Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars30
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2009
This album is not 'Pieces Of You' and nor does it really try to be. As a follow up to a most superb album 'Spirit' is a fine effort, but it goes in a different direction for me, especially in terms of its overall sound and production (probably due to the fact that it was produced by Patrick Leonard - who has worked with Madonna on more than one occasion). As a whole album it is probably, for most, a much easier listen than Jewels first offering and contains some real gems such as 'Hands', 'Life Uncommon' and 'Absence Of Fear'. Jewels overall message on this album seems to be that if we have faith in ourselves and come together, then we can overcome life's hardships and reclaim it's true purity and essence.

'And lend your voices only to sounds of freedom.
No longer lend your strength to that which you wish to be free from.
Fill your lives with love and bravery and you shall lead a life uncommon'

My advice is buy this album certainly, but not before you have listened to 'Pieces Of You', which will give you a much better introduction to Jewels music and a much clearer idea of her progression as an artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2000
Well almost, it definitely had a huge effect on me. It's no suprize that Jewel also writes poetry as that is what this album is made up of, beautiful, rich and meaningful language that I often find cheers me up when I'm feeling low. She comes across as confident and strong and yet is soft spoken and easy to listen to. Her angelic voice could make any lyrics sound magical.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2002
am listening to spirit, as i tactfully avoid doing my coursework and it just makes me wanna cry-her music is tied up in my emotions and memories, more than any other artist.she is able to touch you with her words and melodies, and it is so easy to believe that everything she is saying is individual to you, and your experiences.i love it............
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
Now here is a girl that can sing with real feeling and emotion. Her voice is perfectly suited to capturing a delicate fragility, and when she sings the songs that convey this, she can sing with real depth and feeling. Mind you, if she belts it out a bit, the voice soon becomes hoarse and gruff. Fortunately, she rarely tries to belt it out. Given the right mood of the listener, this singer can transport you to places of sensitive simplicity and emotional feeling. Plenty of well written songs here, from simple to more complex arrangements. A lovely album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2000
Unlike her first album, this one is polished and pruned all the way through, but not by some record-label bigwig with ratings in mind. As though Jewel had picked up on the extent to which her first album, 'Pieces of You', amassed her following, this time she speaks from her soul, about her soul and how her sensitive and strong spirit lives in our world. This album first made me cry, but from those tears I gained an insight into the meaning of life no one had ever shown me before. If you're pessimistic about humanity, you're number is up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2000
Top drawer stuff. This album has it all as did Pieces of You. Songwriting and delivery to die for. This lady is in touch with it all...her lyrics are superb.
An extract - Kiss the Flame - But wherefore art thou Romeo.... where have all the brave men gone.... show me one man who knows his own heart.... to him I shall belong.
A am a man and these lyrics send shivers down my spine and make the hair stand up on the back of my neck (fantastic).....enough said. A true classic from start to finish.:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 1999
With every song telling a story which everyone can be a part of in their own way, one cannot help but be swept away on an emotional journey. Jewel's incredible poetic talents will make you notice the most earthly moments in your, or another's life. Her minimalistic musical style is the perfect vehicle to carry the messages of her beautiful poetic lyrics. A truly fantastic album - an excellent return after "Pieces of You"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
Having only recently dicovered Jewel,I have effortlessly been converted into a real fan by virtue of the imaginatively original lyricism and her charmingly sensual and soothing vocals.

"Spirit" is a fine album, particularly suited to those seeking musical serenity and luscious vocals. I recommend it highly, along with her albums in general.

If you love the voice of Jewel, check out the wonderful ethereal-voiced Loreena McKennitt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2001
Jewel is such a brilliant singer, she has a beautiful voice and her melodies are very meaningful. One of the best songs on her album is is "Do You" which is a brilliant example of her excellence! She is, in fact, so good, that it is hard to understand why she isn't very famous in Britain, when she has won many Grammies and performed at MTV awards. Her music is good, and she ain't half bad either!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 1999
Jewel sings with the most impressive "SPIRIT",her talent and ability unquestionnable.With the addictive factor of Lauryn Hill,the complexity of lyrics not seen since Joni Mitchell and the originality of Tori Amos.A cacophonie of rock,folk and American style which belongs equally in the surroundings of Alaska and the urban applause it deserves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)