Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You need to hear this... you really do.
This as hands down one of the most astonishing recordings I have ever heard. I bought it knowing a bit about tango, and a bit about Piazzolla, but regardless of that, this is incredible music. The music itself is gorgeous - dark, beautiful, ominous, brooding and deeply passionate. The playing is beyond compare - laser precise and yet at the same time gritty and rough...
Published on 28 April 2008 by MikeH

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adictive
Certainly not what I expected. I was unsure at first, It grows on you. Passionate, don't think I could dance to it.
Published on 10 Aug 2010 by Dinga


Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You need to hear this... you really do., 28 April 2008
By 
MikeH (London town) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Piazzolla: Tango Zero Hour (Audio CD)
This as hands down one of the most astonishing recordings I have ever heard. I bought it knowing a bit about tango, and a bit about Piazzolla, but regardless of that, this is incredible music. The music itself is gorgeous - dark, beautiful, ominous, brooding and deeply passionate. The playing is beyond compare - laser precise and yet at the same time gritty and rough. This is very much a band effort, and what a band - they swing, caress and whip up thunder.

Apparently this angered the tango purists in Argentina, as did much of Piazzollas output, and I can see why - this is modern, vital music, with clear influences from jazz, classical music and even the rush of punk. I must emphasise that you do not need to know much about tango to enjoy this, and also that this is so far removed from safe "world" music as to be in the next galaxy.

If you want to hear the raw emotional power and deep passion that music is capable of expressing, listen to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A dark and different beat, 9 Aug 2000
This review is from: Piazzolla: Tango Zero Hour (Audio CD)
I thought I'd get sunny Latin rhythms for dancing about to in my living room... but this is dark and intriguing music. There are fast pieces with that classic, off-the-beat tango rhythm on accordian, but laced with a sinister-sounding violin accompaniment. Plus slow and melancholy tunes with piano and guitar, strange harmonies. Too dark for a dinner party, but if you want to encounter something new in world music, try this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime in the true sense of the word, 21 Aug 2010
This review is from: Piazzolla: Tango Zero Hour (Audio CD)
If you like Gotan Project but find their stuff a tad too loungy/kitschy, get this instead. If I had to pick one piece of music to listen to for the rest of my life, it would be Concierto Para Quinteto off this album.
For equally mind-blowing but totally different accordion music, check out Kluster by Kimmo Pohjonen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tango Music, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piazzolla: Tango Zero Hour (Audio CD)
This is an excellent recording which has both clasical and jazz influences. Astor was at the peek of his playing as were the rest of the group. It is album you can't tire of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic recoding, 7 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piazzolla: Tango Zero Hour (Audio CD)
In my opinion, one of the top ten Argentine tango records of all time. Beautiful and inspiring music. It does not get any better than that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry!, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piazzolla: Tango Zero Hour (Audio CD)
There many CDs out there with Piazzollas music, but not many of them are maestros recordings, where he plays bandoneon himself. I purchased 'Tango Zero Hour' and 'The Rough Dancer and the Cyclical Night'. Tango Zero Hour is a very emotional, poetic and romantic album. Violin solos make some pieces extremely romantic and in general the music is perfectly arranged and wonderfully performed by the musicians. Tango motives here are meant to be listened and not danced, they are beautiful improvisations, often a mix from classical music, jazz and tango.

Personally I also own 'The Central Park Concert', which is a live album recorded in New York. Songs are almost identical with 'Tango Zero Hour', but in my opinion the live concert is sometimes even more interesting and fresher than this studio recording. But unfortunately 'The Central Park Concert' is very expansive to buy on amazon, so I got it from iTunes. In the end I also wanted to own a physical copy of this wonderful music and bought this CD as well. I don't regret my purchase, sometimes it is good not to hear people applauding to the piece in the middle of the music. Piazzollas music is wonderful, poetic, contemporary and at the same time full of old folklore motives. This recording is an absolute MUST for Astor's fans.

The CD itself was delivered in a cardboard sleeve with a large booklet in different languages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars truly amazing, 19 Jun 2012
This review is from: Piazzolla: Tango Zero Hour (Audio CD)
This album is truly amazing! It is new, modern, and yet so very essentially tango, even if many tangueros do not share my opinion. It is mysterious and yet familiar, it is dark and yet full of vitality, it is passionate and yet so melancholic at times...
I love the mixtures, I love the music, the game, the dance Piazzolla plays. In tango music and dance are interconnected and it's all part of a game, of a scenario. Piazzolla is the creator of a wonderful, grand scenario, of a new - and yet so very rooted in its tradition - tango world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music!, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piazzolla: Tango Zero Hour (Audio CD)
Wow! Just wow! One of the best CDs I have ever bought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adictive, 10 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piazzolla: Tango Zero Hour (Audio CD)
Certainly not what I expected. I was unsure at first, It grows on you. Passionate, don't think I could dance to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars piazzzola:tango zero hour, 30 Oct 2010
This review is from: Piazzolla: Tango Zero Hour (Audio CD)
Der Sir

no problem with the product arrival,however the case was quite badly damaged( but not the CD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Piazzolla: Tango Zero Hour
Piazzolla: Tango Zero Hour by Astor Piazzolla (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews