Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding. Simply the best album I've ever purchased
I bought this album on the strength of one song (You Do Something To Me). Had I realised how amazing this album is, my justification of buying it would have been more substantial. If you're thinking about buying it, don't think at all. Just buy it knowing that you'll be missing out on a compilation album of one of the best songwriters of the past couple of decades...
Published on 4 Feb. 2000 by Ashley Cridland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ... first Paul Weller CD most of the tracks are great though there are a few I skip through
My first Paul Weller CD most of the tracks are great though there are a few I skip through, I guess I will buy more of him though next time I might just download the tracks I like, still it's a good CD.
Published 10 months ago by Phil


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding. Simply the best album I've ever purchased, 4 Feb. 2000
By 
Ashley Cridland (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Modern Classics: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the strength of one song (You Do Something To Me). Had I realised how amazing this album is, my justification of buying it would have been more substantial. If you're thinking about buying it, don't think at all. Just buy it knowing that you'll be missing out on a compilation album of one of the best songwriters of the past couple of decades. I simply can't speak highly enough of this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Changingman gets selective...., 30 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Modern Classics: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a tight well compiled and presented compilation containing all Mr Weller's singles from 1992 to 1998. What shows up is a stylish collection of strong songs ranging from the R&B charge of "Peacock Suit" to the soulful "Broken Stones."

"Brand New Start" is an effective addition to this showcase of the man's solo songwriting.

So there's no experimental ambient house in here. So what. Here's an album of great songs played well by one of the UK's best songwriters. Respect due.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab music, 3 Aug. 2010
By 
P. Armstrong (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Paul Weller, especially his later stuff. Never downloaded a full album before and it was easy peasy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Changing Man, 30 Mar. 2010
By 
P. Frizelle (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Modern Classics: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Paul Weller's status as the most resilient survivor from Britpunk's class of `76 was challenged by his last album of original songs. Whether Weller's fire had really gone out or he'd merely succumbed to midlife doldrums, a refresher was urgently required. Weller can afford to wear his influences on his sleeve because, as this new collection attests, the man remains, ultimately, his own best and truest guide. Modern Classics showcases a songwriter whose singular voice endures; it's grown quieter perhaps, but no less vital or honest.
Born in 1958 and raised in Woking, Paul Weller formed The Jam at 14, who were influenced by The Beatles, Amen Corner and The Small Faces. In 1976 (Weller was 18) after hearing The Who's 'My Generation' and seeing The Sex Pistols play London's Lyceum, Weller found the direction he was looking for and established the blueprint for what would be Britain's biggest band for the next five years. From the release of their debut album 'In The City' through the seminal 'Down In The Tube Station' and 'That's Entertainment' and the classic straight-in-at-number one singles 'Going Underground', 'A Town Called Malice' and 'Beat Surrender', The Jam were a huge critical and commercial success. Weller penned a succession of songs, brilliantly reflecting his audiences experiences, until in 1982, convinced he'd taken the group as far as he could, he split The Jam to form The Style Council. Radically different to The Jam, The Style Council, incorporated touches of funk & soul. While his first solo album had firmly established Paul Weller as a potent solo artist, the second album, 1994's 'Wild Wood', was to see him hailed as one of the finest British songwriters of the last three decades. 1995 found Paul Weller riding high on a heady mix of popularity and critical acclaim leading up to the release of 'Stanley Road'. 'Stanley Road' managed to even outstrip 'Wild Wood' in its critical acclaim.

Having risen from the wreckage of The Style Council to regain his status as an important figure in British music, Weller closes the first chapter of his solo career with this greatest hits set. It's a perfect encapsulation of the harder side of Weller, gritty vocals, water-tight backing and some lovely guitar flourishes. The years have seem Mr Well his temper and look at the world without the blinkers of his adolescent youth. Included on this album we find the softer Weller with haunting guitar solo and the gentle shuffle of ballads. This album reaffirms that Weller can still churn out the nuggets as well as he did in the halcyon days of The Jam. The onset of middle-age has meant he's settled effortlessly into the role of Mod Father of British guitar music. While the tracks may not be invested with the freneticism of yore but they still have the passion and commitment he's invested in everything he's turned his hand to.

As ultimately impossible as it might be for Weller to ever top his tenure with the Jam in terms of watershed artistic achievement or cultish notoriety, you've got to hand it to the guy for trying, or more accurately, for not trying. Weller's never attempted to replicate the sound and fury of that celebrated group who, along with the likes of the Clash and Sex Pistols, ignited a musical revolution in the U.K. that (for a while at least) swept the established dinosaurs of rock to the margins of relevance. Weller can afford to wear his influences on his sleeve because, as this new collection attests, the man remains, ultimately, his own best and truest guide. Modern Classics showcases a songwriter whose singular voice endures; it's grown quieter perhaps, but no less vital or honest. Some twenty years after the Jam boldly announced a new era of "the Modern World," an older, wiser, but seemingly no less satisfied Weller continues to take stock of it. He's still grappling and searching for ways to live in a world that perhaps hasn't turned out to be so terribly different from the old one.

Changing Man Weller delivers on hos own terms sometimes he gets it right somtines he doesent. This is weller at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great!!!!!!!!!!!!, 3 Jun. 2009
By 
S. K. FLORA (Sutton Coldfield,U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Modern Classics: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
It's a Weller hits collection....what more is there to say except....brilliant. Now go buy it if you want an overview, all his hits in one place or are just getting into his stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never out of the CD changer, 4 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Modern Classics: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The quality of this collection is stunning - there is not a single duff track. Weller's raw, bluesy style is in evidence everywhere here from the pounding opening bars of 'Out Of the Sinking' and continues throughout, with the exception of the lighter, more 'Style-Council-y' 'Above The Clouds' and the Beatle-esque 'Sunflower' and 'Uh-Huh Oh-Yeh' which actually sit very happily here as a reminder of Weller's range and gift for melody writing. Though it is hard to choose my favourite tracks, the opener, the immortal, beautiful 'You Do Something To Me' and the classy 'Broken Stones' are without equal. Whenever I play this album around the uninitiated, they always end up asking me 'what album is this, it's great!' and I add another convert to the list. These are the kinds of songs that other artists only dream of producing. The guy is a god - and this album deserves every one of its 5 stars. This is music that never ages, dates or bores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 8 Aug. 2009
By 
Pamela (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Classics: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this for my partner, I'm not a Paul Weller fan. But after hearing it I've claimed it. Modern Classics is the right name, it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Classics: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for the song "Stones" I was not very aware of Paul Wellers work apart from this. There are many different influences on Paul Wellers music but it also has his own distinctive style superimposed. Each track is a fine example of Modern British Rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Weller - Modern Classics, 6 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Classics: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I had never really listened to Paul Weller before, until watching him on Youtube singing " You do something to me" and a few other tracks off this album. Absolutely brilliant! If you're thinking of getting a Paul Weller album get this one, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 15 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Modern Classics: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the day of the release and it is still in my CD player to this day. This is quite possibly the finest album ever made - especially the limited edition Modern Classics with bonus Live Classics CD. The first track, Out Of The Sinking sets up the feel of the album and every track is a piece of sheer class. It is easy to see why Paul Weller is one of the most respected figures in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Modern Classics: The Greatest Hits
Modern Classics: The Greatest Hits by Paul Weller (Audio CD - 2006)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 10 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews