Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Graduate" - The Film That Defined My Generation
I don't know if every generation has one particular film that defines it, but Mike Nichols' "The Graduate" is the one which defines mine. This masterpiece, with its themes of alienation, idealism, social consciousness, cultural and generation gaps, and the extraordinary music of Simon & Garfunkel, brings back strong and poignant memories of life in the late 1960s and...
Published on 4 Mar 2005 by Jana L. Perskie

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, surrealistic, narcissistic nonsense.
How to evaluate such a film in star credit ratings? On the one hand, one could take it as a sideswipe at US city culture, on the other as simply high-farce comedy on the rampage. At showing what empty lives these people lead it wins hands down. So, let's just leave it at that and give a non-committal three stars.
Published 10 months ago by Wilberfalse


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Graduate" - The Film That Defined My Generation, 4 Mar 2005
This review is from: The Graduate [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I don't know if every generation has one particular film that defines it, but Mike Nichols' "The Graduate" is the one which defines mine. This masterpiece, with its themes of alienation, idealism, social consciousness, cultural and generation gaps, and the extraordinary music of Simon & Garfunkel, brings back strong and poignant memories of life in the late 1960s and early '70s. Many of the issues the movie addresses, however, are still relevant today.
Benjamin Braddock, (superbly portrayed by Dustin Hoffman), has just graduated from college. A confused young man who is awkwardly making the transition between adolescence to adulthood, he is totally unsure of what to do with his future, let alone what to do next. As the film begins, the Braddocks are throwing a party for their son, the successful new grad. All his parents' financially secure and affluent friends are there to celebrate. Benjamin is not one of the happy participants, however. He returns to his room as if it were the womb, and watches the aquarium. It seems as if he longs for comfort and clarity, but doesn't know how to express himself or whom to ask. He attempts to talk with his father to no avail. He will spend much of the summer like this, contemplating the tropical fish and his future - which he sure doesn't want to be "in plastics."
Benjamin is expected to enter the bland suburban Californian society that his folks move in, filled with unhappy relationships, materialistic brinkmanship, and manicured lawns. He doesn't know what he wants to do, but he definitely knows what he doesn't want. Enter the famous Mrs. Robinson, and may I say BRAVO Anne Bancroft! Bored and unfulfilled, she is married to Benjamin's father's business partner. She obviously feels that Ben can temporarily alleviate her situation when she seduces him - or attempts to. He is initially unbelieving and reluctant, but persuadable. Filled with self-loathing, he continues the affair, which only punctuates his ineptness and his emptiness.
Elaine Robinson, (Katherine Ross), daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Robinson, is about to come home from college. Benjamin is forbidden to date her, by his lover, who happens to be her mother. Talk about incestuous! Of course the now jaded Benjamin and the fresh, lovely Elaine will go out, fall in love, and you'll have to see the movie for the rest. The conclusion is brilliant.
Anne Bancroft, in her gorgeous prime, is perfect as Mrs. Robinson. She is also sad, sarcastic, manipulative, at times really b*tchy, brittle in her beauty, and vulnerable in the role. If it were real life I would have asked her what she was doing with the virginal nerd, when she could do so much better!
The film holds up so well today, not only because of the brilliant acting, direction and screenplay, but because the Graduate's problems are not dissimilar from what many youths experience now. Nichols won the Best Director award for this movie. His pacing is fluid, and his imagery metaphorical, at times chillingly so. Writers Buck Henry and Calder Willingham, (working from Charles Webb's novel), did a remarkable job with their satirical, off-beat screenplay. Simon and Garfunkel songs, including "Scarborough Fair" and "The Sounds of Silence," give the film a wonderful lyrical tone.
A five-minute interview with Dustin Hoffman and a fascinating documentary "The Graduate at 25" make up the extra features on the DVD, along with a limited edition 64-page book with production notes and a collection of articles and reviews from the original theatrical release.
I remember watching "The Graduate" for the first time in 1968, and really relating. What can I say? I was young! Naive as this may sound, I did identify with the feelings stirred by the movie and performances. I still do, very much...no matter how retro. Now after almost 40 years, this is a classic!
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's to you, Mrs. Robinson, 25 Nov 2003
By 
Dennis Littrell (SoCal/NorCal/Maui) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Graduate [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is one of the defining films of my generation, and of course I saw it when it came out in 1967. Seeing it again after all these years I was struck by both how funny it is and by the brittle, cynical and brilliant performance by Anne Bancroft as Mrs. Robinson. She really is flawless in a part that might easily lend itself to overacting. Instead she is subtle, controlled, focused, and authentic in a way that is both sexy and chilling with just a hint of ironic humor. The maternal manner with which she treats virginal Benjamin Braddock (Dustin Hoffman in a breakout role) emphasizes the creepy, almost incestuous nature of their sterile affair.
Mike Nichols has directed a number of sexual/relationship comedies, including Carnal Knowledge (1971), Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (1966), Nora Ephron's Heartburn (1986) and Carrie Fisher's Postcards from the Edge (1990). Nichols's films typically feature talented and charismatic actors and actresses who explore in a deceptively humorous manner the dark side of our human nature. The humor usually has an edgy quality while the taboo elements are somehow resolved into happy endings as in a musical comedy. Nichols likes to work with material from another medium and make it his own. Typically, The Graduate is adapted from the novel by Charles Webb. Nichols also likes to feature cutting edge popular music in the score. What we hear in the background and played over the opening credits is Simon and Garfunkel's "Sounds of Silence." Of course Paul Simon wrote the song "Mrs. Robinson" for this movie, but what I didn't realized until now is his "It's all happening at the zoo" was probably inspired in part by the zoo scene in this film.
Dustin Hoffman's confused and drifting Benjamin, worried about his future and suffocated by his parents' generation, knocked everybody out in those days with his dead-panned, literal delivery of one-liners, some of which were written by Buck Henry, who plays the desk clerk at the rendezvous hotel. I especially loved Ben's answer when his father, enquiring about his Quixotic plan to marry Mrs. Robinson's daughter Elaine (Katharine Ross), asks, "Isn't this a half-baked idea?" In dead seriousness, Benjamin says, "No, sir. It's completely baked."
Memorable is Norman Fell (whom most of us recall from TV's long-running comedy, Three's Company) in a small part as the landlord of the Berkeley rooming house. He is of course a past master at dead-panning one-liners; in fact, he is a master at mute dead-panning. One of the funniest bits in the movie is when the camera catches his face as Elaine's father comes out of Ben's room spewing obscenities and insults at Ben.
What we loved about this movie was the youthful point of view; the wonderful chase scene at the end, a Hollywood staple made fresh; the sympathetic character of Benjamin with whom we could readily identify; the cliché-ridden and shallow parents being slyly made fun of; and the sense of getting what we want out of life and doing it our own way. This is a coming-of-ager and a romance and a social satire rolled into one, and a classic Hollywood movie that no afficionado would want to miss.
But see this for Anne Bancroft, a brilliant and perhaps underrated actress in one of her most memorable roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guaranteed To Leave You In A Cheerful Mood, 31 Mar 2003
By 
Peter Kenney (Birmingham, Alabama, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Graduate [VHS] (VHS Tape)
THE GRADUATE is one of my all-time favorites - a memorable classic from the sixties. It is a story about a young man (Dustin Hoffman) who is a recent college graduate facing a bewildering array of life choices. He has an affair with an older woman named Mrs. Robinson (Anne Bancroft) while a romance is developing simultaneously between him and Mrs. Robinson's daughter (Katherine Ross). So you know right away this is going to be either a comedy or a tragedy. Actually it has enough elements of both to keep you interested until the climax which is quite creative and guaranteed to leave the viewer feeling satisfied.
The competition for awards in 1967 was tough from the likes of IN THE HEAT OF THE NIGHT and GUESS WHO'S COMING TO DINNER. Mike Nicholls, however, did manage to win an Oscar for Best Director and nominations were received for Best Actor (Dustin Hoffman), Best Actress (Anne Bancroft), Best Supporting Actress (Katherine Ross), Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Cinematography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 60's movie, 23 Mar 2006
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Graduate [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
The Graduate has become a classic film, one that makes all those ‘top 100 film’ lists. It stars a young Dustin Hoffman as Benjamin Braddock, a young man from a wealthy family, who has just graduated from college. He is in limbo, unsure of what to do with his time and where life will lead him. The Robinson’s are his parents’ best friends and it is their daughter Elaine (Katharine Ross) who Ben’s parents have earmarked as a partner for their son. However Mrs Robinson (played by a brilliantly predatory Anne Bancroft) has other plans and is set on seducing the naïve young man. When Elaine returns from college, Ben falls for her and ends his relationship with her mother. Predictably Mrs Robinson reacts with hostility and sets out to ruin both his relationship with her daughter and his life.
Simon and Garfunkle provide the music in their inimitable style and the title song, Mrs Robinson, was a huge hit for them. Director Mike Nichols managed, in this film, to capture the feel and mood of the 60’s flawlessly and he deservedly won an Oscar for his work. The DVD itself has few extras, a documentary by the director, interview with Hoffman, some trailers and the usual subtitles. The picture and sound quality are good, what you would expect from the format. This is a film that has stood the test of time and is still worth watching today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Graduate (1967) Blu-Ray, 13 Sep 2010
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is, ultimately, the film that signaled a renaissance for a certainly debatable industry by the late 1960's. Such was the surprising subject matter of The Graduate at that point in time that it is no wonder the film is still considered a cult classic today, and has rightly been re-released on Blu-Ray with a restoration, accompanying many other classics that Studio Canal have carefully pumped out at very descent prices.

It is a film that can apply to (or at least touch on) much of the problems that occur as we come of age, hence it was released at a time when 'College-culture' was coming to fruition as we know it today. For our lead character Benjamin (Dustin Hoffman), the mind-set of being a graduate and not knowing what to do with ones life is a dilemma many of us face, or indeed have faced. As such, it doesn't help that at a family party, Mrs Robinson (Anne Bancroft), a friend of Ben's parents decides to take the situation at liberty and immediately offers Ben an ultimatum that, no matter which way he looks, will always resort to a crazy cougar relationship. The build up to the events that follow, as the two go on secret dates and awkwardly have sex in a hotel is both incredibly entertaining as it is touching, which is equally why the film should be appreciated.

Things go from awkward to worse though for Benjamin as he soon realises that the more sensible path would be to date Mrs Robinson's daughter whom his parents very much approve of. Tensions fly, and it soon becomes a battle of wills as Ben attempts cope with the world being on his shoulders. For all the 'education' that he may have gained from Mrs Robinson, he is ultimately compromised by this woman who will go out of her way to ensure Ben never even looks at her daughter, such is her envy of the girls looks and generally off-beat mind-set, though one of the clever ironies of the film which is often overlooked is that, while Mrs Robinson has diverted this sensible young man who did well at College, she herself was once an Art student who went off the rails thanks to a partner of the time. As much as they are both opposites, they are also quite alike.

The film here is presented in its original aspect ratio and has undergone a generally good restoration. The problem when a film does have such a wide aspect ratio is that, as the point of view is often more distant so that more information can be put into the wider frame, I don't feel High Definition transfers look "as" good. This is not to say the film is not worth buying, because as with any other restoration/HD transfer, it still reveals levels of detail and perspective that you won't have seen before on DVD, so at this price there is no reason not to purchase this product. The restoration isn't a Lowry Digital job (the Gold standard), but it still retains the natural film grain and has removed any large defects/dirt in the print. Film judder however still remains.

Along with a nice splattering of extras and some really lovely packaging, The Graduate is a modern classic that will touch the hearts of many and entertain others. I myself was once in a cougar relationship and, after being frustrated with how such a situation can affect your daily life, I was recommended this film. It not only made me feel better in myself, but I could totally sympathize with Ben and I applaud the acting all round for what turns from a thoughtful beginning to a tense finale.

I have provided additional pictures on the top-left of this page.

Tom Cat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a bit of a downer though, 25 Nov 2009
This film is a major icon of the Sixties, and rightly so. It's sharp and witty, but it's actually quite pessimistic too (as some of the more observant movies of the Sixties were): on the bus at the very end they sit apart looking in opposite directions, not looking happy. The song is "hello darkness". She's going to become an alcoholic like her mother; he's going to go into plastics sooner or later. Perceptive of life's journey then, but a downer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one you'd want, 26 July 2011
This BLU-RAY review ONLY applies to the Studio Canal release
(ASIN: B003PHJLSC)

European released BD presumably taken from a different master than MGM's US release Graduate [Blu-ray] [1967] [US Import].
Colors seem more saturated and balanced in my view (see also blubeaver.ca for a comparison of both BDs)
PS: One thing that struck me as odd: Two over-shoulder-shots of Dustin Hoffman riding his Alfa Spider on the Bay Bridge headed for Berkeley (TC 01:36:58 - 37:22) and going down on 101 to Santa Barbara (01:38:37-58) were NOT anamorphic - TV image only looks ok when set to "4:3" - was it like this in theatres?! If so my guess would be that in 1966/67 when this was shot it simply wasn't practical to mount a (Mitchell?) Cinemascope rig to such tiny Italian convertible going at 70mph with the car top down... So maybe they shot this with a normal lens and "stretched" the image to fit widescreen presentation?
Anyone like to comment? Thanks!

Film: 8.5/10
Picture quality: 9/10
Aspect ratio: 2.35:1 (orig.)
Run time: 1 45'55", 24 fps
Audio: GB;F;D;E (dts HD MA)
ST: GB;F;D;E;N;S;DK;FIN;NL;J
Region free !
Bonus (all in SD):
-Graduate at 25; 22'21"
-THE GRADUATE - Looking back; 12'57"
-Meeting with author Charles Webb; 20'13"
-Scene analysis; 12'10" (German with Engl. ST)
-About the music; 7'55" (German with Engl. ST)
-Audio commentary by Prof. Koebner, Univ. of Mainz
-Trailer
-Song selection 4 songs, HD
-Digipak
Studio: Canal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film!, 4 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Graduate [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Highly recommended to watch! I love it. This film should be in the Top 100 films of all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Graduate" graduates with a Collectors Edition, 16 Nov 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This Collectors Edition has a bonus of a five-minute interview with Dustin Hoffman, a documentary "The Graduate at 25" which makes interesting watching and a limited edition 64-page book with production notes and a collection of articles and reviews from the original theatrical release. For the cinema historian, these are fascinating additional bonus features BUT the really bonus is owning the DVD which seems to have brushed up well after so long.

Katherine Ross, fresh, lovely Elaine Robinson, Anne Bancroft, the sad, manipulative yet vulnerable Mrs Robinson, William Daniels as her husband and Dustin Hoffman, as the jaded college graduate, play the lead roles.

Charles Webb's novel, with screenplay by Henry and Willingham, and music by Simon and Garfunkel, is a powerful indictment of some elements of 1960s' America and Mike Nichol's direction earned him Best Director award. To some eyes, it will appear dated in almost every aspect, although the individuals may be seen as metaphors of timeless sterotypical characters; other eyes may look back to their youth and remember it with affection, e.g. some scenes, like the scuba-diving present and Mrs Robinson's "Plastics!", are timeless in their humour, while others like the "Elaine! Elaine!" church scene resonate with great depth and the Alpha Romeo breakdown and Hoffman's running to get nowhere show a director and cameraman at their best.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ahem, 15 Sep 2011
By 
Geoffrey Pollock "geoffeagle" (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Elaine! Elaine!! Elaine!!!" and so it goes and never can I hear that name without thinking of this film - phew my twenty words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Graduate [DVD] [1967] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £12.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews