Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exquisite Recording of a great artist
Tchaikovsky: first piano concerto.
Rachmaninov: selected preludes.
the first part is THE best recording I have ever heard of the Tchaikovsky.
the music is great (if you like tchaikovsky)
the sound is one of the best remasters. it was recorded in the early sixties, but the piano sound is very realistic, and the orchestra sounds like a DDD...
Published on 21 Mar 2003 by A. Tamimi

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not best version.
Poor rendition. Very 'crash bang' performance. Lang Lang recording much more sympathetic.
Published 4 months ago by David Gee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exquisite Recording of a great artist, 21 Mar 2003
By 
A. Tamimi (Stanford, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1 (Audio CD)
Tchaikovsky: first piano concerto.
Rachmaninov: selected preludes.
the first part is THE best recording I have ever heard of the Tchaikovsky.
the music is great (if you like tchaikovsky)
the sound is one of the best remasters. it was recorded in the early sixties, but the piano sound is very realistic, and the orchestra sounds like a DDD recording!
the preformance is trademark Richter, aided with von Karajan's wonderful conducting, Richter reaches excellent heights in piano playing, he justifies his name, and he justifies why this is the most frequently played concerto for piano.
As for the preludes, I dare say they are even more charming than Rachmaninov's second concerto, from the insane op.32 no 1, the melancholic and dark op.32 no2 (with obvious references to Schubert) to the lyric nos 2,5, and 7 of the op.23
over all, this is a wonderful recording which is thoroughly recomended for piano lovers, or anyone who wants to learn to love piano, this is your chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1 (Audio CD)
I have many discs of this music and enjoy listening to it played by a variety of artists, well worth buying and the supplyer was first class giving a very efficent service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 3 Mar 2013
By 
fudggie girl (wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1 (Audio CD)
I have loved Tschaikowoskys' piano concerto no 1 since I was eleven when I was given an album for my birthday.Many many years later I woke up with it on my mind and being unable to play this album because of many reasons bought this c.d.I can't find the words to describe how this music makes me feel.My soul leaves my body and soars through the Heavens when I hear it.5* is the most I can give it here but it derserves much much more.The orchestra are amazing,every instrument played perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not best version., 20 July 2014
By 
David Gee "The bard" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1 (Audio CD)
Poor rendition. Very 'crash bang' performance. Lang Lang recording much more sympathetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1 (Audio CD)
Bought this for my Dad's birthday and he's really pleased with it. Nothing more to say except that if you like Tchaikovsky you'll enjoy this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 28 Feb 2009
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1 (Audio CD)
This is an exciting recording Svjatoslav Richter and Herbert Von Karajan team well to give a passionate rendition of this popular work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1 by Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews