Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Live Recording in History!
Words alone can't express how good this album is, but I'm going to try. I first heard Livetime when a friend of mine played it to me. Instantly I was hooked by the sheer musicality of the definitive prog-metal band. The versatitlty is made more than apparent, and there are moments of mellow light rock, jazz fusion and unadulterated power. The fact the sound is so precise...
Published on 13 Oct 2000

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great band, shame about the vocals
The live album from Dream Theater's Falling Into Infinity tour (and the last to feature Derek Sherinian on keyboards) is a mixed bag.

Musically, the band are on top form, although the individual solos by Sherinian, Portnoy & Petrucci are a little over-long; they wear their influences for all to see, and segues into short versions of cover-songs abound (watch...
Published on 9 Feb 2009 by J. D. Garten


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great band, shame about the vocals, 9 Feb 2009
By 
J. D. Garten "Jim Garten" (Stevenage, Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once In A Livetime (Audio CD)
The live album from Dream Theater's Falling Into Infinity tour (and the last to feature Derek Sherinian on keyboards) is a mixed bag.

Musically, the band are on top form, although the individual solos by Sherinian, Portnoy & Petrucci are a little over-long; they wear their influences for all to see, and segues into short versions of cover-songs abound (watch out for snippets of Freebird, Enter Sandman, Have A Cigar & Moby Dick).

The only problem with this album is they should have allowed LaBrie a few overdubs, as when he's stretching his range, he either screeches, or loses the key entirely; this is by no means all the time, but enough to make you wince occasionally.

Overall though, a very good live album, especially if (like me) you prefer the earlier material and Sherinian to Rudess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Live Recording in History!, 13 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Once In A Livetime (Audio CD)
Words alone can't express how good this album is, but I'm going to try. I first heard Livetime when a friend of mine played it to me. Instantly I was hooked by the sheer musicality of the definitive prog-metal band. The versatitlty is made more than apparent, and there are moments of mellow light rock, jazz fusion and unadulterated power. The fact the sound is so precise is testement to the individual band members' technical expertise. It's hard to believe that it's actually a live recording! Watch out for the drumming of Mike Portnoy - you'll wonder how he can physically play like he does with only four limbs (I've seen them play live, and after an hour and a half of the concert he was able to keep playing whilst bouncing up and down!). Also watch out for guitarist John Petrucci. His playing is a paradigm of the band's overall style. In one concert you get spanish guitar (Hollow Years), blues (Lines in the Sand), squeally metal solos (Peruvian Skies) and even a bit of classical (he breaks into 'Flight of the Bumblebee' during his 8 minute long guitar solo). All I can say is "Buy this album!". Since hearing it about 20 months ago I've got all their other albums, and have made it to 2 UK gigs. There are musically gifted bands out there but DT are at the top of the list. If you like this album it's worth looking at all their other releases as well as 'Liquid Tension Experiment' and 'Liquid Tension Experiment 2' by Liquid Tension Experiment (a spin off band including both Portnoy and Petrucci, and also DT's new Keyboardist, Jordan Rudess).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation album, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once In A Livetime (Audio CD)
This group is rather too hard rock for my taste but it is always nice to have a compilation album so as to have represented in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dream Theater, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once In A Livetime (Audio CD)
All you ever want from a live album. Dream Theater are on form and playing to their masterly best. They have to be the top prog rock outfit in the galaxy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Live recordings of Dream Theater, 14 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. F. C. Williams (South West UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once In A Livetime (Audio CD)
Covering their early albums, pre James Labrie,pre Jordan Rudess and Mike Mangini.
The early days are showing how much Rush had a huge influence in the type of progressive music these guys have created.
The earliest songs are reminiscent of Rush albums of the same era.There are several riffs, music sections and vocal sections that remind me of Rush, Van Halen, David Coverdale, Queen and even George Michael.
I absolutely love the music this band have made. In the way that the best progressive bands' music makes you want to play it over and over again, these guys have that.
Each playing brings something extra to the fore that is not noticed on the first playing or even the second or third. There is just soo much to listen to that it's too much to take in all at once.
I never get tired of hearing their music and the lyrics are so meaningful.
CD2 Has the most well known tracks on it and an amazing solo by John Petrucci. He has to be the best progressive guitarist of all time ( and I grew up listening to Zep, Purple and Floyd) and it is all performed with such humbleness, no showing off showmanship that makes me feel very privileged to have had the chance to listen to such wonderful music.The lyrics are very thought provoking and meaningful showing a maturity well beyond the ages of the band members.How did they get to be so philisophical at such a young age?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jawdropping live album!, 1 Oct 2011
By 
Andrei Aciobanitei "Andrei" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once In A Livetime (Audio CD)
This is one very honest live cd. Why honest? Because there are moments when indeed Labrie`s voice seems overused but you have to respect the band for not changing it in the studio. They left it raw and pure as it should be. Let`s keep in mind that songs like Voices or Take the time are incredibly difficult to perform live vocaly.
Dream Theater include in their own songs melodies from Floyd, Zeppelin, Metallica and Skynyrd. Petrucci`s guitar solo is out of this planet. The playlist is perfect. The sound of Sherinian`s keyboards is the best from all the live albums that Dream ever put out. One amazing concert. You have to own it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DT Live, but not really alive!!!, 12 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Once In A Livetime (Audio CD)
This live extravaganza is on the whole an excellent display of DT's prowess of the Prog Rock genre, although LaBries vocals on the first few tracks are very weak, and the guitar/keyboard sound a wee thin. But then they wake up, and blow you away. Could be better though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing live performance, 18 Jan 2002
This review is from: Once In A Livetime (Audio CD)
OK, maybe I am biased as I was at the Paris when it was recorded, but I still think this is one of the best live recordings and an absolute must for all DT fans. They were in reat form that night and played for ages, and brought out all the good songs, even some from awake and images and words. Their mood changes throughout the album, but in my view the best moment is the transition from the amazing guitar solo to Pull me under which just blew me away then, and still does every time I put it on. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once In A Livetime (Audio CD)
Great musicianship, just cant stand the singer's voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once In A Livetime
Once In A Livetime by Dream Theater (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews