Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just goes to show how good they are Live!
An excellent live album, recorded about 2 years before the release of the film. Belushi's strong voice and Aykroyd's ability to motormouth through "Rubber Biscuit" and burn some tunes through his Blues Harp come together with the Band to perform a fantastic showcase for the crowd. An album that demonstrates why live shows are a test of real musicianship. Get...
Published on 23 Nov. 1999

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING - you may not be able to listen to this!
For "Digitally re-mastered" read "Digitally obfuscated". I have several devices capable of playing normal CDs in my house and this only runs on the 'proper' Hi-Fi CD player and in my car. Forget playing it on a laptop - yet alone consider ripping into your MP3 player; you'll have to pay twice.
Published 23 months ago by Big J


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just goes to show how good they are Live!, 23 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Briefcase Full Of Blues (Audio CD)
An excellent live album, recorded about 2 years before the release of the film. Belushi's strong voice and Aykroyd's ability to motormouth through "Rubber Biscuit" and burn some tunes through his Blues Harp come together with the Band to perform a fantastic showcase for the crowd. An album that demonstrates why live shows are a test of real musicianship. Get this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Blues Brothers at their best, 21 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Briefcase Full Of Blues (Audio CD)
A fantastic live album by the Blues Brothers, capturing the real buzz of a live show. A must have for everyone, not just blues fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Briefcase full of Blues: The Blues Brothers - Jake and Elwood rock the joint!, 9 Jun. 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Briefcase Full Of Blues (Audio CD)
Recorded in 1978, some two years before the release of the film, this is the first recording from the legendary Blues Brothers. Featuring John Belushi and Dan Ackroyd as Jake and Elwood Blues, with a backing group composed of a selection of talented musicians already well known and highly respected through work with Booker T and the MG's, the Bar-keys and Howlin' Wolf, this was an outfit packed full of energy, stagecraft and a love of rhythm and blues.

This album is a live concert, and the sheer energy of the band while blasting out these fast paced numbers is plain for all to hear. It is an album full of up-tempo soul, blues and rhythm and blues, with the occasional slow number thrown in to demonstrate that John Belushi actually wasn't a bad singer at all. There is a sense of humour, with the inclusion of the Elwood solo Rubber Biscuit, which works pretty well. It is a fun album of great music, well played by a band who are loving it. It's a blast, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING - you may not be able to listen to this!, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briefcase Full Of Blues (Audio CD)
For "Digitally re-mastered" read "Digitally obfuscated". I have several devices capable of playing normal CDs in my house and this only runs on the 'proper' Hi-Fi CD player and in my car. Forget playing it on a laptop - yet alone consider ripping into your MP3 player; you'll have to pay twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic blues brothers, 12 July 2004
This review is from: Briefcase Full Of Blues (Audio CD)
What can i say, if you love the Blues Brothers you cannot be without this album in your collection. It captures what Jake and Elwood where all about - Great live blues music. It`s not their best work but i never take it out of the cd player. I love it, i hope you do to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briefcase Full Of Blues (Audio CD)
great music, some of it Ihave not heard before considering i`ve got most of the blues bros cd and dvds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid R & B, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briefcase Full Of Blues (Audio CD)
A good simulation of a live performance by an R & B band. I especially liked the performance of 'Soul Man' and also the track 'Shotgun Blues'. One or two of the other tracks are a little quirky for my taste but that's what you would get at a live gig.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars live and dagerous, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briefcase Full Of Blues (Audio CD)
Had this album years ago on tape, remember tapes, lol, I've finally bought it on CD, remember CD' s, lol. I love this album Jake, Elwood and the boys playing live rhythm and blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quality music, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briefcase Full Of Blues (Audio CD)
The music is great and was delivered promptly, however the CD case was broken when it arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briefcase Full Of Blues (Audio CD)
Terrific album with a good range of songs from up tempo songs to slow blues songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Briefcase Full of Blues
Briefcase Full of Blues by The Blues Brothers (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews