Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE WALL 2011 VINYL REMASTER - Is There Anybody Out There Still Playing Records?
NOTE - THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE 2011 REMASTER VINYL EDITION

Played on a Roksan Radius 5.2 turntable with a Roksan Radius arm and Goldring 2200 cartridge.

So that last Fab Four Floyd album gets remastered and re-issued on good old fashioned heavyweight vinyl.

THE VINYL
As with the other 2011 vinyl remasters The Wall is branded as 180...
Published 24 months ago by The Professor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl Problems
I won't comment on the music. This is to raise some manufacturing issues.

This was a recent purchase so I assume it was a recent pressing. I must say that I am somewhat disappointed. I have the original vinyl issue, much played, and I expected this new copy to be at least a modest improvement. There are two problems; the first is that the original was cut at...
Published 8 days ago by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE WALL 2011 VINYL REMASTER - Is There Anybody Out There Still Playing Records?, 4 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Wall [VINYL] (Vinyl)
NOTE - THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE 2011 REMASTER VINYL EDITION

Played on a Roksan Radius 5.2 turntable with a Roksan Radius arm and Goldring 2200 cartridge.

So that last Fab Four Floyd album gets remastered and re-issued on good old fashioned heavyweight vinyl.

THE VINYL
As with the other 2011 vinyl remasters The Wall is branded as 180 gram heavyweight vinyl and indeed the records feel nice and heavy and it is a great pressing with little background noise. For some reason on initial playing the second record suffered from some static 'clicks' but hopefully that will be cured by a few plays.

As I said in my review of WYWH I'm usually very wary of digital remasters; for many years they often sounded worse than the original analogue versions as long as you could find a well pressed copy in good condition. And as with WYWH this remaster does indeed sound better than my old vinyl copy (still in excellent condition). The drums sound more solid and there is a definite sense of more space around the instruments.The biggest change to my ears is that Rick Wright's keyboards sound more to the fore; something which is evident across quite a few tracks (making me wonder if they were consciously buried on the original release).

Given that there was very little wrong with the original version, are these actual improvements? IMHO the answer is YES. It's obvious that a great deal of care and attention has gone into the audio quality on these releases and they haven't tried to fix what wasn't broken in the first place. Comparing the old vinyl with the new edition, it just sounds like you've upgraded your hi-fi.

THE PACKAGING
Main Sleeve & Inner Sleeves
As with WYWH these are exact copies of the original versions. Good quality card & well printed. Given the price of the remaster I would have liked to have seen a poly-lined inner sleeve included to protect your investment. The front cover has the same 'cling' sticker as the original.

Poster
The "Exclusive Poster" is basically a big fold out lyric sheet ... whoop-de-doo! ; ) It really doesn't add anything to the package.

THE DOWNLOAD
Whilst I always applaud companies who include either a CD or download code in with new vinyl, it is disappointing that only the original tracks are included with the The Wall MP3 download. Again, given the cost of this issue (and the fact that the bonus material is not available on vinyl) I'd hoped to also get the tracks included on the Experience edition as part of the download. What are us Floyd Vinyl Addicts supposed to do; buy the new CD issue as well?!?!?

SUMMARY
Overall this is a nice package - expensive (at typically around 35) but worth it. If your old vinyl copy is getting a bit long in the tooth as mine was then I recommend treating yourself to the 2011 edition WHEN you see it at a good price.

I was tempted to deduct 1 star for the lack of anti-static inner sleeves and bonus tracks on the download but ... maybe half a star deducted ; )

... now come on EMI how about new vinyl editions of Meddle and Animals?!?!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wall 180g Vinyl, 12 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Wall [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This review is of the Vinyl 180g re-release. What can i say after seeing Roger Waters the wall 2 weeks ago (Auckland, NZ) this release is the second best version i have heard of this iconic album. For myself this is a God send as i am to young to have been around when this was first released and have had to endure some pretty poor second hand LPs to find a good one. This new heavy LP is silent when it should be and has a dynamic depth to the music that is amazing. No need to go into detail abou the music itself (as 99.9% of people will know it)but some of the sound effects i have never heard before even though i must have listened to this on CD a thousand times. Overall a very good re-relaese on vinyl.
The digital down load is very good also so i can also listen to this on the go, as i cancled the immersion box set version after recieving the DSOTM immersion set and realised how much of a ripoff that was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic That Will Live Forever!!!, 10 Dec 2003
This review is from: Wall [CASSETTE] (Audio Cassette)
There can't be many people of serious musical taste who hasn't experienced the sheer majesty that is The Wall. The brainchild of Roger Waters , with major input from David Gilmour and Nick Mason , the album is still extremely powerful after twenty odd years.
It's a stroke of genius to transfer images of World War 2 and all it's atrocities into such a inciteful , moving melodrama. Waters' relates the death of his own father , killed in action against a German Tank Division - it is both moving and beautiful. The album flows , the songs a rock opera which was so successful that it was made into a film of the same name. Bob Geldorf plays the lead , that of Waters himself and the trauma that losing your Father as a child does to the human pysche.
This is hard hitting rock at it's most vibrant - it is not easy listening and the neonazi lyrics might offend - this is not for the fainthearted.

Lock your bedroom door , load up with whatever you get off on and experience the majesty of Waters et al.
You'll never be the same again.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is incredible!!, 10 Jan 2000
This review is from: The Wall (Audio CD)
Wow! What an experience. That is all I can say it was listening to this masterpiece of contemporary music. If you are bored of the awful nursery rhyme rubbish in the charts at the moment, you can always rely on Pink Floyd to remind us what real music sounds like. With Dave Gilmour at his best, especially on Comfortably numb, Nick Mason showing how good he can be and the tones that only Rick Wright can make, this all came together in a culmination of unique, eerie and sometimes harrowing sounds that only pink floyd can make. As I've said, a masterpiece, platinum 5 times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly conceived album of superlative music, 13 April 2000
By 
This review is from: The Wall (Audio CD)
When I first bought this album on vinyl back in 1979, being a fledgling Floyd fan, I wondered on my first listening: "What have I bought here? "
But on subsequent playings, the album grew on me until I got to the point where it became my favourite Floyd LP.
Not being overly keen on their earlier works, I very much enjoyed 'Animals', 'Dark Side of the Moon' and 'Wish You Were Here' but 'The Wall' stands alone both in its length and its quality.
Every track is brilliantly conceived and the whole builds a tremendous story that fair carries you along through the central character's trauma and descent into his own personal hell.
As one reviewer has commented, evryone speaks of certain tracks (the guitar solo at the end of 'Comfortably Numb' is excellent) but if you allow the music to penetrate, every track has its appeal.
So don't be put off by your first exposure - listen to it a few times and then you'll really learn to appreciate to this superb magnum opus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why is this only four and-a-half stars?, 10 Dec 2006
This review is from: The Wall (Audio CD)
There's no accounting for some people's taste. Whatever you say about Roger Waters' ego, the fact remains that 'The Wall' is one of the greatest albums of all time, and a masterpiece. Whatever people say, there is no filler on here - each song is vital to the story.

The concept of 'The Wall' is quite odd, but fascinating. You could do with seeing the film, too. The character is called 'Pink Floyd', and he sits alone in his hotel room, somewhere in Los Angeles. He remembers all the stuff that has happened to him - his father dying in WW2, his over-protective to the point of smothering mother, nasty schoolteacher and cheating wife. Each one of these is 'Another Brick In The Wall' around his feelings. He completes the wll at the end of disc one, only to realise that it is too high, and he can't go out. He is truly mad. His horrified manager shows up, and a doctor gives him an injection ('Comfortably Numb'.) He goes to the show, but the hallucinating Pink thinks that he is a fascist. He sends out skinheads and goes on a rally through the streets, before the trial inside his head commences, and the people from his former life, the very bricks in the wall, come forward to testify against him, and the wall is torn down. Pink Floyd is left as vulnerable as a newborn child.

Great story, great music. There are too many songs to go through, but 'Comfortably Numb' is the greatest song of all time, and that solo is unsurpassed. 'Run Like Hell' is an awesome song, as is 'Hey You', 'Waiting For The Worms', 'Young Lust', 'Another Brick In The Wall (Part 2)' and 'Is There Anybody Out There?' All the very best ones ('Comfortably Numb', 'Run Like Hell', 'Hey You') were written by both Waters and Gilmour - Waters likes to think of this album as his, but without Gilmour, would it really be that good?

So shut up about Waters' ego, because he was, and is, a genius. 'The Wall' is one of the greatest albums of all time, and in the top five Pink Floyd albums. You really must own this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A milestone in modern rock music..., 28 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wall (Audio CD)
The Wall has an interesting concept and narrative behind it. The story is somewhat autobiographical from Water's point of view, but there are also characters in place that we can all recognise, like the school master and Pink's girlfriend. The idea that we can become emotionally trapped by our own delusions and fears is something many people can identify with, although this album is obviously a personal communication.
Musically The Wall is perfectly spaced, with plenty of undisputed classic moments - Another Brick in the Wall, Mother, Don't Leave me Now, Hey You, Is There Anybody Out There, Comfortably Numb (my favourite track) and Run Like Hell to name but the most famous!
There's no doubt that it's a fantastic album, and if you like Floyd, there's no excuse for not owning this album. I do, however, think 'Animals', 'Dark Side' and 'Wish You Were Here' are better albums, so you should buy them too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a class above, 13 May 2004
By 
Mr. S. E. C. Norman "pink52" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wall (Audio CD)
One of the harder Pink Floyd albumns to get into, but as good as any of the others. With such great songs for new Pink floyd users such as Young Lust (exactly what it sounds) and Another Brick in the Wall (part II is the most famous), where Waters criticises teachers and schools for producing and processing children like sausages in a factory, for treating children like machines. Catchy, with good but simple lyrics and a great guitar solo at the end. The Wall is a great concept albumn because the songs run onto each other so well, eg the way Empty Spaces runs onto Young Lust. Also, the story of Pink, who is really a parody to Waters, is brilliant and tragic. One of my Turns is excellent, portraying Pink's anger and frustration coming out very well, and Goodbye Blue Sky is also a top quality song with a great combination of vocals, with top lyrics about the bombing of Britain in WW2. Hey You and Comfortably Numb are 2 of the most famous and best Pink Floyd songs, again listen to the lyrics, Waters is a genius!!!! The Trial is a hard one to get into but is well worth the wait, since it has a fantastic ending with a crowd chanting, "Tear down the Wall." and also a great atmosphere. There are various smaller songs and some other lesser known ones, eg Run like Hell, the show must go on and The Happiest Days of our lives which mocks the common view that schooldays are the best days, and that many teachers are bullies. It runs onto Another Brick excellently, another example of why the Wall can be listened to straight through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For me, Floyd's best, and then some, 27 Sep 2005
By 
T. Booth "Deuce" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wall (Audio CD)
Possibly the most controversial Floyd album save 'The Final Cut', this one. I'd argue it's also their best. It's a hefty album, but the music is fantastic, and it doesn't lose any value on repeat listening.
Unless you've been living on Mars for the last twenty-five years, you'll be familiar with 'Another Brick in the Wall Part 2' (famous as the least Christmassy Christmas no.1 ever) and 'Comfortably Numb' (recently covered in a totally different style by Scissor Sisters). Resist the temptation to skip straight to these tracks! Good as they are, they are much better once taken in context. They are, however, useful as an indication of what to expect from the rest of the album, in terms of both style and quality.
Personal highlights- 'The Thin Ice' is one of the few songs that can bring tears to my eyes. Partly because, in terms of the story, I know what happens next. But also because there are a couple of twists in the music that send shivers right down your spine. 'Waiting for the Worms' will have you reaching for the repeat button in horrified fascination once you realise what the guy with the megaphone in the background is actually saying. And for my money, the series of songs from 'Empty Spaces' through to 'Goodbye Cruel World' is as near to perfection as I've heard in popular music. Were I to have a choice of two CDs to have with me on a desert island, this would be one of them. In fact, if it came down to it, this would be both of them.
I'd also recommend this album as an introduction to Floyd for those who are interested but unsure where to start (as I always am with new artists). The music is more accessible than that of 'Dark Side', requires less patience than does 'Animals', and is a better indication of Floyd's total repetoire than 'The Final Cut'. Buy it- you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific vinyl edition, well mostly..., 29 Feb 2012
By 
Derek J. Johnston "windhoek" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wall [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I received my LP today and it looks terrific! I played it and it sounds terrific! The only negative is that the inner sleeves are cardboard, yes, cardboard! I paid over 20 for this album and would have preferred inner sleeves with anti-static lining because when I pulled the vinyl from the sleeves, both records had lots of small flakes of cardboard on them. Apart from that however, it's an excellent release and if you play it at maximum volume, you and your neighbours are in for a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wall
The Wall by Pink Floyd (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews