Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre Brilliance, 24 July 2000
By 
Joe (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rumor And Sigh (Audio CD)
Richard Thompson has always been one of England's finest yet most underrated performers. Perhaps it is because alongside the blistering guitar work outs and melancholy acoustic ballads that built his reputation he also has eccentric ditties and shanties. Of course, this is due to his folk heritage and is welcome, but maybe not by newcomers to his back catalogue who are unused to hearing such an ecelectic range of styles on one record. Rumor and Sigh is no exception. Read About Love and Feel So Good are typical guitar rockers that sweep you off your feet but Psycho Street and Jimmy Shands will have you scratching your head in confusion if you were unaware of Thompson's penchant for parody and his scathing lyrical wit. However, there is enough of the great stuff to go round here, and I Misunderstood and Keep Your Distance are still live favourites, while Vincent Black Lightning is simply one of the most astonishing songs ever put to record and something all acoustic guitar lovers must here (or better still, see live). All in all, I don't think this is Thompson's best album, but it has many of his best moments. And because of that, it's pretty much essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best, 8 Sep 2004
By 
wolfcaster (W Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rumor And Sigh (Audio CD)
I find it odd that people spend time slagging tracks like Psycho Street which is just another facet of the multi-talented genius that is Richard Thompson. Does humour belong in music? Why not?
The fact remains that this is an excellent album all round and even if you leave aside the frivolous titles (e.g. Shands and PS) still contains enough stand-out material to shame most songwriters. It's not only his great melodies, clever lyrics and brilliant guitar playing that place RT a cut above most musicians but also his sheer versatility of styles as amply demonstrated on this album through classics such as Vincent Black Lightning, I Misunderstood, Keep Your Distance and many of the other cuts.
If you're not familiar with RT's output this is a good place to start. Also try 2002's The Old Kit Bag - another (faultless) classic. And if you get a chance to see him live, jump at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Late Starter., 28 Mar 2012
By 
Mitch (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rumor And Sigh (Audio CD)
This was the first RT album i ever bought, walking past Tower Records in central London i saw a big display in the window. Being a big Fairport fan for many years i knew of Richard but never took the plunge with any of his albums.
This one just blew me away, it is so good. I got all of his albums within the next year, and i keep an eye out for his next one.
I have seen him live both with fairport and as a solo artist many times. This is one of the best of RT's efforts, if not "the best".
Stick it in the car and leave it in for a few days.
Wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spinning jenny.folkclub.plc, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumor And Sigh (Audio CD)
Fantastic album up to Mr Thompsons usual standard, he is a musicians musician and always discovering new tuning and melodies from his early days in Fairport to today, check out Cropredy Festival near Banbury where he plays regular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I feel so good I brought this Album, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumor And Sigh (Audio CD)
Thompson at his absolute best! From "Don't sit on my Jimmy Shands" to "1952 Vincent" to "God Loves a Drunk". There isn't a weak track on the whole record. If your considering exploring Thompson back catalogue, then this would be the ideal starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably his best, 15 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rumor And Sigh (Audio CD)
I agree with man of the comments of Adam Norsworthy, but would still give it 5 stars for the brilliance of some of the tracks. Richard Thompson has lways has a slightly annoying habit of putting a couple of very forettable tracks on his albums and this is no exception. However, listen to some of the guitar work on the best tracks and realise why many think he is the best guitarist to come out of the UK. His work has real feel to it and it's original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Richard's Star Albums, 16 May 2004
By 
Geoff Batchelor (Baildon, W Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rumor And Sigh (Audio CD)
Astonishingly brilliant: ballads, rock, polkas; wit, twisted humour, despair; reality, dreams and surrealism. Thompson shows his full range here and demonstrates why he is one best songwriters around, and also one of the best guitarists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best from one of the best....., 8 May 2014
By 
H. Paton "Hugh" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumor And Sigh (Audio CD)
I won't repeat what others have said adequately, other than to sing the praises of 'God loves a drunk' as being one of the best songs ever by anyone anywhere :-) . Not only does he do a really good job of it here, he also plays brilliant guitar on Norma Waterson's version of the same song, which is as good as, if not better than, his own version.

If I were on a desert island with 2 songs only, they'd be that and Neil Young's 'Cinnamon Girl'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best, 8 Mar 2014
This review is from: Rumor And Sigh (Audio CD)
This was my first acquintance with RT's work when I bought it 22 years ago. I wasn't dissapointed :) The songwriting is highly varied, from acoustic folk to polka to rock (almost hard rock on a couple of tracks). The melodies are catchy (in a good way, not in a superficial Top 20 kind of way), the lyrics funny, biting or sharp (depending on which song), and the musicianship is at a rare level: this cd has both a great guitar playing and a great band backing him, combining both technique and passion. Some people may be alienated by the stylistic variation, but I feel it's a good thing. Many rock records are far to limited in scope... The closing track, "Psycho street", is kind of weird. It seems like a parody of the title song of a soap opera (i.e. Neighboors). I found it entertaining in it's way, but I sometimes skip it. RT's vocals are the "weak" point perhaps (in a relative sense). He's a better singer than several of his more famous colleagues, at least he has character and sings in tune. But he's not a virtouso singer and his tone is a bit dry. He grew more expressive and confident as a singer over the next years. Still, his vocals are quit good and fits the music, therefore it's not a big complaint. I'd give this 4 1/2 if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a talent., 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumor And Sigh (Audio CD)
Having recently rediscovered Richard Thompson, I now have the enviable task of collecting his music. This is my second purchase after the wonderful Mirror Blue and whilst I feel Rumor and Sigh is not as strong an album I am still in awe of Richard Thompson's musical talent, producing such a well played span of musical styles along with lyrics which have to be listened to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rumor And Sigh
Rumor And Sigh by Richard Thompson (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews