Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice
This album is a nice, must have collector's item.
Even so if you are going to buy it, I strongly recommend the version with the B Sides.
With the regular one CD version all you get is a compilation of all the radio songs, and some songs that don't really show anyone what U2 were about in the 80's.
From Joshua Tree there are only hits in the...
Published on 14 Jan 2006 by Maria Carvalho

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok.
I read many reviews raving about the B-sides on this CD. I found them lame, very poorly sung by Bono. Disc one was ok though. 5 out of 10 from me.
Published 7 months ago by Dave S


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 14 Jan 2006
This review is from: U2: The Best of 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
This album is a nice, must have collector's item.
Even so if you are going to buy it, I strongly recommend the version with the B Sides.
With the regular one CD version all you get is a compilation of all the radio songs, and some songs that don't really show anyone what U2 were about in the 80's.
From Joshua Tree there are only hits in the album... only the radio songs as I call them, and War is almost neglected, as is Boy and October...
For some reason there are a lot of songs from Rattle and Hum...
I don't really understand why the B Sides version was the Limited edition, it doesn't make sense for U2 to make a 'Best of' album of only hits when they clearly are a band with such great songs that never manage to make it onto single.
Here in Portugal I didn't even see any other edition rather than the 2 CD's one, bless that.
So yeah, I recommend this version, the "limited" one if you already know U2 and love them beside their singles. ;)
If not, what bad can it do you listening to some good B sides...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GENIUS, 22 Jun 2004
This review is from: U2: The Best of 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
THIS ALBUM CAN ONLY BE DESCRIBED AS PURE GENIUS. THE B-SIDES ARE AS GOOD AS THE A-SIDES WITH MY FAVOURITE BEING THE UNIQUE VERSION OF UNCHAINED MELODY. THE ORIGINAL OF THIS SONG WAS SANG WITH NO PASSION AT ALL ALTHOUGH THE WORDS OF THE SONG ARE SOMETHING YOU WOULD BE SAYING IF YOU WERE IN TURMOIL. BONO MANAGES TO SING THE SONG AS THOUGH HE MEANS WHAT HE IS SAYING. I WAS TOTALLY BLEW AWAY BY THIS VERSION OF THE SONG. ON THE A-SIDES IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO HAVE A FAVOURITE AS THEY ARE ALL BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Sep 2002
This review is from: U2: The Best of 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
This is an excellent collection of U2's work, but it lacks maybe one or two tracks that I feel really should have made it on here.
The B sides are excellent, having heard most of them before it was no surprise, but my favourite track on here, is Spanish Eyes without a doubt, loved it when I first heard it in The Joshua Tree days but it still makes me smile.
Got to be bought if you're a fan and even if you're not a U2 fan, this album should be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A band WORTHY of a best of!, 2 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: U2: The Best of 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
Not that many bands can FILL a CD with material worthy of the description 'best of'.
That U2 have successfully managed to fill TWO says a lot about their longevity and the usual high quality of their work.
I'm not a die-hard U2 fan, all that ZooTV stuff lost me totally, but I can honestly say neither this album (or the post 1990 one) has a track you could describe as filler material.
Looking back, some of the Zoo era stuff WAS good, even great, and that's what these albums let you do.
Well worth buying even if you already have some U2 albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: U2: The Best of 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
Pleased with purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: U2: The Best of 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
For the fans this is a must-have, very good selection of the best musics of the 80's decade!

I Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FAB, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: U2: The Best of 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
THIS ALBUM IS FAB i LOVE U2 AND i LISTEN TO IT ALL THE TIME i AM GOING TO BUY MORE U2 ALBUMS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars U2 best of.., 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: U2: The Best of 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
its U2, what can I say. item in great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for 1p, 9 May 2013
By 
laurie (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: U2: The Best of 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
CD arrived promptly and in very good condition. Well packaged. Plays well. What more could one ask for a penny. Brilliant. Will definitely buy from seller again. Cannot recommend enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it does what it says on the front, 4 Mar 2013
By 
A. Hall (Nr Hull, East Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: U2: The Best of 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
the best and nothing but the best
all the songs I love in one place speakers watch out here they come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

U2: The Best of 1980-1990
U2: The Best of 1980-1990 by U2 (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews