Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Review of the German Blu-ray
This review was primarily written to communicate the technical specifications of the German blu ray release of Kevin Costner's timeless epic, Dances with Wolves. The story is that of a Union officer whose desire to experience America's ever-dwindling frontier territory leads him to request a posting to a remote fort. While the fort is mysteriously empty, his life there...
Published on 15 Sep 2009 by R. G. Burrows

versus
48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing release of a classic film
I was going to pre-order this classic film as I couldn't wait to see it on blu-ray. I decided to wait though to see what version it was, and disappointingly it's only the theatrical cut. I've seen the (superior) extended version so many times now that I can't go back to the shorter cut. Not only that but this doesn't even include any extras! In 2004 they released a 3-disc...
Published on 1 Nov 2009 by Magneto


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Review of the German Blu-ray, 15 Sep 2009
By 
R. G. Burrows (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review was primarily written to communicate the technical specifications of the German blu ray release of Kevin Costner's timeless epic, Dances with Wolves. The story is that of a Union officer whose desire to experience America's ever-dwindling frontier territory leads him to request a posting to a remote fort. While the fort is mysteriously empty, his life there soon becomes more than fulfilling, when he makes contact with the local Lakota tribe, and his life and outlook are changed forever.

The English audio is the full 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio (as is the German). English subtitles are present just for the parts where Native American languages are spoken, so you *don't* have to choose between having all the subs in English or not understanding what is going on - a problem that plagued other releases.

The disc is region B - the same as the UK. It is most *definitely* region locked, so US customers beware.

The wonderful animated menus are in German, but it is easy to select English audio: simply navigate to Sprachen/Ton and select Englische Fassung. There is no English subtitle option in the menu, but the English subs were on by default when I chose the English audio option, and you can also select them manually with the remote.

The transfer is excellent with good flesh tones, rich vivid colours and solid blacks. It does full justice to the stunning South Dakota landscapes. If you like your extras, the director's commentary is in English - with German subs that you can turn off - and the English trailer is also present. Other extras are in German.

I can also confirm that this is the full director's cut of the film, not merely the extended version. The exact running time is 3:56:39.

I ordered my copy from Amazon.de, as Amazon.uk were out of stock. The UK version has not, at the time or writing, been released, but in the event of any problems with it, you might consider purchasing this outstanding German blu ray. It will have you dancing with joy, if not with wolves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


136 of 141 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie but beware, 27 Jan 2002
I agree with all the reviews of this movie but beware the version Amazon.co.uk is selling is not the full length epic. Its the 173 minute version. Still a wonderful movie but would have been nice to have had the full 237 minute version on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an EPIC that doesnt age gets the DVD edition it deserves!!!, 25 Feb 2005
Well, i never saw this film until this 3 Disc Special Edition came out. After all the hype and great reviews, i just had to see what everyone was talking about. Well now i see. Since this film is quite similar to the recent The Last Samurai starring Tom Cruise (which used to be one of my favourite films), Dances with Wolves is far superior. The acting is spot on from both Kevin Costner and the Indian actors. The visual photography and script are also great. In addition, considering this film is almost 4 hours long, for those who havent yet had the chance to watch it will be surprised by how gripping this is. As for those who have seen it before, you'll notice that this is the previously unseen extended edition of the movie split on two discs. Thus, even if you have a copy already, this is the Ultimate edition so far. Plus you get another whole disc with extras including a 70+ minute documentary on the making of the movie. Buy this while it lasts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GERMAN VERSION, 2 Feb 2010
The German version is the only one worth buying as it is the full uncut version (which is by far superior to the theatrical version as there is so much missing) with a commentary by Kevin Kostner & DTS 7.1 HD. Picture quality is very good considering the age of this movie with German & English sub titles it's the only version to buy. Bought mine from Amazon Germany. In my opinion one the greatest Westerns ever made, made even better in Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but beware this edition, 15 May 2009
By 
Alan Cook (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this film, but due to my mind not thinking far enough ahead, I made a mistake with this one.
The description clearly states that this is a European import, and that the subtitles are Dutch. Fine I thought, I'll turn them off and just listen. The problem was that I hadn't seen this film for so long, that I'd forgotten how much of it is spoken in a native American tongue.
Don't get me wrong, you can still get the story, and most of the dialogue between the natives and others is sort of obvious by their actions and facial expressions... but, I like to know every single word that is said, and I think it's important to the film to understand how the indians feel about the incomer and the threat of the mass influx of strangers into their world.

As I say, you will get the story, it is obvious, but you can't blame the seller of this disc for you not knowing what the indians are saying.

Great film, but get English subtitles if you can't read Dutch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing release of a classic film, 1 Nov 2009
By 
I was going to pre-order this classic film as I couldn't wait to see it on blu-ray. I decided to wait though to see what version it was, and disappointingly it's only the theatrical cut. I've seen the (superior) extended version so many times now that I can't go back to the shorter cut. Not only that but this doesn't even include any extras! In 2004 they released a 3-disc dvd edition which included not only the longer version of the film but lots of extras too. How do they expect Blu-ray to take off when they release an inferior product to the dvd version (picture quality aside). If you've never seen DWW then this theatrical cut is a good place to start as it's still a great film. However you may want to do yourselves a favour and get the German blu-ray release (order from www.amazon.de). The german disc features the extended/director's cut of the film, with both English audio and English subtitles for the native american dialogue. Unfortunately the only extras are 2 audio commentaries, so you may want to hold on to the 3 disc dvd if you have it. Either way it's miles better than this UK release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why Only The Standard Version?, 31 Oct 2009
By 
IM35461 "IM35461" (East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Poor Show.
I thought the new Blu-Ray format was supposed to offer advanced features.

So why only the standard version with no option to view the "Directors Cut"?

Good film with music by John Barry.

I have the German version on order now from Amazon Germany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply a masterpiece., 19 Mar 2006
Kevin Costners directorial debut turns out to be his finest cinematic achievement. A beautiful film depicting the final years of the frontier. Costner takes the lead as a battle weary army officer, who following what is perceived as an act of bravery is given his choice of post, choosing a remote outpost in south Dakota.
Every shot in this film is breathtaking, the colour, the costume, the background everything make this an epic. The music by John Barry makes it a real big screen venture.
This extended version takes the running time to the 3 and a half hour mark, splitting the film between 2 discs, but its so engrossing you won't notice the running time till the end. The special features are good, the making of is detailed and shows how much heart went into the production of such a classic.
The first western to win an Oscar for 60 years, picking up 7 on the night including Best Picture and Best Director. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinematography for photographers, 21 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Who can add much to the many testimonials already written about this wonderful film. Except perhaps to highlight, indeed emphasise, Dean Semler's superb cinematography.

Every shot was beautifully framed. The eye was lead directly where it needed to be, guided expertly through each scene. A visually stunning film.

Anyone with ambitions to take good shots needs only to look and learn from this masterpiece. A masterclass from a master craftsman.

Oh, and the rest of the movie was merely outstanding too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT the full 234 min version, 12 Aug 2013
By 
K. D. Allan (Darlington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Be aware that this is still the 'shorter UK theatrically released version'. The full 234 minute version is not available (yet?) on a UK Blu Ray, but Amazon Germany have a region B one that I have just imported. It has full english 7.1 DTS-HD sound, two commentaries in english and the Indian dialogue is translated by default into english subtitles - perfect! All for 13.39 Euros and delivered in 3 days! Your choice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dances With Wolves [DVD] [1991] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 0.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews