Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Motown from a classy lady
Brenda Holloway made some truly superb recordings with Motown - most of them are represented here on this album which is a bargain in anyone's books. There are so many classic tracks it's hard to know where to begin.
My favourite Brenda Holloway track is I'll Always Love You (not the same song as the release from The Detroit Spinners also on Motown) - an excellent...
Published on 27 Dec 2003 by Kevin Cooke

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of Motown's greatest singers
One of Motown's very greatest singers (although as she was based in Los Angeles and refused to play the record company game, somewhat undervalued), and a classically-trained violinist, Brenda Holloway made some of the most memorable singles on a label famous for its memorable singles.
All of the 9 singles released during her Motown lifetime turn up here (with 6 of...
Published on 13 April 2005 by Lozarithm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Motown from a classy lady, 27 Dec 2003
By 
Kevin Cooke "Mystery Singer" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits & Rare Classics (Audio CD)
Brenda Holloway made some truly superb recordings with Motown - most of them are represented here on this album which is a bargain in anyone's books. There are so many classic tracks it's hard to know where to begin.
My favourite Brenda Holloway track is I'll Always Love You (not the same song as the release from The Detroit Spinners also on Motown) - an excellent deep soul side which was issued as a single in the USA and made one various artists EP in the UK as well as Brenda's only UK Tamla Motown album - The Artistry of Brenda Holloway. It also featured on a classic album Motown Memories Volume 2 (TML11077) back in the 60s.
Co-incidentally, Together Til The End of Time was on the first Motown Memories album (TML11064) and was actually released as a UK single. Fantastic song and performance.
Every Little Bit Hurts is probably Brenda's best known work and this song was recorded by many different artists in the 60s including The Small Faces.
When I'm Gone - another song released on several albums and covered by many other artists. Rightly so. Brenda improves on Mary Wells' original version I think. Worth the price of the album on it's own.
Some excellent dancers also feature, witness Just Look What You've Done andStarting the Hurt All Over Again. Both tracks featured on the Motown Disco Classics series of albums in the 70s.
Brenda co-wrote You've Made Me So Very Happy - personally I've always preferred her version to the more famous one by Blood, Sweat and Tears. Smokey Robinson had a hand in many of Brenda's tracks - Who's Lovin You, When I'm Gone, I'll Be Available for example. Berry Gordy himself wrote You Can Cry On My Shoulder.
In addition to the above, I can recommend Hurt A Little Everyday (in the same genre as Every Little Bit Hurts and I'll Always Love You), Where Were You (written by the Lewis Sisters), How Many Times Did You Mean It, Operator and I've Got To Find It.
The only one from this album which is a dud (in my opinion) is Unchained Melody. There are many much better versions of this song out there.
So what's missing ?
There was loads of material in the can by Brenda, some of this is now seeing the light of day and being released on Motown compilation CDs. Try Reconsider from the This is Northern Soul series or other unreleased tracks from Ms Holloway on A Cellarful of Motown. In fact there could be enough stuff around for a second Brenda Holloway Greatest Hits and rare Classics CD.
Finally, could Motown please, please, release the original Brenda Holloway album on CD, including original artwork, which was issued on the Tamla label in the USA back in the sixties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motown's greatest unsung hero., 24 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits & Rare Classics (Audio CD)
When you hear "Every Little Bit Hurts" you will understand why when the Beatles heard it they insisted that she be a part of their 1965 North American Tour. She did the tour and was the only female artist ever to do so.
Described as the most beautiful woman ever signed to the Motown label Brenda was a phenomenal talent. If she had only been based in Detroit and not in LA then she would have undoubtedly become one of Motown's biggest stars rather than their greatest unsung hero.
All of the tracks are from 1964-67 and writing credits include Berry Gordy, Ashford & Simpson, a certain W Robinson and Brenda herself. I won't discuss specific tracks as there are far too many superb tracks to detail here. Before buying this CD I had heard little of Brenda and bought it on the strength of a recommendation and I hope you can do the same. Whether you are a Motown aficionado or a casual listener don't miss this album.
-- zoq@iname.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of Motown's greatest singers, 13 April 2005
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits & Rare Classics (Audio CD)
One of Motown's very greatest singers (although as she was based in Los Angeles and refused to play the record company game, somewhat undervalued), and a classically-trained violinist, Brenda Holloway made some of the most memorable singles on a label famous for its memorable singles.
All of the 9 singles released during her Motown lifetime turn up here (with 6 of their B-sides), including her two best known songs, Every Little Bit Hurts, on which she also plays viola, and You've Made Me So Very Happy, which she co-wrote with her younger singer sister Patrice, along with Berry Gordy and Frank Wilson. Both of these are of course sublime and essential to any Motown collection.
The other 3 tracks are made up from Brenda Holloway's only proper album Every Little Bit Hurts, from 1964 (Tamla Motown UK later put together a compilation called The Artistry Of Brenda Holloway), and include her soulful version of Unchained Melody. Who knows, perhaps it was hearing this that inspired Phil Spector to revive the song the following year?
Although this collections omit some excellent material, it does score over The Very Best Of Brenda Holloway by using stereo mixes for 6 of the tracks, though sadly this does not include Every Little Bit Hurts. Some of the mastering is slightly muddy on other tracks. Hurt A Little Every Day is by far the most disgraceful, sounding as if it was mastered from a well-worn stereo acetate, and without any explanation or disclaimer in the notes. 
Some of the tracks were produced in Detroit by Smokey Robinson and include versions of the Miracles' Who's Lovin' You and I've Been Good To You. There was an attempt to mould her as the new Mary Wells, so versions of her 1962 B-side Operator and When I'm Gone (which Mary Wells had recorded but which Motown did not release until 1966) were made at this time. She does a great job on them but was unhappy with the direction she was being obliged to take and returned to Los Angeles before the sessions were complete.
The need for a 2CD retrospective using new mixes from best quality stereo masters and including unreleased material was still badly needed at the time of this release, but until such time this needed to be on your Motown shelf. However, the release in 2005 of the Brenda Holloway 2CD Motown Anthology answers much of this deficiency, and gives consumers the choice as to the extent of Brenda Holloway's work they want in their collection, though this remains a useful introduction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Soul to move your heart and feet, 15 May 2005
By 
TheJonesBoy "TheJonesBoy" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits & Rare Classics (Audio CD)
Brenda Holloway crafts some of the sweetest soul on this LP. Stand out tracks include the flawless How Many Times Did You Mean It? as well as the better-known Every Little Bit Hurts. Not a compilation with any tracks that you'll want to skip. As the title suggests, it ticks all the boxes and a bit more. On vinyl these tracks would cost a small fortune, at this price can afford to not pop for this treasure trove?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Covered by many, 2 May 2008
This review is from: Greatest Hits & Rare Classics (Audio CD)
Every little bit hurts was not typical of T M at the time.The song was by an outside writer Ed Cobb who was one of the 4 Preps and it was covered by Cilla Black as well as a few groups like the Spencer Davis one.A classical sounding song with an aching melody which suited Cilla Black but not really groups like the Small Faces.Which makes you wonder why TM should have signed her especially as she'd been on the Crest label 2 years earlier or why they saw her as a replacement for the recently departed Mary Wells who had previously recorded what became her next single which was shelved as TM were beginning to lose the plot when the song became her next single as When I'm Gone which was typical of the label keeping with a winning formula yet there was no reason why it couldn't have been the next Mary Wells single.The fact that she'd left the label due to an investment problem with money had never stopped any label cashing in with an artist doing the same eg Johnny Cash
A later single- You made me so very happy-sold better via a cover by Blood Sweat & Tears
Her sister Patrice was on the Capitol label and cut a single called Love & Desire-which was nearer the mark.Later she signed to TM and came to nothing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic voice, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits & Rare Classics (Audio CD)
This a wonderful album of music which isn't from the main Motown artists from back in the day.
Hear a real star , which hasn't been herd the main stream fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brenda Holloway, what a voice!, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits & Rare Classics (Audio CD)
Absolutely fabulous CD, This lady can really sing, fantastic tracks. I would recommend this CD to any Motown/Northern Soul fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits & Rare Classics (Audio CD)
Great album that is full of songs by a unsung artist of motown. Would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of soulful songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits & Rare Classics (Audio CD)
a well put together compilation of Brenda holloways top tunes like other motown album releases this will touch the parts that modern manufactured "music" crap will not and never will ,as I am still dj ing this era of soul and motown still has a great following ,and I only play vinyl .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME !, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits & Rare Classics (Audio CD)
Awesome female motown artist . with ALL her top tunes . Motown brilliance at it`s very very best .Highly recommended !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits & Rare Classics
Greatest Hits & Rare Classics by Brenda Holloway (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews