Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thing of beauty
It saddens me that some people completely missed the incredible uniqueness of this masterpiece. Her renditions are completely spot on. And although I'm a huge Sinatra fan (I have his complete catalogue) I find her versions even more heartfelt and beautiful than those by Ella Fitzgerald, Sinatra and their likes. Her singing is both fragile, intimate and at times even...
Published on 28 Nov. 2001

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exotic
As for Sinead this album is odd. Yes, it's her singing, but it's not her style. If you are hardcore fan - get it. If you like the usual Sinead style - try it ;)
Published on 14 July 2009 by VdV


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thing of beauty, 28 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Am I Not Your Girl (Audio CD)
It saddens me that some people completely missed the incredible uniqueness of this masterpiece. Her renditions are completely spot on. And although I'm a huge Sinatra fan (I have his complete catalogue) I find her versions even more heartfelt and beautiful than those by Ella Fitzgerald, Sinatra and their likes. Her singing is both fragile, intimate and at times even humorous. The blend of her unique phrasing and the lush arrangements by Phil Ramone is intriguing and thrilling - a feast for the ears. I find that this is her best vocal effort so far. On the strengh of this album alone she should be viewed as one of the very best female vocalists - if not the best - of the 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely different, 17 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Am I Not Your Girl (Audio CD)
This is the CD of cover version of the music She was brought up listening to, that is, her Mums favourites. So its an unusual out-of-time collection.

I love it. But its unusual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am I Not Your Girl (Audio CD)
Cracking album full of high quality vocals and very strong musical arrangements. Would recommend if you like eclectic songs :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 14 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Am I Not Your Girl (Audio CD)
An album of covers. This music is of a high quality - it will last. It is a mellow album mind, so be warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended - Sinead's voice is remarkable, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
C. Hodgson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Am I Not Your Girl (Audio CD)
One of my fave albums of all time. It's exceptional. Touching moving sensitive and delicious.
Highly recommended - Sinead's voice is remarkable. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am I Not Your Girl (Audio CD)
If you like Sinead and Jazzy Blues, by this album. Very smooth and easy on the ears. Good for laid back times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am I Not Your Girl (Audio CD)
This is a truly stunning CD that I thoroughly enjoy every time I play it. Sinéad (and her band) put a lot into every one of these, very well known, songs but very clearly make these interpretations all her very own.
It should also be pointed out that in 1992 it seems they could make a very clean recording. This has a wide and deep stereo stage so you'll maybe want to turn the volume up a bit, grab a glass of wine (or something stronger) and plunk yourself down in the sweet-spot to enjoy the full effect.

It's much much better that you have control over the volume than to have it "too loud" on the CD as seems to be the want of a lot of the current sound engineers and this recording is more the better for it.

Enjoy . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am I Not Your Girl (Audio CD)
Songs from Sinead's childhood- beautiful covers and her incredible haunting voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am I Not Your Girl (Audio CD)
never disappointed with Sinead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am I Not Your Girl (Audio CD)
Timeless joy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Am I Not Your Girl [CASSETTE]
Am I Not Your Girl [CASSETTE] by Sinead O'Connor (Audio Cassette - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews