Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is It a Pure Morning Second Time Round?!
WYIN is an altogether more emotional album compared to Placebo's debut album, it seems, Mr. Molko and co were trying to create a series of songs that would target your inner feelings rather than to just be 'a good track' and this album does, mostly, succeed!Far from being my favourite Placebo album, it does contain some of their key tracks,which helped toward their...
Published on 4 July 2006 by The Banana Panorama

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars But the track I bought it for is really good!
I bought it for one track. Some of the rest are OK. But the track I bought it for is really good!
Published 5 months ago by Biscuit Tin


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is It a Pure Morning Second Time Round?!, 4 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Without You I'm Nothing (Audio CD)
WYIN is an altogether more emotional album compared to Placebo's debut album, it seems, Mr. Molko and co were trying to create a series of songs that would target your inner feelings rather than to just be 'a good track' and this album does, mostly, succeed!Far from being my favourite Placebo album, it does contain some of their key tracks,which helped toward their success!Everybody has probably heard 'Pure Morning', an extremely uplifting experience and a great start to the album, however, 'Brick Shithouse' is a massive letdown, then, the album finds its feet again, with a run of fantastic songs including my favourite Placebo track 'Without You I'm Nothing' and, it's this middle section of the album that is simply flawless, then, things die down again for the final three tracks, two of which aren't bad, but are noticably lacking in Placebo pleasure, with the exception of the beautiful and odd 'Burger Queen' which ends the album in fine form and if you can be bothered to fast forward to the 'Hidden Track', I think the majority of us may be a little underwhelmed, but, it's no great loss!Altogether a worthy purchase and one of the best albums of the nineties!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gotta love imports, 19 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Without You Im Nothing (Audio CD)
this is nothing more than the normal recording of without you i'm nothing EXCEPT it includes the awsome cover of t-rex's '20th century boy', taken from the film velvet goldmine.
music that will make you hyped up and music that will make you cry, without you i'm nothing is in my opinion Placebo's greatest album.
something for the new fans to deepen their love for placebo, and a must for every hardcore placebo fan. who cares if you already have the album, you need every version of every album and this one comes with cool japanese writing!!
wow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gutsy and Raw but polished, 4 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Without You I'm Nothing (Audio CD)
Their sound is quite unique not only because of Brian Moloko's voice but the music has everything. Uplifting, mellowing, even chilling!
This album is superb, a lot of the tracks either bite you or make you just sit back and listen.
It's an album mainly full of energy, Placebo have crafted an excellent piece of musical entertainment here - two tracks stop me giving it a 5 star rating, but only just. If indie is your thing, then this is a great Cd to add to your collection, you won't be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Need This Album!, 15 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Without You I'm Nothing (Audio CD)
I bought this album spontaniously.I had only heard Pure Morning and was hoping that the album was as incredible as that track.The album was TEN times better than i imagined.This album is a classic example of Placebo style.Full of emotion,inspiring riffs and Brian Molko's individual voice.All of the songs on this album are deep inspiring pieces of art,that each have a different story to tell.Placebo have done it again with this fantastic album.Placebo are not like other rock bands,because they cover a wide range of emotions and musical styles...and it actully sounds good!. This album has made me a religious fan of them.I listen to this album and i never tire of it. This is one album you will not regret buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing, 25 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Without You I'm Nothing (Audio CD)
Well boyz you've dun it again....This album is absolutely amazing. Any fan would be crazy to miss out on this experience. "My sweet prince","scared of girls" and "ask for answers" are the best trax yet. If you know their singles and are unsure if Placebo is the right band for you then trust me on this one...buy it. Cant wait for their new album containing their new single "taste in men". You boys are the only ones who actually understand everything so once again you have written down my very thoughts and inhibitions.Thankyou Placebo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY FIRST RATE INTELLIGENCE!, 19 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Without You I'm Nothing (Audio CD)
This album is, quite simply, the best thing on this earth since the morning-after pill, and somehow manages to fulfill everything asked by a member of present-day society to be on an audio music CD. It manages to move from the hard, raw energy of 'Brick Shithouse' to the dulcet tones of 'My Sweet Prince' with apparent ease. It rocks, not in the average 'moderate vibrations' way, but the huge 'hold on to your seats' kinda way. I thoroughly recommend a listen to everyone, bearing in mind, however, that it won't be to everyone's taste, but worth a damn good listen anyway. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes hard, sometimes tender, 14 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Without You I'm Nothing (Audio CD)
It's hard to summarise an album that contains so much. From the urgency of "Summer's gone", with it's promise that Molko will be watching you from beyond the grave, to the brittleness of "Without you I'm nothing", the plea of anyone that's ever been trapped in a destructive relationship. This album is not light on the ears, you can choose to get involved with the lyrics or music. Whichever you choose, there's no room for passengers. A solid, reliable album that will not disappoint. One word of warning - it's best played loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding!, 14 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Without You I'm Nothing (Audio CD)
It may not have the rifts of the first album but the lyrics are amazing. The slow songs are the better songs on the album. The secret song has an amazing rift. This album really shows Molko's side of life. The songs will always stick with you. More suitable for the pop generation than the first album but still not a pop album( thank god! ). I hope to hear more from the band in coming years and I hope the band get as much praise as they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An album of stark beauty cementing Placebo's future., 27 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Without You I'm Nothing (Audio CD)
It had seemed that Placebo's future had already been decided, to follow in their first album's footsteps into spiky, almost savage guitar riffs fueled by Brain's brooding sexuality: perhaps too close to Marilyn Manson for British comfort. However, life is not like that and Placebo have created an album of the rarest thing: beauty. Stark,uneasy lyrics cling to the eeire production skills of Brian himself. The music shows influences from, most noticably, 'The Cure', as well as the vocal links to 'Rush' which combines to make harrowing listening; 'The Crawl'and 'Burger Queen' show Placebo at their delicate best. Brian leaves it to the title track to conjure the most spine tingling moment of the album. This was the album that we all hoped Placebo would make, as they run riot into the fledging group of great British bands of the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars stunning and original, 16 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Without You I'm Nothing (Audio CD)
In general, absolutely brilliant. 'Every me, every you' is absolutely astounding and 'pure morning' is too. I felt that a couple of the songs did not live up to Placebo's previous glories such as 'Nancy Boy', but in general a really brilliant and original album, in typical Placebo style. Definately buy it if you like punk-rock and bands such as Bush, Muse, Smashing Pumpkins and Limp Bizkit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Without You I'm Nothing
Without You I'm Nothing by Placebo (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews