Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars20
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2015
had it on vinyl

still good and so funny now
and brilliant musicianship
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2004
Even as a big fan of Frank, it can be a little difficult to get into thelate 60s stuff. This is not like the classic rock-era albums such asApostrophe of Over-Nite Sensation and it isn't the super-tight on-stagemusical acrobatics of the late stuff such as Make a Jazz Noise Here orBroadway the Hard Way. This is however a good set, some funny moments(the first few times at least) and a resonable introduction to earlyZappa. As with many Zappa live sets, this is also a recording of aMomentous Occasion as later that night the band were joined on stage byJohn Lennon and that fabulous talent (?) Yoko Oh No....
If you want some early Zappa or you want a slice of what was happening in1971 on the freaky side of the music scene this is as good a place to goas any.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2003
I recently received this as a Christmas gift, and what a great album it is. Full of Zappa's (and the rest of the band's) HILARIOUS on-stage banter (with a bullet!), this is testimony to a great live act. If you want to hear a fantastic live band, but would rather do it from the comfort of your sofa (N0.1) then this is for you. Consumatley slick performances from the whole band, with the organ playing on the first track being particlarly good. Lots of funny and kitsch Japanese features, worth buying the special edition.
Buy it!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 March 2005
If you've not heard Frank's music before, please don't start with this one! Fillmore East is cheesy, tacky, lavatorial and tedious. And, believe me, I find that very hard to say - I've been a devoted fan for 38 years, since I first saw FZ live at the Festival Hall. I'm basing my comments on the vinyl version as I don't have the CD, but the track listing is unchanged. Fortunately, the "Flo & Eddie" period was short-lived; approx. 1970-71, also producing the slightly better Just Another Band from LA, before Frank ditched the duff duo and came storming back with the stunning big-band Grand Wazoo and hard-rock Overnite Sensation albums. If you've got the other 70-odd FZ albums, then buy Fillmore East for the sake of completion. Otherwise, try another.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
i love it not quite the same as the origional album but verry good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
An historic album from my past
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
This is a review based on my Rykodisc FZ approved remaster from around 1992, so I can't comment on the quality of the new remaster. What really matters of course is the album and this is virtually quintessential FZ. Wilst I wouldn't put this even near my top ten of Zappa's albums, it does of course have it's breathtakingly good moments like the superb version of "Happy Together". I always much enjoyed the contributions of Mark Volman and Howard Kaylan, and there is Frank's usual employment of them as brilliant harmony singers and satirists, some of which is still genuinely funny, and other parts are somewhat schoolboyish as was frank's wont. In short not FZ's best (although that is an almost impossibly high standard to reach) but nonetheless part of his magnificent canon, so definitely recommmended by me
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
nostalgia again , forty two years have gone by already now I have told you about Frank Zappa about his material being sometimes salacious well this one certainly fits the bill , no great music but some crudity in a nudge nudge sort of way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2008
ah i remember having to turn the vinyl over at that point where Willie the Pimp stops (yu have 2 do it) and now yu can hear it in one non segueless document of the concert and of course i only know it because i bought it - and now CIVILIZATION is moving on and before yu gnosis it - development --
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)