Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Evita of them all!
Despite being condensed onto only one disc this must be the premier choice for anyone coming to Evita for the first time. There has never been a better Eva than Elaine Paige. She soars in this role giving a performance of flinty beauty and steel. You can really believe Eva's struggle and determination and when the end comes it is devastating.

David Essex...
Published on 8 Oct. 2011 by Anthony

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the original London cast
Unfortunately this is not the original cast of 1976, but the one of 1978 which is not what I was looking for.
Published 4 months ago by Petra Jakobsen


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Evita, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evita - Original London Cast Recording (Audio CD)
I bought this after going to see the musical earlier this year, loved all the songs, although I preferred the voices of most of the singers in 2013 musical show except that of David Essex, not even Marti Pellow could outdo him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The original...... and still the best!!, 8 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Evita - Original London Cast Recording (Audio CD)
This is a great musical and as with all great musicals as the years go by it continues to be reworked and reproduced. For me this original album will always be the best!! A great buy that I will listen to over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evita - Original London Cast Recording, 9 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Evita - Original London Cast Recording (Audio CD)
My father used to play this all the time in his car many moons ago!! Bought it and was transported back but also reminded of the quality of the music. This is a must to have in anyone's collection..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought it was amazing then and after hearing this it still sounds amazing, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evita - Original London Cast Recording (Audio CD)
This was a surprise present for my husband. We saw Evita in the West End of London with this cast just after it opened. Thought it was amazing then and after hearing this it still sounds amazing..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Evita..., 10 Oct. 2013
By 
Becky Lake "Blue William" (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evita - Original London Cast Recording (Audio CD)
Elaine Paige is stunning, with David Essex her perfect foil. I had this double album as a child, and was lucky enough to see the amazing show itself. The only CD you should buy for Evita.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evita (CD), 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evita - Original London Cast Recording (Audio CD)
I have good memories of seeing the show in London about 35 years ago and buying the LP and singing along to all the songs. So now having the CD it stirs many good thoughts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evita - Original London Cast recording, 9 April 2013
By 
Tone: "Historical Fad" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evita - Original London Cast Recording (Audio CD)
We had lost our copy of Evita some time ago, so was very pleased to see it was available via AMAZON. Very pleased with our copy and at such a resonable price. Memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evita, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evita - Original London Cast Recording (Audio CD)
I have been looking for this CD for some time, especially as it contains "Dont cry for me Argentina" This is a superb CD and at the price a great bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic recording, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evita - Original London Cast Recording (Audio CD)
One of my favourite Lloyd Webber/Tim Rice musicals. David Essex and Elaine Paige are great. If you enjoyed the show you will love this recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EVITA, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evita - Original London Cast Recording (Audio CD)
This was bought for my husband who wanted the original cast from the show. He says the sound was great on it.It was also at a very good price,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evita - Original London Cast Recording
Evita - Original London Cast Recording by Joss Ackland (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews