past couple of decades. I simply can't speak highly enough of this album!
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 May 2015
This wonderful greatest hits package from 1998, collects together most of the legendary Paul Weller's solo singles from 1991's 'Into Tomorrow' to his then current hit 'Brand New Start', and everything in between, several of which never made it onto his studio albums. Four tracks from Paul's excellent 1995 release 'Stanley Road' appear, 'Out of the Sinking', 'The Changingman', 'You Do Something to Me' and 'Broken Stones', all of them major hit singles. This is a very comprehensive overview of good old rock-and-roll music, mixed in with stylish R + B and soul. Whilst I can't say that every track here is standout, but when it's good, believe me, it's excellent.

This album is beautifully packaged with a booklet that contains some great pictures, memorabilia, information about where and when each of the tracks were recorded, as well as a message at the end from the big man himself.

Here with have distinctively British music that is perfect music for the Summer, Winter, Spring and Fall too, it's timeless. If you are looking for a good overview of Paul's work as a master singer/songwriter without his bands The Jam and The Style Council, 'Modern Classics: The Greatest Hits' is the album to buy. From here, you should progress onto last year's More Modern Classics release, which features highlights over the following 15 years. Cheers Mr. Weller - please keep the music coming Sir!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2010
Love Paul Weller, especially his later stuff. Never downloaded a full album before and it was easy peasy!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Lovers of bluesy rock, with occasional folky flavours, are certain to find plenty to enjoy on this collection of Paul Weller's 1990's output with the likes of 'Peacock Suit', 'Sunflower', 'Wild Wood', 'Hung Up', 'The Changingman', 'Out Of The Sinking', 'You Do Something To Me', 'Broken Stones' and many more besides. This compilation serves as a very decent introduction to Weller's solo work and his excellent solo albums such as 'Wild Wood' and 'Stanley Road'. Highly recommended and very good value for money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2010
Paul Weller's status as the most resilient survivor from Britpunk's class of `76 was challenged by his last album of original songs. Whether Weller's fire had really gone out or he'd merely succumbed to midlife doldrums, a refresher was urgently required. Weller can afford to wear his influences on his sleeve because, as this new collection attests, the man remains, ultimately, his own best and truest guide. Modern Classics showcases a songwriter whose singular voice endures; it's grown quieter perhaps, but no less vital or honest.
Born in 1958 and raised in Woking, Paul Weller formed The Jam at 14, who were influenced by The Beatles, Amen Corner and The Small Faces. In 1976 (Weller was 18) after hearing The Who's 'My Generation' and seeing The Sex Pistols play London's Lyceum, Weller found the direction he was looking for and established the blueprint for what would be Britain's biggest band for the next five years. From the release of their debut album 'In The City' through the seminal 'Down In The Tube Station' and 'That's Entertainment' and the classic straight-in-at-number one singles 'Going Underground', 'A Town Called Malice' and 'Beat Surrender', The Jam were a huge critical and commercial success. Weller penned a succession of songs, brilliantly reflecting his audiences experiences, until in 1982, convinced he'd taken the group as far as he could, he split The Jam to form The Style Council. Radically different to The Jam, The Style Council, incorporated touches of funk & soul. While his first solo album had firmly established Paul Weller as a potent solo artist, the second album, 1994's 'Wild Wood', was to see him hailed as one of the finest British songwriters of the last three decades. 1995 found Paul Weller riding high on a heady mix of popularity and critical acclaim leading up to the release of 'Stanley Road'. 'Stanley Road' managed to even outstrip 'Wild Wood' in its critical acclaim.

Having risen from the wreckage of The Style Council to regain his status as an important figure in British music, Weller closes the first chapter of his solo career with this greatest hits set. It's a perfect encapsulation of the harder side of Weller, gritty vocals, water-tight backing and some lovely guitar flourishes. The years have seem Mr Well his temper and look at the world without the blinkers of his adolescent youth. Included on this album we find the softer Weller with haunting guitar solo and the gentle shuffle of ballads. This album reaffirms that Weller can still churn out the nuggets as well as he did in the halcyon days of The Jam. The onset of middle-age has meant he's settled effortlessly into the role of Mod Father of British guitar music. While the tracks may not be invested with the freneticism of yore but they still have the passion and commitment he's invested in everything he's turned his hand to.

As ultimately impossible as it might be for Weller to ever top his tenure with the Jam in terms of watershed artistic achievement or cultish notoriety, you've got to hand it to the guy for trying, or more accurately, for not trying. Weller's never attempted to replicate the sound and fury of that celebrated group who, along with the likes of the Clash and Sex Pistols, ignited a musical revolution in the U.K. that (for a while at least) swept the established dinosaurs of rock to the margins of relevance. Weller can afford to wear his influences on his sleeve because, as this new collection attests, the man remains, ultimately, his own best and truest guide. Modern Classics showcases a songwriter whose singular voice endures; it's grown quieter perhaps, but no less vital or honest. Some twenty years after the Jam boldly announced a new era of "the Modern World," an older, wiser, but seemingly no less satisfied Weller continues to take stock of it. He's still grappling and searching for ways to live in a world that perhaps hasn't turned out to be so terribly different from the old one.

Changing Man Weller delivers on hos own terms sometimes he gets it right somtines he doesent. This is weller at his best
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2009
It's a Weller hits collection....what more is there to say except....brilliant. Now go buy it if you want an overview, all his hits in one place or are just getting into his stuff.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2006
The quality of this collection is stunning - there is not a single duff track. Weller's raw, bluesy style is in evidence everywhere here from the pounding opening bars of 'Out Of the Sinking' and continues throughout, with the exception of the lighter, more 'Style-Council-y' 'Above The Clouds' and the Beatle-esque 'Sunflower' and 'Uh-Huh Oh-Yeh' which actually sit very happily here as a reminder of Weller's range and gift for melody writing. Though it is hard to choose my favourite tracks, the opener, the immortal, beautiful 'You Do Something To Me' and the classy 'Broken Stones' are without equal. Whenever I play this album around the uninitiated, they always end up asking me 'what album is this, it's great!' and I add another convert to the list. These are the kinds of songs that other artists only dream of producing. The guy is a god - and this album deserves every one of its 5 stars. This is music that never ages, dates or bores.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2009
I bought this for my partner, I'm not a Paul Weller fan. But after hearing it I've claimed it. Modern Classics is the right name, it's great.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
I bought this CD for the song "Stones" I was not very aware of Paul Wellers work apart from this. There are many different influences on Paul Wellers music but it also has his own distinctive style superimposed. Each track is a fine example of Modern British Rock music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
I had never really listened to Paul Weller before, until watching him on Youtube singing " You do something to me" and a few other tracks off this album. Absolutely brilliant! If you're thinking of getting a Paul Weller album get this one, you won't regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)