Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Version of the Planets
This CD by EMI[1981] is actually a very engaging recording of the Planets from Simon Rattle and the Philharmonia. In fact, the more you listen to it, the more mesmerizing it gets. It starts off with a very dramatic Mars, followed by a beautiful version of Venus and a lively account of Mercury. The big surprise is Jupiter at a slower tempo then I have certainly heard...
Published on 28 Dec. 2010 by A/Burrows

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An obscure view of The Planets
I think the problem with this, Simon Rattle's first recording of The Planets, lies in the way it is recorded, more than in the performance or the interpretation. The sound is diffuse and certain elements, such as the tense side drum entries in the eerie middle section of Mars, are completely inaudible, with some instruments curiously recessed so that their contribution is...
Published on 19 Oct. 2010 by Dr. Rodney S. Newton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Version of the Planets, 28 Dec. 2010
By 
A/Burrows (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
This CD by EMI[1981] is actually a very engaging recording of the Planets from Simon Rattle and the Philharmonia. In fact, the more you listen to it, the more mesmerizing it gets. It starts off with a very dramatic Mars, followed by a beautiful version of Venus and a lively account of Mercury. The big surprise is Jupiter at a slower tempo then I have certainly heard before, and yet it works very well indeed. The final three planets Saturn, Uranus and Neptune are also very enticing to listen to, thanks to the fine playing of the Philharmonia Orchestra. Actually, Simon Rattle has now done a recording of the Planets with the Berlin Philharmonic. In my opinion his Planets version with the Philharmonia will be a very hard one to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astronomical, 27 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
A very good recording, of a very good version, of a very good piece of music. I found a version of this, 35 or so years ago, in a friends album collection who was, like me into pop, rock and soul. "What on earth is this?" "Play it" he said. I did and was sold within the first 20 seconds. It opened a door into a world of music that I wouldn't have bothered with at the time. Serendipity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, flowing interpretation., 18 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
After reading a review that damned this interpretation by Simon Rattle I felt I had to come to the defence of this recording, in my humble opinion it is one of the best I have heard as it has more raw energy and feeling than several of the more costly recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An obscure view of The Planets, 19 Oct. 2010
By 
Dr. Rodney S. Newton (East Barnet, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
I think the problem with this, Simon Rattle's first recording of The Planets, lies in the way it is recorded, more than in the performance or the interpretation. The sound is diffuse and certain elements, such as the tense side drum entries in the eerie middle section of Mars, are completely inaudible, with some instruments curiously recessed so that their contribution is masked (the organ is a casualty in this respect). Mars gets off to a brisk start, but one misses the skeleton's bones rattle of the 'col legno' strings and the bite of the timpani played with wooden sticks. The sound seems bathed in reverberation with a distinct lack of clarity in the middle and low ranges. Venus is suitably tranquil, but the superb solo horn sounds as if it is played off-stage and is not part of the orchestra at all, whilst the solo violin sounds thin and undernourished (there's also a mis-tuned D sharp in the violins in the ninth bar of the Andante which should have been spotted and an alternative take selected). Mercury bustles away merrily, but the sound is diffuse and the important glockenspiel and timpani rhythms indistinct. In Jupiter the sound is hash and strident above a 'forte' and the brass 11 bars before the end is muddy in the extreme. Saturn sounds as if it has one foot in the grave already, whilst Uranus fails to deliver its tricks with conviction, again more to do with questionable balance. Neptune sounds suitably mystical, although for me there is too much 'daylight' between the swinging chords of the female voices at the end. I have little quarrel with the interpretation and the Philharmonia responds with its usual excellence, but for me, the recording is the problem. In my opinion, for a good, low-priced Planets one cannot do better than Boult/LPO on EMI or Handley/RPO on Alto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world., 8 Nov. 2013
By 
T. G. Williams "Mingus" (Cheriton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
Great atmospheric music. Good listening at home, but especially good on a late night drive in the car.
Delivered on time. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sit & Listen, 9 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
I used to listen to this when I was at school, 40 odd years later I still like it. Just turn up the volume and sit & listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
I just love this performance, a delight on the ear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holst The Planets conducted by Simon Rattle, 8 May 2010
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
I always enjoy hearing these pieces by Holst. I do like the way that Simon Rattle has interpretation the music it flows nicely , you have the dramtic pieces just as they should be heard I believe. Pleasant listening a must have for the collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
Ok, it is what it is and at the end of the day when all's said and done, clichés aside, you get what you pay for. Arrangement is adequate, sound quality means I have to crank it up in the car to get any of the quiet nuances of the tracks, but it is the Planet Suite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
Great recording and arrived very fast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holst: The Planets
Holst: The Planets by Philharmonia Orchestra (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews