Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Burnin' Sky, Bad Company - Not bad, but not quite hitting the heights either
This is the 4th studio album from the classic `70s supergroup Bad Company. Featuring vocalist par excellence Paul Rodgers, drummer Simon Kirke, guitarist Mick Ralphs and bassist Boz Burrell, this 1977 recording is a slight departure from their previous style, and doesn't quite hit the heights for me, especially as it comes on the back of a run of three incredibly...
Published on 23 Mar 2011 by Victor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
My least favourite of the 70s Bad Company albums.Apart from the title track, the rest of the album is pretty much mediocre and uninspiring. If new to Bad Company I recommend either the first album Bad Comapny or Straight Shooter as an introductory to the band.
Published on 1 April 2012 by Mark75


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Burnin' Sky, Bad Company - Not bad, but not quite hitting the heights either, 23 Mar 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Burnin' Sky (Audio CD)
This is the 4th studio album from the classic `70s supergroup Bad Company. Featuring vocalist par excellence Paul Rodgers, drummer Simon Kirke, guitarist Mick Ralphs and bassist Boz Burrell, this 1977 recording is a slight departure from their previous style, and doesn't quite hit the heights for me, especially as it comes on the back of a run of three incredibly impressive albums which somewhat raised my expectations.

A slightly lazy feeling pervades the music here, and a snese that the band are a little bored and jaded with what they are doing. There is still plenty of the powerful vocals, driving beats and excellent guitar work that made their earlier stuff a success, but now it feels a bit like they are just going through the motions a bit. And the misjudged knapsack is definitely a sign of a band starting to run out of steam a bit. There is still plenty o0f good stuff to be found however, which finds it some redemption and earns it 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bad co were one of the best groups from the ..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burnin' Sky (MP3 Download)
Bad co were one of the best groups from the 70s,maybe compared too much to free,they stood aloft on their own merits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a better than average release from a great band., 5 Aug 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Most people who have heard bad company and that's alot!, will generally agree with me that the first 3 bad co discs are incredibly strong works of modern rock music. Then came this one in which they switch direction a bit , the song 'burnin sky' is similiar to the greatness of the past work but the rest is a more relaxed afair. More bluesy and not as purposeful. However this is not a bad cd, in fact you only have one bad review on it. Still after three powerhouse releases this is a letdown to a degree. but a small degree! Fans mostly wanted a whole disc of 'burnin sky' type songs mainly! but they got this one and there are not alot of truly classic songs here at all. A few very good ones and some average ones. But compared to alot of music out there this is still a four star affair , even great bands make more average releases for sure. but this one has alot of very good songs on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 1 April 2012
This review is from: Burnin' Sky (Audio CD)
My least favourite of the 70s Bad Company albums.Apart from the title track, the rest of the album is pretty much mediocre and uninspiring. If new to Bad Company I recommend either the first album Bad Comapny or Straight Shooter as an introductory to the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the best., 13 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Burnin' Sky (Audio CD)
Replacing the vinyl. They still just blow me away, they were such a tight unit. Love the piano on the title track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bad Company rock!, 14 Oct 2010
By 
Mrs. E. Tillson "Elaine T" (Reading, Berks UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burnin' Sky (MP3 Download)
Bought this album many years ago and still have it on vinyl. Have been looking for it on CD for a while, especially since seeing Bad Company live earlier in the year, but decided to download to my ipod. Great album except for one track - why they decided to record Knapsack is a mystery to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bad Company album without a single hit on it, 19 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Burnin' Sky (Audio CD)
Bad Company put out six albums before they released their greatest hits collection, "10 From 6." You can appreciate where their fourth album, the 1977 release "Burnin' Sky" fits into their history by noting that it is the only album from which no songs were selected. The group does make a bit of an attempt to get away from the formula sound of Paul Rodgers soulful vocals and Mick Ralphs guitar work, which is represented by "Too Bad," "Man Needs Woman," and "Leaving You." But there is also attempt to work in some other musical styles from pop to jazz. It is just that none of them are really that good. Bad Company put out one of the best debut albums of the 1970s, but from the five albums that came out after that you could not put togethetr an album as good even if you made the selections yourself. "Burnin' Sky" is where a lot of people got off the Bad Company bandwagon. Not a bad move when you consider the next two albums are only going to produce one hit apiece ("Rock 'n' Roll Fantasy" and "Electric Land").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not BAD at all, 2 Aug 2005
By 
R. Larsen "Hard rock Rune" (Bergen, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burnin' Sky (Audio CD)
Why nothing from "Burnin`sky" was picked for the band`s best of collection 10 from 6, is to me unbelieveable.
I like this record very much, and among other qualities it contents some excellent gitar and drum work. A few of the songs are among my favourite Bad Company songs.
For you out there who havn`t listen to it, my recommedation is to give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not BAD at all, 31 July 2005
By 
R. Larsen "Hard rock Rune" (Bergen, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burnin' Sky (Audio CD)
Why no songs from this album were picked for the groups best of collection is a mystery to me. I like this album very much and a few of the songs found on it are among my favourite Bad Company songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Burnin' Sky
Burnin' Sky by Bad Company (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews