Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, great album!!
With no touring worries and time to concentrate on recording in the studio, Queen produced a masterpiece of an album with 'The
Miracle'. The best thing about this album is the rip-roaring guitar that can be heard right the way through it. The first couple of tracks, Party and Khashoggi's Ship are fun rock songs with the band thinking back to the wild and infamous...
Published on 6 April 2005 by Mr. C. Clarke

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love or hate, it's a good CD
Queen were very much a band that you either love, or hate. There's little room for indifference. For the fans, this album begins magnificently, with a blistering pair of tracks to open the account. The CD then rocks away into the four singles that one will find on Greatest Hits II, the rock of I want it all, the hope of "The Miracle", the comedy of "The...
Published on 14 Sep 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, great album!!, 6 April 2005
By 
Mr. C. Clarke (Newtownards, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Miracle (Audio CD)
With no touring worries and time to concentrate on recording in the studio, Queen produced a masterpiece of an album with 'The
Miracle'. The best thing about this album is the rip-roaring guitar that can be heard right the way through it. The first couple of tracks, Party and Khashoggi's Ship are fun rock songs with the band thinking back to the wild and infamous parties they held in the past! The miracle is a fantastic song with Freddie singing about how wonderful life is and how much you should appreciate it, obviously with hindsight you now can see that he wanted to enjoy the limited time he had left. Another song that can be linked to how freddie was feeling at this time was 'was it all worth it' in which he sings about all the pressures and excesses of being in queen and questioning whether it was all worth it or not, he eventually sings 'YES, it was a worthwhile experience!'
Other songs that i like on this album are the invisible man, breakthru (both containing great bass riffs from John Deacon)and i want it all, a great rock song written by Brian. This album is a must for Queen fans, it is what Queen are all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A snap-shot of Queen near the end of their output, 27 Mar 2002
By 
M. D. Rathbone (Runcorn, Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Miracle (Audio CD)
Freddie was already quite ill during the making of this album and the title was a nod to the fact that the band probably never expected to finish it, so much like "Innuendo" or "Made in Heaven" there are some fillers on it which reflect the best of the output available to them. That said, there were some better 'b' sides from the singles(e.g. "Hijack My Heart") which were mysteriously discarded from the album so you wonder how much material the band did have to juggle with at that point.
The singles clearly stand out, but special mention of "Was it all Worth it" is required as it is effectively Queen's autobiography.
Inferior to it's "Magic" predecessor and in many ways a better balance of tracks can be found on its successor (Innuendo) but still very representative of Queen's later output and worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Miracle (Audio CD)
I remember buying this album on vinyl when it first came out and was so excited when I played it for the first time. 20 years later and with all my vinyl gone I finally decided to buy this album on CD. I hadn't heard it for years but my interest in Queen has grown again recently. I'd always been a massive Queen fan but had been too busy with University, getting married and having children to sit back and give them a good listen these last few years.
I'm now revisiting the Queen albums again. This has all the hits from their final 80's album - breakthru, the miracle, invisible man, scandal and the wonderfully heavy I want it all. However, its the non-hits that I really love on this album. I especially love Rain must fall and think that Was it all worth it could have been another hit.
Well worth buying as it still sounds fresh today even though it's over 20 years old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love or hate, it's a good CD, 14 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Miracle (Audio CD)
Queen were very much a band that you either love, or hate. There's little room for indifference. For the fans, this album begins magnificently, with a blistering pair of tracks to open the account. The CD then rocks away into the four singles that one will find on Greatest Hits II, the rock of I want it all, the hope of "The Miracle", the comedy of "The Invisible Man" and the power of "Breakthru". The next few tracks do not dissapoint, though they are quite laughable in their way. "Rain Must Fall" is really a cheesy song...., and the 80's dance feel of "Scandal" is just that. Scandalous. Having said that, this song remains as one of the great Mercury vocal lines, and it stands alone as a good song on that strength. The soulful "My Baby Does Me" follows on, though good, the song could be seen as a simple time filler, before the superb "Was it all worth it?" at the end of which, Freddie sums up the entire Queen rollercoaster with the comment "It was a worthwhile experience" which sums this album up very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another awesome CD by a truly awesome band, 2 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Miracle (Audio CD)
The miracle is, I feel, one of the greatest Queen albums they ever produced. The main reason I think this is because of the incredible variation between the songs and the fact that they are all different but great in their own ways. Songs such as I want it all and Breakthrough are timeless classics which will always be remembered, but I particularly rate some of the tracks such as The Miracle and Scandal, which although admittedly they did'nt fare that well in the charts, they are very enjoyable to listen to and again, you don't get bored of them, even after hearing them many times. Overall, it is a great CD and one which is unfairly underrated by some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's Queen, 10 Jun 2009
By 
N. J. Rodgers (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Miracle (Audio CD)
One of Queens better albums for me. Certainly one of the best of their later career. It should appeal to casual and hardcore fans alike, as it caters for both, for instance the mainstream classics such as I want it all and the Invisible Man, and fan favourites such as Was it all worth it. It also contains something of a hidden gem in the Stompy 80's pop rock of Scandal. Why this song is not on either greatest hits 2 or 3 is a mystery. The Miracle contains a couple of iffy, but harmless tracks, but is generally full of excellent pop rock. I recommend it to fans certainly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine example of a good "Queen" Album., 21 July 2002
This review is from: The Miracle (Audio CD)
80's Queen was so distinct in style by this time that the album was not on it's own. "A Kind Of Magic", "The Works" and "Innuendo" are very compatible. This is by no means a reason to put the No.1 album down.
It kicks off to a good start with the good quality "Party" continuing with the mediocre (in comparison) headbanger "Khashoggi's Ship". The Next is the title track, "The Miracle". This was the 5th single to be released from the album, just missing the Top 20. The next is the world renowned "I Want It All", the 1st single to be released from the album and the biggest hit here reaching No.3 in the UK and hitting No.1 in many areas across Europe. "The Invisible Man" is one of the more light hearted Queen tracks. It was the 3rd single to be realased from the album providing them with a Top 20 hit in the UK. Moving on, "Breakthru" is the second most appreciated track, giving them a Top 10 hit all over Europe. It's sense of Rhythm and Bass don't fit in with Side Two though. "Rain Must Fall" is a first class Queen number that should have more to say for itself. "Scandal" was the 4th single released from this album peaking at No.25. It is brilliant with it's words and strange mixture of chords. "My Baby Does Me" and "Was It All Worth It" are rather boring, but "Was It All Worth It" has an auto-biographical touch and it is well worth a listen. This altogether is a fine example of what a good group at their best can achieve. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A return to form, 18 Jun 2006
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Miracle (Audio CD)
`The Miracle' is Queen's 13th studio album, and the first of two recorded while the band were under the shadow of Freddie Mercury's illness, though really the only sense that this could be a farewell album comes with the final track `Was It All Worth It': elsewhere this is an exuberant album which sees Queen recapture some of the vitality that was missing from the more soulless Mack-produced `80's albums.

If the album as a whole has a weak spot it's that of the opening three tracks: `Party' and `Khashoggi's Ship' are both enjoyable songs, but at only two and a half minutes running time each they both feel like appetisers for the album rather than fully developed songs, while title track `The Miracle' is ambitious but never quite gels into a convincing whole. From here on in though the album is stuffed full of bona fide classics, evenly divided between the hard rock of `I Want It All, `Scandal' and `Was It All Worth It' and a trio of pop songs with massive infectious bass hooks: `The Invisible Man', `Breakthru' and the calypso tinged `Rain Must Fall'. In amidst all this full-on Queen mayhem the band have the good sense to include one track that is restrained and laid back, and the funky `My Baby Does Me' lets some much needed space into the album.

It's not quite varied enough to rank alongside the bands glory years albums of the 70's, where they would change genre (and lead vocalist) every other track, but this is still a big return to form, and a good pointer for the bands further success with final album `Innuendo'. The bands last, and best, album of the `80's.

NB: Bonus tracks on some CD version include `Hang On In There' - originally the B-Side to `I Want It All' this is a worthy track to rescue from obscurity, `Chinese Torture' is a guitar solo that is frankly painful to listen to, and the 12" mix of `The Invisible Man' is fairly pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you want variety..., 16 Aug 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Miracle (Audio CD)
...buy this album. The Miracle is a fantastic combination of many aspects of Queen thrown into one album, and it works really well. The songs flow, the music is entertaining and fun, and it's generally a joy to listen to. Everything that you love about the band can be heard here basically - the harmonies, the guitar, the rock, the pop...everything...it's all there in some form. There is the occasional part where one thinks that the combination isn't as good as it could be, but overall this is a thoroughly entertaining album and is ten times better than I expected. I had doubts when I bought it, and when I first listened; but after my second go with it I was hooked. Really great music from a really great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best, 29 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Miracle (Audio CD)
I've listened to this album since I was tiny and my parent's bought it on casstte and I still think it's better than anything out now. It's my all time favourite album and as far as I'm concerned you can keep Brittney Spears and S-club 7 because this is by far the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Miracle
The Miracle by Queen (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews