Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listings - Heart Like a Wheel, 16 Jun 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Steve Miller Band: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I agree with Siriam's review this really is one of the better Steve Miller Band selections.
It has 6 more tracks than other 'greatest Hits' colections and as Siriam's says it has no fillers.
It also has one of my fave Steve Miller tracks that others lack- Heart Like a Wheel.

BUT there is no track listing on Amazon so this may be of use to you.

Spot any mistakes? Just add a comment and I will correct.

Track Listing
1. Joker
2. Space Intro
3. Fly Like An Eagle
4. Jet Airliner
5. Dance Dance Dance
6. Give It Up
7. Keeps Me Wondering Why
8. Abracadabra
9. Swingtown
10. Jungle Love
11. Take The Money And Run
12. Rock'n Me
13. Stake
14. Heart Like A Wheel
15. Wide River
16. True Fine Love
17. Cry. Cry Cry
18. Serenade
19. Winter Time
20. Wild Mountain Honey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A superb compilation, 18 April 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Steve Miller Band: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Most people got to know Steve Miller through his smash hit "The Joker", a laid-back, good-natured boast with sparse instrumentation and a memorable melody.
"The Joker" hit #1 thirty years ago this year (and Steve Miller will celebrate his 60th birthday in October, by the way), and most of the songs on this album are from the seventies as well.
All his best-known songs are here, including "Rock n' Me", "Jet Airline", "Take The Money And Run" and "Abracadabra" (some people really, really loathe that song. I kinda like it, although I can see why not everyone shares my view).
"Greatest Hits" will satisfy everyone but the most dedicated, and it's the perfect album for the casual fan, or for the newcomer who wants to sample Miller's best work. It's a hits-compilation that actually delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Steve Miller post 1973 hits compilation, 7 April 2010
By 
Siriam (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve Miller Band: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Steve Miller has enjoyed well deserved success since 1973 and his breakthrough hit single "The Joker" after many years of releasing great LPs. The earlier CD "Greatest hits 1974-78" became a multi million seller helped in part one assumes on being a constant staple of classic radio stations with its selection of various tracks primarily off his 2 hit LPs "Fly like an eagle" and "Book of dreams" of that time period.

This 1998 compilation is a more comprehensive outing covering subsequent years hits with 20 tracks versus the prior million selling CD's 14 tracks, and especially "Abracadabra" from 1982, his last big hit single release. The selection and running order is excellent and lets you fully appreciate Miller's production and musical talents. The fact this comes with a liner note by Steve himself simply underlines he was closer linked with this release

I would recommend this as definitely the one to get over the later "Young Hearts - Complete greatest hits" CD release of 2003, which while at 22 tracks is longer has more later issued filler plus pre 1973 tracks to pad it out and misses key tracks from this release notably "True fine love" and "Heart like a wheel".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All round cd covers every one's tastes, 11 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Steve Miller Band: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
For the Steve miller fan, this cd will give you hours of enjoyment. It is a greatest hits compilation that really does contain all of them.
For those unfamiliar with the band it is instantly listenable, containing tracks that will grow on you and will become firm favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Steve Miller Band, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve Miller Band: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This greatest hits album covers the many year's work of the Steve Miller Band and as I was familiar with most of it I was pleased to get it all on the one album at last
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like 70's music!, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve Miller Band: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Really comprehensive selection from the Steve Miller back catalog - offering all the hits and album favouites. A great purchase for anyone wanting some 70's nostalga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve Miller Band: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Great compilation.I love it.Arrived promptly and well packaged from the US.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abracadabra..my favourite song by Steve Miller Band, 30 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve Miller Band: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I love this collection very much. It contains many hits by Steve Miller Band, especially "Abracadabra". I heard this song on the radio in 1982, and it was the first time when I drove my first car. It brought back many memories. I like the other songs such as "Joker", "Give it up","Fly like an eagle" as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steve Miller Band: Greatest Hits
Steve Miller Band: Greatest Hits by Steve Miller Band (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews