Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great construction toys for boys
What do you buy them? Lego? Stickle bricks? Well these are a bit different and require the same skills of building things and fixing them together. I first bought these for my son when he was 2 and a half. At first he found it tricky to fit the parts in the holes but a year on and he is slotting everything together himself, so 3-3 and a half is a good starting age. What I...
Published on 23 Sep 2009 by April Wallis

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great toy, but not as durable as I would have hoped
I bought this and the Lights & Action set for my 4 and 6 year old boys. They love them and play with them regularly. At first it took a little bit of parental interaction in order to teach them the basics but now they are very happy playing with the sets on their own.

The only problem with the gears is the struts. Sometimes it can be very hard disconnecting...
Published on 8 May 2011 by S. Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great construction toys for boys, 23 Sep 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Gears! Gears! Gears! Beginner's Building Set (Toy)
What do you buy them? Lego? Stickle bricks? Well these are a bit different and require the same skills of building things and fixing them together. I first bought these for my son when he was 2 and a half. At first he found it tricky to fit the parts in the holes but a year on and he is slotting everything together himself, so 3-3 and a half is a good starting age. What I like about this toy is that you can build something and make it move. Children can learn about cause and effect - "when you turn this handle this cog turns". Great little toy. The basic set packs away into a smallish box quite neatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colourful and interesting!, 4 Jan 2011
By 
Janie H (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Learning Resources Gears! Gears! Gears! Beginner's Building Set (Toy)
Learning Resources Gears! Gears! Gears! Beginner's Building SetFor kids of all ages! Something for all abilities with this toy - dads, 5 year-olds and pre-schoolers. My 2 grandsons just managed to get a look in and it kept everyone engrossed for ages. Sturdy construction and colourful. Definitely not something that will disappear into the back of the toy cupboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Gears! Gears! Gears! Beginner's Building Set (Toy)
my grandson is 3 & plays with this at nursery so i bought him one to have at home. its great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great toy, but not as durable as I would have hoped, 8 May 2011
By 
S. Robinson (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Gears! Gears! Gears! Beginner's Building Set (Toy)
I bought this and the Lights & Action set for my 4 and 6 year old boys. They love them and play with them regularly. At first it took a little bit of parental interaction in order to teach them the basics but now they are very happy playing with the sets on their own.

The only problem with the gears is the struts. Sometimes it can be very hard disconnecting the pieces, and two of the struts have split lengthways where the children tried to connect pieces together. I have written to the manufacturer and am awaiting a reply so I can't comment on the customer service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of gears!, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Gears! Gears! Gears! Beginner's Building Set (Toy)
This is great fun, a lot of combinations to feed your imagination. It is a classic toy and cannot go wrong with it.
Good value too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For mini engineers, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Gears! Gears! Gears! Beginner's Building Set (Toy)
My husband repairs watches and clocks so our 3 year old is fascinated with gears, he absolutely loves this as he thinks he is making his own clocks! The instruction booklet also has 3 good models in it to make and he adores the caterpillar. It is all really well made and robust and he has no trouble building with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bought as present, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Gears! Gears! Gears! Beginner's Building Set (Toy)
Bought this for my nephew for Christmas- he is 3. Difficult to put together and take apart but with adult supervision he really enjoyed the gears game. Great that you can buy more to add on aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can I have a go?, 27 Jan 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Gears! Gears! Gears! Beginner's Building Set (Toy)
Given as a gift to our 3.5 year old grandson, he won't let me near it!! I'll have to have a go when he's not looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, if a little limited, 28 Oct 2010
By 
P. Jones (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Learning Resources Gears! Gears! Gears! Beginner's Building Set (Toy)
Works really well, but as all the gears are the same size there's not that much variety you can do with it. There's plenty of expansion packs available though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this more than my nephew did!, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Gears! Gears! Gears! Beginner's Building Set (Toy)
I loved this toy... was teased as being the nerdy aunt but as long as my nephew liked it I don't mind! It's really good fun.. making all the gears fit and seeing them all move was good fun until toy was packed away and taken home.. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews