Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kill 'Em All
Released in 1983 Metallica's debut album Kill 'Em All hit the metal world by storm and set Metallica on their way to becoming one of (if not the) greatest metal bands of all time.
A great thrash album that introduced Metallica and although it may not be as sophisticated or well timed as later albums it is still a amazing record and one that any metal fan should...
Published on 16 Jun 2004 by James Penkethman

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RAW...
I'm a fan of Metallica, but I confess that I'm not a great fan of this album. It's extremeley raw, compared to the quantum leap that the band made in the next 3 yrs, with Ride the Lightning & Master Of Puppets.
Lars Ulrich's drumming is fast & hard but it's some of the most basic, I've heard. He improved a 1000% by album no.2!
The guitar tone is a little thin...
Published on 21 Jun 2008 by Adam Jackson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kill 'Em All, 16 Jun 2004
This review is from: Kill 'Em All (Audio CD)
Released in 1983 Metallica's debut album Kill 'Em All hit the metal world by storm and set Metallica on their way to becoming one of (if not the) greatest metal bands of all time.
A great thrash album that introduced Metallica and although it may not be as sophisticated or well timed as later albums it is still a amazing record and one that any metal fan should own.
Track by Track;
1. Hit The Lights (Hetfield / Ulrich); A great first track about Metallica and their fans. Their first demo "No Life 'Till Leather" included this song and it was the opener song for Metallica's early live shows.
2. The Four Horsemen (Hetfield / Ulrich / Mustaine); Another great track and personally one of my favourites on the album. Great riffs all the way through with some great solos from Kirk. The former version of the song "The Four Horsemen" - "The Mechanix" appeared on Metallica's first demo tape "No Life 'Till Leather". Has almost always been a fixed part of the live show before the release of the "... And Justice For All" album. It is still a fixed part of a 'Kill medley'.
3. Motorbreath (Hetfield); The shortest song on the album not much over three minutes but still one that Metallica play on many of their live sets. The song writing to "Motorbreath" was solely done by James. Their first demo "No Life 'Till Leather" also included this song.
4. Jump In The Fire (Hetfield / Ulrich / Mustaine) ; Jump in the Fire" was Metallica's second LP - single. Its cover shows a laughing demon who's lurking in hell. This demon can be seen as a "Whiplash" sticker on Jaymz's white Gibson Explorer. Their first demo "No Life 'Till Leather" included this song. The lyrics of this song are written from the devil's point of view who's watching the people who are killing each others and so the villain is sure that they all will get themselves in hell. They "Jump in the Fire".
5. (Anesthesia)-Pulling Teeth (Burton); This amazing bass solo showcasing the talents of Cliff Burton was Metallica's first completly instrumental song. Makes you wonder how amazing he would have been if he hadn't had such a premature death.
6. Whiplash (Hetfield/Ulrich); Another big Metallica song which often features in the live performances. The song "Whiplash" was Metallica's first single release ever in North America. The song is a tribute to all their fans that supported Metallica since they started out.
7. Phantom Lord (Hetfield/Ulrich/Mustaine); The song "Phantom Lord" is probably the most musically mature song on the "Kill 'Em All" album which hints at where the band's sound would head.
8. No Remorse (Hetfield/Ulrich); The song "No Remorse" is always a part of a "Kill 'Em All" medley. The song was Metallica's first anti-war song. It is about people who go off to war just for the sake of killing, guiltless and numb to the pain of their victims.
9. Seek & Destroy (Hetfield/Ulrich); One of the most famous songs off the album Seek & Destroy was soon to become a track nearly always played at live performances. The song is based around a one-note riff that was up a little higher. Though most of James' riffs are in E, that one worked off an A.
10. Metal Militia (Hetfield/Ulrich/Mustaine); The song "Metal Militia" with its speed is a good example for Metallica's trash metal style of their early days. Their first demo "No Life 'Till Leather" included this song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The First True Thrash Metal Album, 11 Dec 2003
This review is from: Kill 'Em All (Audio CD)
Before the big budget videos and the lawsuits Metallica were a young metal band from the San Francisco Bay with a unique sound. They combined the technical skill of metal bands such as Iron Maiden and Def Leppard with the speed of hardcore punkrock like Bad Brains and the Misfits and created a completely new form of metal. This was thrash.
"Kill Em All" is a much more straightforward album than the bands later classics such as "Master Of Puppets". Whereaes those songs were epics, with complex song structures and changes in tempo, the songs on "Kill Em All" blaze past. A few of these tracks, such as "Seek & Destroy" and "Whiplash", have since become both live favourites and metal classics. The guitars are loud and fast, the drums are fast and heavy, and the lyrics are simple. This is not a Manowar record.
The album contains none of the complexities of there mid/late '80s work, nor does it contain the radio friendly pop hooks of their '90s work. It unique in the Metallica back catalogue, it is the most punkrock thing they ever did. In fact, the nearest thing they have done to this is their cover of "So What".
The only reason for the 4 star rating can be summed up in 2 words: bad production. It sounds like it was recorded in a shed, but then again it was their debut and so hadnt got enough money to record it properly. Actually, if they had re-recorded it with Bob Rock and given it the muscle of "Master" or "The Black Album", it would have been much better than the extremely dissappointing "Saint Anger" album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Metallicas first album and their most thrashy, 30 July 2007
By 
T. Fitzpatrick (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kill 'Em All (Audio CD)
This was Metallicas first album and by far their rawest and most thrashy. This album presents a band that is not the finished article but has so much raw potential. Here we have shredding guitars, solos and aggressive fast music. This album is a real classic Metallica album and many of its songs are still played today at the bands concerts. It has many highlights most notably "Seek and destroy" which is arguably Metallica fans favourite song by the band as well as other classics such as "Whiplash" and "The four horseman." This is real Metallica before any commercialisation and is not pop influenced or radio friendly in any way. This album is a must for any Metallica fan but although it is excellent i would reccommend "Master of Puppets" for a new listner as that album is closer to perfection and every song is a masterpiece unlike this album which has several less strong offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album SHREDS!!!!, 9 July 2007
By 
The Conman (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kill 'Em All (Audio CD)
I know a lot of people right now hate Metallica because they "sold out" and have recently released several mediocre albums. I do not like much of their newer stuff although I am a huge fan of Metallica. However, few could disagree that back in the 80s, Metallica were untouchable. This album, their debut, proves why. Although they would go on to record several far better and more mature albums, Kill em all was a definitive album in the history of metal as it gave birth to thrash metal. God only knows how many bands were influenced by this classic.

On this album, Metallica displayed a new level of speed and intensity that had hardly been seen before in the musical world. The songs are filled with high-speed, crunching riffs and all have wild but melodic solos from lead guitarist Kirk Hammet. You can forget about filler, as each song is as fiery and intense as the next, except for Anesthesia (Pulling Teeth) which is an incredible bass solo played by Cliff Burton (R.I.P). Therefore, picking highlights is difficult but I would say the Four Horsemen, Jump in the Fire, No Remorse and Seek and Destroy are the best songs. There may not be a huge amount of variation, but no one ever critisised Reign in Blood for that, and I think it adds to the album's impact.

Overall, kill em all is a classic metal release that any metalhead, and certainly any thrash fan should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oh the nostalgia..., 5 Aug 2014
This review is from: Kill 'Em All (Audio CD)
I think its safe to say Metallica turned a few heads when this album came out on 1983. I don’t think it was revolutionary, however, it was of a slightly more aggressive aptitude of what came before it. Motorhead, Iron Maiden, Raven and Venom were the heavy weights in those days. Metallica turned up the volume, and in so set a new bench mark. But it’s a lot more than speed and heaviness, it’s about great songs... Sadly the masses didn’t really cotton on to how catchy this album was until nearly ten years later (Due to their huge success in the 90’s).

This album is pretty nostalgic for me. It was the first time I heard that visceral, crisp, crunch in metal riffage. It sounded pretty pristine at the time. I’m not one to bash other musicians but a lot of other speed metal bands got it wrong. Seriously speed metal could have started and ended with Judas Priest, Motorhead and Metallica and we wouldn’t have missed out on much.

I was very impressed by James Hetfields chops and licks, and still am for that matter. Many years ago I was learning guitar, mainly rock and blues stuff. I started learning some Metallica riffs because they sound so impressive. Seriously if you’re a guitar player, and you can’t play Metallica...you simply don’t know metal guitar.

The intensity of tracks like “No remorse” or “Seek and destroy” are astounding. The angst-laden “Motorbreath” will surely get your attention at the very least. The epic progression of “The four horsemen” is ace. The sheer fun and velocity in tracks like “Hit the lights” and “Jump in the fire” are the kind of tracks that make you want to remember your early teens. Even more obscure tracks like “Phantom lord” or “Metal militia” could whip up a frenzy. “Pulling teeth” is kind of like a hippie trippy bass solo by the legendary late Cliff Burton. Name another album where you can hear bass like that?

Sadly some of the songs from Metallica’s first four albums, are still quite obscure, even to this day. Not all of them. But some, which is odd considering how huge Metallica are. Kind of sums up the listening habits of most people, supposed die hard metal fans included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pure thrash genius, 21 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Kill 'Em All (Audio CD)
before the days of puppets and load etc. this is a true metallica classic. 100% pure and simple thrash metal. the vocals may lack hetfields current aggression. and the songs more lack the complexity of modern tracks, but in my opnion this is definaltly one of the best if not the best metallica. songs such as four horsemen and no remorse are brilliant, great solid fast-paced riffs, with awsome solos. the album contains the classic seek and destroy whitch has one of the best metal riffs ever. overall a must buy for any metal fan. genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Metal Album Ever, 8 July 2013
This review is from: Kill 'Em All (Audio CD)
It was the late 80's, a friend lent me a cassette Kill 'Em All. One listen and I returned it back to him saying, 'No thank you'. I was just stepping into rock music that time with Bon Jovi, Scorpions, Poison and all that hair metal bands. Time went by and I started to feel the beauty of rock and metal music. I was going heavier and heavier with Motley Crue, Cinderella, WASP and all that. I ended up getting myself the latest release 'And Justice For All'. That's when I liked Metallica for the first time. I bought Kill 'Em All and that's it. It has become the best metal album in my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrash metal Heaven, 24 July 2011
By 
I. H. Roblin (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill 'Em All (Audio CD)
The musicianship and production hit you like a steam-engine from 'Hit the lights' through to 'Metal militia'. After listening, your brain will be pumping with so many endorphins that you will be empowered to achieve anything eg read 'War and peace', climb a mountain etc.

Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You gotta love it!, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill 'Em All (MP3 Download)
Classic metal.... You gotta love it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Silvio Garcia (Blairgowrie, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill 'Em All (Audio CD)
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill 'Em All
Kill 'Em All by Metallica (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews