Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very fine 'enigma', full of character
Norman del Mar was a much-loved and usually very effective conductor. He recorded very little, which is a pity, but his reputation was never front-rank whatever his qualities, and it's names that sell records of familiar repertoire. So it is very nice to have this excellent account of 'Enigma' backed by these spirited marches. The Variations are beautifully played and...
Published on 28 Feb 2007 by Mr. Ian A. Macfarlane

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as expected
I do enjoy 'Elgars' Enigma Variations but this recording is not as powerful in the depth of volume as I expected hence a lower star rating. I have played it on both my computer or CD unit but have to increase the volume control to be able to catch the first notes of several of the variations played Especially 'Nimrod'.
Published 10 months ago by Nana D


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very fine 'enigma', full of character, 28 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. Ian A. Macfarlane "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elgar: Enigma Variations (Audio CD)
Norman del Mar was a much-loved and usually very effective conductor. He recorded very little, which is a pity, but his reputation was never front-rank whatever his qualities, and it's names that sell records of familiar repertoire. So it is very nice to have this excellent account of 'Enigma' backed by these spirited marches. The Variations are beautifully played and very well characterised with well-judged tempi and phrasing that is neat and/or lyrical as required. When I first heard the recording (on the radio years ago) I did not know who was conducting and immediately thought of some very big names. Well, del Mar wasn't one of those, but this is still one of the best versions in the catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pompous but not overblown, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Enigma Variations (Audio CD)
The Enigma variations together with the Marches is a nice coupling and they get decent playing from Del Mar and the RPO. Sound is good for mid 70's and performances
are nigh on ideal. I say that as I have heard more moving accounts of Nimrod but can't grumble at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elgar the Enigma - Welcome to Middle England, 23 April 2004
By 
This review is from: Elgar: Enigma Variations (Audio CD)
Anyone who is familiar with the work of Sir Edward Elgar who has not heardthis already, will love this collection. I am a relatively young fan ofclassical music at 28!! and I find this CD a real relaxer!!
The Enigma variations are 16 pieces of Music based on friends and family,and the personal nature of them really does shine through. The most famousof them being IX Nimrod, which everyone who is familiar with RememberanceSunday will be familiar with, its a piece of music that really does makeyou sit and think, and is based on an argument between 2 composers, butfor me it reeks of bravery, valour and Englishness.
Pomp and circumstances Marches Nos 1-5 Op 39, are 5 Marches, on average 5mins long each which will blow the cobwebs away after the dreamyvariations. No1 is the famous Land of Hope and Glory tune, but the othersare just as good, and listening to them will have you right in the AlbertHall on proms night.
A cracking piece of history, welcome to middle England, welcome to theenigma that is Sir Edward Elgar (1857-1934)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elgar Enigma Variations, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Enigma Variations (Audio CD)
Fantastic, recommend it to any one. Good listening. Good value for the price. Very relaxing and enjoyable. A good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enigma Variations superbly done!, 25 May 2013
By 
Ms. A. J. Airey "ajwk" (M/c UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Enigma Variations (Audio CD)
Anyone not into classics yet, should try this one first - beautiful, relaxing music and with the uncomparable 'Nimrod' that stirs the heart and lifts the Soul; I can't stop playing it - Royal Philharmonic well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good item, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Enigma Variations (Audio CD)
Bought as a present for my son-in -law. He was very pleased with it, say's the sound is very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, brisk but a bit boomy!, 6 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. N. Hazell (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Enigma Variations (Audio CD)
I was hoping for a decent recording being as it was a DGG release. I was also hoping for decent performances being as it was Norman del Mar and the RPO.

Well, I pretty much got the performances I was looking for: nice and crisp when required, and very well crafted throughout. The opening movement is a little languid for the "andante" score marking, but it provides a magical introduction to the variations, and to the final rip-roaring allegro - presto in particular.

However, sometimes the recording sounds as if the microphones were in the "gods" of the Albert Hall (BTW the recording location is not mentioned in the notes): nothing much wrong with the dynamic range or most of the sound palette, but the decay time is noticeably longer than most and there is something of a boomy reverberation when the lower pitched instruments, timpani and bass drum are playing together, as they do in the 14th and final variation.

The 5 marches are played with great gusto, but again a reverberant kind of lower bass muddies the waters now and then.

There may be technically better recordings available than this 1976 A-D-D offering, albeit at higher prices. Musically, this one is hard to fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good listening, 29 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Enigma Variations (Audio CD)
Thoroughly enjoyed this CD. I thought the reproduction was good and although I still prefer my vinyl L.P. for sound quality, this will do fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go! Go! RPO!, 28 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Elgar: Enigma Variations (Audio CD)
A faultless recording of a sublime performance of incredible music. A great CD to go travelling with. Relaxing, stirring and always uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second to none, 19 May 2011
By 
J. W. F. Bird (Cheslyn Hay.West Mids) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elgar: Enigma Variations (Audio CD)
The CD arrived within two days in first class condition,I have not stopped listening to it yet,it is has they say music to
my ears ,thanks for a first class service...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elgar: Enigma Variations
Elgar: Enigma Variations by Sir Edward Elgar (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews