Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars TUFF BABY!
This album received mixed reviews when it came out but it is one of my favourite Iggy albums.

'Instinct' has a brooding attitude which is punctuated by Iggy's growling vocals and Steve Jones' metal-driven guitar work.

The songs are terrific throughout - if you enjoy this man's music, then this won't disappoint!

4.5/5
Published 19 months ago by HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (fo...

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars punker becomes troubadour
as forerunner from the midseventies musical stream punkrock Iggy Pop was a punker avant la lettre, before the name punk was invented. As singer of The Stooges he recorded 3 raw energy albums, before that group disbanded and ended somewhat disorientated. Afterwards he got together with James Williamson for the "Kill City" album, before het met David Bowie in Berlin en...
Published on 25 April 2009 by J. Talsma


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars TUFF BABY!, 22 Oct. 2013
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (follow us on Face... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Instinct (Audio CD)
This album received mixed reviews when it came out but it is one of my favourite Iggy albums.

'Instinct' has a brooding attitude which is punctuated by Iggy's growling vocals and Steve Jones' metal-driven guitar work.

The songs are terrific throughout - if you enjoy this man's music, then this won't disappoint!

4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High On You, 7 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Instinct (Audio CD)
I think Instinct is Iggy Pops most enjoyable albulm. I love it, especially High On You. The albulm is a satisfying mix of everything that is great about Iggy's music. One of my favourite albulms of all time. My next favourite Iggy Pop albulm is Brick by Brick(also great- but not quite as perfect as instinct).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. Paul A. Ayres "Pablo944" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instinct (Audio CD)
I was actually on the UK leg of this album tour as a roadie so I have a special interest in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My step dad likes it, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instinct (Audio CD)
My step dad likes it a lot and they are not bad band good buy. Good for rock music fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VINYL ME UP AGAIN, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instinct (1988) [VINYL] (Vinyl)
plays brilliantly. been after this for years on cd, now i am glad i got the vinyl.SO MUCH MORE DEPTH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars punker becomes troubadour, 25 April 2009
By 
J. Talsma (Amsterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instinct (Audio CD)
as forerunner from the midseventies musical stream punkrock Iggy Pop was a punker avant la lettre, before the name punk was invented. As singer of The Stooges he recorded 3 raw energy albums, before that group disbanded and ended somewhat disorientated. Afterwards he got together with James Williamson for the "Kill City" album, before het met David Bowie in Berlin en recorded "The Idiot" and "Lust for Life", on which he was a shadow of the Stooges frontman, musically spoken, but a fine singer/songwriter. From this time on he made several very good studio-albums but surely none of them in the same vein of the Stooges. No punkrock anymore, no rock at all but pleasant popsongs. Wheater written with Bowie (also present on "New Values" and "Blah Blah Blah" albums) or with lesser illuminates Pop delivered the goods and turned out to be a singer pur sang, with a nice timbre and a broad range of vocal possibilities. Furthermore he stayed an interesting lyricist. Although no punker anmymore the ties with punkrock were not severed totally, on the "Soldier" album he was aided by Sex Pistols bassplayer Glen Matlock, who also (co)wrote several songs, on "Blah Blah Blah" and - here comes this reviewed album in the picture - "Instinct" Sex Pistols leadguitarplayer Steve Jones came to the rescue, as songwriter and guitarist. Nevertheless the punkinfluences are far away. On all these mentioned albums Pop is a singer in his own right, that he was a wild man before goes unnoticed. He sings, humms and croons his way through the repertoire and does this at his best. The result is a fine collection of strong songs, rich in melodies and instrumentation (here again real drums, instead of a drummachine used on "Blah Blah Blah") and more than a few gems. Why this wasn't reviewed before I cannot tell but take my word give it a listening your self.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Instinct [CASSETTE]
Instinct [CASSETTE] by Iggy Pop (Audio Cassette)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews