Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars10
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2010
This album is a compilation of original 70's Smokie tracks, re-recorded with the late Alan Barton, plus new arrangements as the group now has a keyboard player and a new drummer on this album.

In addition to the classic tracks, there are a number of tracks that many people who only like the original smokie won't be familiar with. These are taken from 2 albums "All Fired Up" and "Boulevard of Broken Dreams" - neither were big sellers in the UK.

This album was also released as "18 Carat Gold"

Interesting Fact: "Rock Away Your Teardrops" was originally recorded by Chris Norman on his debut solo album.

I personally like the new arrangements, and I picked up a copy of this CD back in 1995, as it was playing in the CD Shop I was in. I Had to have it. Bear in mind however, I had not heard the original versions of these songs at the time.

As a seperate recommendation, if you like the newer songs, The album "All Fired Up" was re-released as "Rock Away Your Teardrops" - at a bargain price. Complete your collection by buying the actual albums!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
I bought this because my Mum had a cassette tape of this album that she used to keep in her car and we used to listen to it on long drives. Very catchy music that I would recommend.

Arrived well packaged and on time so would recommend this seller again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2010
Just bought this cd, after reading the one review of this item on the product page. The reviewer passes comments on the songs and the performances, but nowhere is there a mention of this recording not being the original hits by the original lineup of the band. This is a dutch release of the reformed "Smokie" without the original singer Chris Norman, whose vocals were a very big part of the bands recordings. I thought this was the original band because of the Disky label that this item was released on. Not what I wanted, but being a big fan of this group, I can live with this release, as I love the songs anyway, and this recording isn't bad, it just is not the original hits with Chris Norman on vocals. Mrs. M Walsh.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
this was the first smokie album that i purchased and i think this is the best one they have done.

i would recommend this album to anyone who was looking for a change in music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
Once again good old time days music, easy to relate too
easy to listen too, songs that will never go out of vogue
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
Maybe I should have opted for the original versions rather than the "best of" with later performances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
Great album well worth the money would recomend to anyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
Brilliant cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Smokie were regular visitors to the UK charts in the latter half of the 1970s with their catchy pop tunes. Living Next Door To Alice was their remake of an earlier hit which they took into the top ten, while Oh Carol is a bouncy number which went top 5 in 1978. If You Think You Know How To love Me, I’ll Meet You At Midnight and Lay Back In The Arms Of Someone are in the same vein, as is Don’t Play Your Rock ‘n Roll To Me – all these aforementioned were a type of middle of the road pop ballad that did well commercially but haven’t stood the test of time very well. Their version of the classic Needles And Pins is just digestible, but their uptempo pop sound has best stood the test of time. Overall this an enjoyable album of lightweight pop with hummable tunes and professional playing, but nothing remarkable or innovative.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)