Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you thought Ella Fitzgerald could scat......
This album is a sure thing. On one hand it has been used for advertising, soundtracks and has the popular appeal of Massive Attack, but on the other, it is truly soulful and moving. If you thought Ella Fitzgerald could scat wait until you stick this in your stereo. Nusrat has an incredible range and ability. Let him share it with you!
Published on 29 Feb. 2000 by get_stu@hotmail.com

versus
20 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pop Lite Version of a Magnificent Artist
This CD presents the magnificent voice of the late Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and some of his regular musical family playing with Western musicians, and treated to the "enhancements" of studio technicians and DJs. For those unfamiliar with him this may well be a knock-your-socks-off experience. However, for those who have been followers of Nusrat's career this is...
Published on 18 Jan. 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you thought Ella Fitzgerald could scat......, 29 Feb. 2000
By 
This review is from: Mustt Mustt (Audio CD)
This album is a sure thing. On one hand it has been used for advertising, soundtracks and has the popular appeal of Massive Attack, but on the other, it is truly soulful and moving. If you thought Ella Fitzgerald could scat wait until you stick this in your stereo. Nusrat has an incredible range and ability. Let him share it with you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical & ground-breaking Album & `World Music' Stars in the West!, 27 Dec. 2008
By 
Matloub Husayn-Ali-Khan "Matloub" (South Yorkshire, Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mustt Mustt (Audio CD)
By March 1999, it was my eight CD purchase from NFAK's music. Tracks nos 4, 7 & 9 from this album were on the whole average tracks. The track that surprised me the most - was "Jesse's theme" on hearing it again in 2004 on my radio show, I loved it. The tracks 1, 2,3,5,6,8,10 & 11 are the main highlights within this Album.

The Musst Musst (Lost in His Work) Album was an a experiment by Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan (NFAK) & Michael Brook which was recorded in 1989-90 and was a departure from more traditional Qawwali to a more western sound. It was also the historical and ground-breaking period of the previous decade when fusion was not just between black and white music, but between rock and pop and adults and kids - reigned supreme.

Peter Gabriel pioneer of 'globally attuned pop intellectualism' and his music also contained elements of everything from synth-pop to African Tribal rhythm and later to include religious/devotional sounds through to NFAK. The 1985 Womad Festival made him (Nusrat) a global star. Within five years, the ground-breaking track Musst Musst (Massive Attack remix) title track & Album was released and aimed at the western music market. To the purists it has been diluted down.

In western music, there is a narrow range of styles: Jungle becomes Jungle, Drum'n'bass, Tech-Step, Darkcore, Intelligent d'n'b; Rock becomes Metal, Thrash, and so on. In today's mass marketing of music CDs - tends to reduce the quality and raises the average price of a CD. However, such independent outlets like the Forum in Sheffield had to sell new albums at lower prices in order to compete in the market.

If sales from outlets like the Forum, and from the Islamic, Asian,African/Carribbean, and Tamil outlets were included mainstream charts system what would be the future scenario if the number one for six weeks was from a legendary Asian devotional music singer and what will this do to the nation's musical taste, overnight? Remember the nation's food tastes over twenty five years ago! It is essential to buy the sequel to Musst Musst: 'Night-song'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tere Bina (Without You) in itself is worth 4 stars !!!, 10 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Mustt Mustt (Audio CD)
If your new to the delights of Nusrat, and have yet to make a purchase of one of his studio albums, most people (will quite rightly) point you in the direction of this studio album. As to whether it's the best thing he's put his name to, isn't entirely clear, but what is beyond doubt, is that this is the perfect starting point for anyone deciding to enter into his music. Its has the accessibility for newcomers, (along with the "Massive Attack" remix of Mustt Mustt, tagged onto the end of the album), as well as the possibility that some of his best known songs are here (increasing the possibility of you knowing a track or two), and enough distingushed performances all round, to...if not become his best album, certainly ranks alongside his best work. And for anyone else that has a Nusrat album or two and DOESN'T have this in their collection already, well.....your next purchase is right here!!!! Tere Bina (Without You) in itself is worth 4 stars !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Possible confusion, 2 Aug. 2010
By 
Ben Basing (Roughly London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mustt Mustt (Audio CD)
I remember hearing NFAK's Mustt Mustt on a listening post in the Virgin Megastore when it was first released, I was curious as my knowledge of Indian sub continent music came from the all night prom in 1982 (or '83) and some of the (absolutely brilliant) Nimbus Indian recordings- but these were 'classical'. Mustt Musst is not, it's produced like a Peter Gabriel album! When I got to hear the whole disc on my own hi fi I was really taken with it- though the Massive Attack remix sounded a little overdone. My review title is simply to highlight that my disk has the same title and same sleeve artwork, but a different track listing:

1 Mustt Mustt
2 Nothing without you (Tery Bina)
3 Tracery
4 The Game
5 Taa Deem
6 Sea of Vapours
7 Fault Lines
8 Tana dery na
9 Shadow
10 Avenue
11 Mustt Mustt, Massive Attack remix

I probably ought to have given this disc five stars, but of the Khan/Brook CDs I own Night Song is my favourite- there are other similarly packaged NFAK CDs available, but Michael Brook makes a difference- probably completely inauthentic, but the results are worthwhile (especially if you have a system with strong bass!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mustt Mustt, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mustt Mustt (Audio CD)
I heard the second track of this on Cerys Mathews R6 show and it immediately felt like a must have track, which is rare these days.. when I got the album I was very happy with all of it, it has that brilliant transporting quality and not understanding a word of only helps with that. This is a current favourite album of mine as I'm not often in the mood for classical but don't always want rock etc. It is soulful but lively, I will probably investigate more Sufi music now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mustt Buy!, 20 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mustt Mustt (Audio CD)
Probably one of the few Asians to score so positively on the International front. The diversity in his music reaffirms his genius status. From qawaalis, to ghazals, to fusion, to soundtracks, to world music -- he has excelled in all. Also, with this album.
Being an Indian, one understands his music on a more personal level. Despite the tensions between the two countries, music has been one area which has always connected the so-called different worlds. The album consists of great blend of eastern and western music influences. Especially the title track (all the versions) and Tere bina. Songs you can't stop humming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Oct. 2013
By 
D.Aspinall (Conchar, Granada, ES) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mustt Mustt (Audio CD)
Great lived up to my expectations could recomend to anyone and would buy agin anytime very pleased with the purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pop Lite Version of a Magnificent Artist, 18 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mustt Mustt (Audio CD)
This CD presents the magnificent voice of the late Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and some of his regular musical family playing with Western musicians, and treated to the "enhancements" of studio technicians and DJs. For those unfamiliar with him this may well be a knock-your-socks-off experience. However, for those who have been followers of Nusrat's career this is watered down stuff indeed. It is ironic that after the usual diddling/remixing which seems a necessary part of pop music recording today that the result should be such a limp product compared to his "old fashion" performances. Clearly producer Michael Brook simply wasnt up to dealing with the incandescent power of the real Nusrat. If you think this slick production is great stuff - listen to his untampered with qawwali recordings and have your heart medication handy, 'cause you ain't heard nothin yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mustt Mustt (Audio CD)
Brilliant. Shall be looking for other works by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mustt Mustt
Mustt Mustt by Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews